Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Discussion / how to organize data printed to screen

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
hi im new to darkbasic and ive been given a project to make a program that stores the name and position of 6 characters using arrays. Ive finished the code, but im trying to get it where it prints out more organized. heres my code.

thanks
BCIT
Years of Service
User Offline
Why don't you try naming and generating random numbers in one loop

for example:

How are you storing the random numbers?

Should'nt you have code that looks something like:

TDK
Retired Moderator
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 27th Jan 2010 00:29
The command 'Text' is just like Print but a lot more flexible as you can supply an X/Y screen co-ord with it.

But, if you have to use Print for now, take a look at the Set Cursor command.

TDK

29 games
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 27th Jan 2010 00:48
The only problem with using the text command is that it will only print strings to the screen not numbers.

This does not work

But this will

I tend to favour the print command for this reason.
Double B
Years of Service
User Offline
Quote: "The only problem with using the text command is that it will only print strings to the screen not numbers."

Yes, well, that's why there's STR$().
29 games
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 27th Jan 2010 14:06
Quote: "Yes, well, that's why there's STR$(). "

You're absolutely right but I would say it depends on what you're doing.

The "Set cursor" and "print" commands will work with anything without any further code but you don't get the same fine adjusment when printing to screen.