Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / 3D: Load character into map?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hi! I'm kinda new to Dark GDK, I've done some 2D games now to learn a little bit about it, but now I wanna go 3D!

I have gone through all the tutorials wich came with Dark GDK, I DO know how to load a character into the world, and I DO know how to load a map into the world. But what I DON'T know is how to get the character into that map and be able to move it around with the keys WASD... (with gravity)

I belive this is pretty easy, but since I am new to Dark GDK, I'm not sure how to do this correctly.

If this has been answered erlier, I apologise, did not find anything when I searched for it. But if it has, please post me a link to it =)
Hassan
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 22nd Jan 2010 07:38 Edited at: 22nd Jan 2010 07:42
ok:

include dinput.h:

first, make the simple movement with WASD:

that won't make you able to stick to the ground, so, we position it on the terrain:

now lets add jumping code:

final code should look like:

now that's a very very simple movement method, without physics, if you want a mode advanced code, see sparky's collision sliding example

hope that helps

jCedborger
Years of Service
User Offline
Well Yes, that helped alot with the movement =)

So I just load both my map and character into the world, then put my character as an object like this for example?

//Load the map and character
dbLoadObject("Map.dbo",1)
dbLoadObject("Character.x",2);

// make the character stand on the ground on th map?
dbPositionObject ( dbObjectPositionX ( 2 ), dbGetTerrainGroundHeight ( 1, dbObjectPositionX ( 2 ), dbObjectPositionZ ( 2 ) )+1 jump , dbObjectPositionZ ( 2 ) );