Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

2D All the way! / "Dry Lakebed" Texture

Author
Message
Sigh
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2005
Location: The Big 80s
Posted: 5th Dec 2009 02:43
I'm trying to make a dry lakebed\cracked mud terrain texture for my project. How on earth do I go about this? I've tried all kinds of tools in GIMP but can't get anything similar to the pic in the link below. Thanks in advance for any help.

http://g-ecx.images-amazon.com/images/G/01/askville/137733_55894894_mywrite/crackedmudnimb.jpg

Keep your Hope & Change to yourself, I choose Liberty! Stop by for a chat! [IXE]Nateholio on irc.maxgaming.net:6667 #GarageGames
Pincho Paxton
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Dec 2002
Location:
Posted: 6th Dec 2009 20:10 Edited at: 6th Dec 2009 20:36
Using Photoshop on a plain brown layer use the layer effects to create a bevel and emboss on that layer. Now just use the erasure to cut out the cracks.

Don't know Gimp sorry.

I made one for you anyway, but I did it quickly so don't expect it to be perfect...

It possibly has a seam that needs fixing too.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Green Gandalf
VIP Member
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jan 2005
Playing: Malevolence:Sword of Ahkranox, Skyrim, Civ6.
Posted: 6th Dec 2009 21:16 Edited at: 6th Dec 2009 21:17
I sympathise. Here are some of my attempts using Texture Maker 3.1. None of them are right, but I'm sure a bit more work will deliver the goods.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Virtual Nomad
Moderator
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Dec 2005
Location: SF Bay Area, USA
Posted: 6th Dec 2009 21:57 Edited at: 6th Dec 2009 21:58
saw this when first posted... first few tries were fails but today = somewhat successful:


Virtual Nomad @ California, USA
AMD Phenom™ X4 9750 Quad-Core @ 2.4 GHz . 8 GB PC2-6400 RAM
ATI Radeon HD 3650 @ 512 MB . Vista Home Premium 64 Bit

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Pincho Paxton
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Dec 2002
Location:
Posted: 7th Dec 2009 13:42
Made another one...

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Van B
Moderator
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Oct 2002
Location: Sunnyvale
Posted: 7th Dec 2009 14:39
You could opt for a photo texture, which can be made seamless - I'd be happy to tile this for you, manually of course - you couldn't use a tile filter on that and expect good results...

http://www.pawfal.org/flotsam/groworld/textures/ground.jpg

It's a link because the image is 2000x2000. It would probably be quite easy and effective to make a normal map from it as well.


Health, Ammo, and bacon and eggs!
JLMoondog
Moderator
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jan 2009
Location: Paradox
Posted: 7th Dec 2009 15:27
Made a quick one for fun :
Diffuse:

Bump:

Normal:

In-Game:



Green Gandalf
VIP Member
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jan 2005
Playing: Malevolence:Sword of Ahkranox, Skyrim, Civ6.
Posted: 7th Dec 2009 18:08 Edited at: 7th Dec 2009 18:08
Quote: "You could opt for a photo texture, which can be made seamless"


Here's one, using part of VanB's image:

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Virtual Nomad
Moderator
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Dec 2005
Location: SF Bay Area, USA
Posted: 7th Dec 2009 19:00 Edited at: 7th Dec 2009 19:03
@josh: now, leave that texture for the low spots and put sand/dirt around it =

@pincho: 2nd 1 looks nice but maybe better for the bark of an old tree?

nice how we all took the original "how would i...?" post and made a personal challenge out of it. heh.

Virtual Nomad @ California, USA
AMD Phenom™ X4 9750 Quad-Core @ 2.4 GHz . 8 GB PC2-6400 RAM
ATI Radeon HD 3650 @ 512 MB . Vista Home Premium 64 Bit
Green Gandalf
VIP Member
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jan 2005
Playing: Malevolence:Sword of Ahkranox, Skyrim, Civ6.
Posted: 7th Dec 2009 19:11
Perhaps it's time another one of us tried to do it using Gimp?

Quote: "How on earth do I go about this? I've tried all kinds of tools in GIMP"


We might make progress with the original question then.
Sigh
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2005
Location: The Big 80s
Posted: 8th Dec 2009 20:16
Wow, I didn't expect all this, thanks everyone.

Quote: "Quote: "How on earth do I go about this? I've tried all kinds of tools in GIMP"

We might make progress with the original question then."


Indeed Give a man a fish....

Keep your Hope & Change to yourself, I choose Liberty! Stop by for a chat! [IXE]Nateholio on irc.maxgaming.net:6667 #GarageGames
PW Productions
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Mar 2009
Location: sitting in a chair.
Posted: 31st Dec 2009 19:07
A quick way to get the look Josh did is to go to filter, Distorts, mosaic, and mess with the settings a bit.

Quik
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2008
Location: Equestria!
Posted: 7th Jan 2010 21:19
Quote: "Here's one, using part of VanB's image:"


it doesnt look seamless


[Q]uik, Quiker than most
NeX the Fairly Fast Ferret
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Apr 2005
Location: The Fifth Plane of Oblivion
Posted: 8th Jan 2010 14:55
It's not the best seamless texture on the planet but the seams are pretty hard to find.

Athlon64 2.7gHz->OC 3.9gHz, 31C, MSi 9500GT->OC 1gHz core/2gHz memory, 48C, 4Gb DDR2 667, 500Gb Seagate + 80Gb Maxtor + 40Gb Maxtor = 620Gb, XP Home
Air cooled, total cost £160
Green Gandalf
VIP Member
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jan 2005
Playing: Malevolence:Sword of Ahkranox, Skyrim, Civ6.
Posted: 9th Jan 2010 23:46
Quote: "it doesnt look seamless"


What's wrong with it? If I tile it 2x2 times then I can't see the seams.

Quote: "but the seams are pretty hard to find"


Can you find them at all? Tile it 2x2 times to get a 1024x1024 image then take a random 512x512 chunk out of it. Can you locate the seams (without referring to the original image of course)?

I guess it is possible.
Virtual Nomad
Moderator
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Dec 2005
Location: SF Bay Area, USA
Posted: 10th Jan 2010 06:07 Edited at: 10th Jan 2010 06:15
Quote: "If I tile it 2x2 times then I can't see the seams."

i'm not pointing fingers because mine was terrible but, GG, you might wanna dust your glasses off a bit

also, i usually tile 3x3 to check for seams vs 2x2.

2x zoom, ~450k png attached

a closer look: and it's not so much that tiling the original 512x512's wasn't seamless, but there are lots of seams within the "tile" itself. looks very "jpg" to me (the original and, therefor, what you pulled from it). <shrugs>

Virtual Nomad @ California, USA
AMD Phenom™ X4 9750 Quad-Core @ 2.4 GHz . 8 GB PC2-6400 RAM
ATI Radeon HD 3650 @ 512 MB . Vista Home Premium 64 Bit

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Phaelax
DBPro Master
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Apr 2003
Location: Metropia
Posted: 10th Jan 2010 17:04
Here's my attempt, first pic is a 256x256 tiled over an 800x800 area.


"Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic" ~ Arthur C. Clarke

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Phaelax
DBPro Master
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Apr 2003
Location: Metropia
Posted: 10th Jan 2010 17:08 Edited at: 10th Jan 2010 17:13
2nd version, less realistic, more cartoon-like. (tiled example attached)


And the 2 pics:




"Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic" ~ Arthur C. Clarke

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Virtual Nomad
Moderator
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Dec 2005
Location: SF Bay Area, USA
Posted: 10th Jan 2010 17:37
nice one, phaelax. some slight tweaking can make that "perfect".

Virtual Nomad @ California, USA
AMD Phenom™ X4 9750 Quad-Core @ 2.4 GHz . 8 GB PC2-6400 RAM
ATI Radeon HD 3650 @ 512 MB . Vista Home Premium 64 Bit
Green Gandalf
VIP Member
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jan 2005
Playing: Malevolence:Sword of Ahkranox, Skyrim, Civ6.
Posted: 11th Jan 2010 12:13 Edited at: 11th Jan 2010 15:49
Quote: "i'm not pointing fingers because mine was terrible but, GG, you might wanna dust your glasses off a bit "


You're right - and fully justified in pointing fingers.

I think I must have used one of my bugged seamless utilities to create that image. I'll try again using an up-to-date version.

[Note to self: tidy up your files and make sure that all machines have the current bug-free working versions. ]

Edit Er, actually, VanB's original image contains some very obvious seams so it's not surprising seams are present in the "seamless" version. Here's an enlarged section of his image - this seam is along the line (x,y) = (19, 234) to (200, 234):

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Phaelax
DBPro Master
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Apr 2003
Location: Metropia
Posted: 11th Jan 2010 16:18
Quote: "I think I must have used one of my bugged seamless utilities"


I corrected mine by hand

grr, although I just spotted a section in the top left that could use a little more work.


"Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic" ~ Arthur C. Clarke
JLMoondog
Moderator
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jan 2009
Location: Paradox
Posted: 11th Jan 2010 17:56
Clone Brush FTW!


Pincho Paxton
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Dec 2002
Location:
Posted: 11th Jan 2010 19:11
Lol.. the thread has gone a long way, but Gimp is still a distant memory.

Green Gandalf
VIP Member
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jan 2005
Playing: Malevolence:Sword of Ahkranox, Skyrim, Civ6.
Posted: 13th Jan 2010 11:17
Quote: "the thread has gone a long way, but Gimp is still a distant memory"


Indeed.

I think VanB must be having a good laugh at us. I've just checked the original image he posted and it is already seamless in the sense that it tiles correctly without obvious seams between the tiles. However, as I noted earlier, his image has seams within the original image and obviously a standard seamless utility has no idea whether or not those are meant to be part of the original image unless you are using a sophisticated edge removal tool. I suspect his image was created using a very unsophisticated seamless utility since it is very easy to avoid seams like that.

I wonder if anyone has answered the original question yet?
Phaelax
DBPro Master
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Apr 2003
Location: Metropia
Posted: 14th Jan 2010 00:34
Quote: "I wonder if anyone has answered the original question yet?"


Well, several of us posted textures, so I'd say yea.


"Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic" ~ Arthur C. Clarke
Green Gandalf
VIP Member
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jan 2005
Playing: Malevolence:Sword of Ahkranox, Skyrim, Civ6.
Posted: 14th Jan 2010 13:28
Did anyone use Gimp?

Quote: "I've tried all kinds of tools in GIMP but can't get anything similar to the pic in the link below."
Phaelax
DBPro Master
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Apr 2003
Location: Metropia
Posted: 14th Jan 2010 18:03
I thought he just wanted the texture, not instructions on how to make it in gimp.


"Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic" ~ Arthur C. Clarke
Pincho Paxton
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Dec 2002
Location:
Posted: 14th Jan 2010 22:01
Quote: "Wow, I didn't expect all this, thanks everyone.

Quote: "Quote: "How on earth do I go about this? I've tried all kinds of tools in GIMP"

We might make progress with the original question then."

Indeed Give a man a fish....
"


I'd say he definitely wants a Gimp method.

General Jackson
User Banned
Posted: 15th Jan 2010 04:34
To make something seamless open it in gimp and theres a make seamless tool
It does it perfectly

Green Gandalf
VIP Member
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jan 2005
Playing: Malevolence:Sword of Ahkranox, Skyrim, Civ6.
Posted: 15th Jan 2010 12:11
Quote: "It does it perfectly"


But does it get rid of the internal seams visible in VanB's otherwise seamless image? I rather doubt it.
The Slayer
Forum Vice President
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Nov 2009
Playing: (Hide and) Seek and Destroy on my guitar!
Posted: 15th Jan 2010 16:04
Here's one (seamless) i made with The Gimp. The cracks are not as thick as the others, but i'm pleased with the result.



And here's the bumpmap:



Slayer rules!!! Yeaaah, man!
Green Gandalf
VIP Member
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jan 2005
Playing: Malevolence:Sword of Ahkranox, Skyrim, Civ6.
Posted: 15th Jan 2010 18:34
Quote: "Slayer rules!!! Yeaaah, man!"


The Slayer
Forum Vice President
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Nov 2009
Playing: (Hide and) Seek and Destroy on my guitar!
Posted: 15th Jan 2010 19:47
Thanx, Green Gandalf!

It took me about three minutes to do this one. I'm planning on creating seamless texture-packs (free packs and non-free packs), so if there are any requests, just let me know.

Btw, the two textures above, are FREE to use for commercial and non-commercial use. Just give me some credit.

Cheers

Slayer rules!!! Yeaaah, man!

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2023-01-29 06:57:29
Your offset time is: 2023-01-29 06:57:29