Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / A few questions considering DarkGDK

Author
User Banned
Posted: 25th Sep 2009 18:34
Hello all,

I've been using DarkBASIC Classic for nearly two years now, and I think I want to expand my programming knowledge to include C++. While I suck at math, I know that I can easily improve that field of knowledge and can then understand programming a little better.

Anyway, when I was looking to upgrade to DarkBASIC Pro I came across DarkGDK and saw that it was C++. So I did some research and found that it uses Microsoft's Visual Studio C++ software and DBPro. I really have just one question: is DarkGDK free? I know you have to own DBPro, so it will be $70 for me.

What about licensing? Do you have to pay in order to sell games or applications that you make with it?

Thanks to all who respond!

-Yodaman Jer.

jezza
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 25th Sep 2009 18:49
You don't have to own DBPro; it is completely free.
For commercial uses, a lciense of $30 is required.

Quote: " While I suck at math"

Call me stupid, but isn't half of programming maths?

Yodaman Jer
User Banned
Posted: 25th Sep 2009 18:58 Edited at: 25th Sep 2009 19:02
Quote: "isn't half of programming maths?"

Yes, yes it is. Which is why I need to improve on it (mainly geometry and I guess some trigonometry).

Do you have to renew the $30 license annually?

I've got another question...

How fast are the programs made with DarkGDK? I imagine that since it's C++ it runs a lot faster than anything made with either DBC or Pro.

-Yodaman Jer.

Serial Velocity
Years of Service
User Offline