Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

2D All the way! / 2D Checkers Help-Anyone?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
I am just learning to program with Dark GDK. I am having problem with how to code my checkers game. So far I am using two dimensional arrays to represent my board, however, I do not know how to connect the images with the two-dimensional array. As how to update my images accordingly. Also I am having trouble with how to connect the position of user\\\'s mouse click to my array. Please help me.
Pincho Paxton
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 8th Oct 2009 03:10 Edited at: 8th Oct 2009 03:14
Pseudo code... (not real code but help)

Dim Board(8,8) =(X,Y) positions.

That's your board.

Board(1,1) = 0 could be bottom left = No piece

Board(1,1) = 1 could be bottom left = black piece

Board(1,1) = 2 could be bottom left = White piece

Board(1,1) = 3 could be bottom left = black Crown

Board(1,1) = 4 could be bottom left = White Crown

You can have 1,1 top left if you like it's up to you.

You move the pieces around, and put numbers in the Board() that match where you moved the piece to. Obviously the game starts with two rows already filled. When a piece moves you have to change its old space to '0', and put a number in its new position. Checking that nothing is there, and checking if a jump is required.

From this information you should be able to get the first part of the game working.

Benjamin8
Years of Service
User Offline