Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / OOP Organization

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 29th Dec 2009 02:06
Hello all, i'm pretty new to C++ and Dark GDK but i have made some games in other languages, anyways i am looking for tips and advices, which is the best oop way of organizing a game? I though about making an object for each game state and then in the main loop update only the current state but that doesn't seem very nice... Any suggestions? How do you organize your games code?
Freedom Fighters
Years of Service
User Offline
well organizing a game would to be have many things.

-keep media kept in the media folder nice and neat.
keeping your media file neat is a easy way to sort them out and look neat and professional. if you just left them around the place it looks messy

-make simple and easy to understand names for files
keyword you files to understand them and its easier to single them out.

-leave a small not explaining what a function
does and notes inside of that functions give some small key word, this helps to understand what it is and does. Note: you would only use this if the project starts to require more complex functions and extra files (*.h,*.cpp,Etc)

-using a functions for multiple functions under the same header
if you have say like 3 or more functions from the same header that need to be called in a while loop just use a functions like <HeaderName>FunctionsUpDateAll()

Example: WeaponsHeader.h
Function:

i use something like that to make it simpler

well hope these tips are easy to understand.
ill check back if you need any help.

Problem Solution That Never Fails: "Build A Bridge And Get Over It"
fedekun
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 29th Dec 2009 18:26