Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / buffer overrun?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
okay ive been getting this annoying buffer overrun error that has started ever since i started using a sprinf in my code but i dont know how to fix this also i have tried replacing the sprintf command and the program runs fine so im sure that sprintf is the problem.

could someone please look at the code and tell me what ive done wrong this time.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Lilith
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 2nd Feb 2010 16:00
Have you tried replacing the %i with %d?

Lilith, Night Butterfly
I'm not a programmer but I play one in the office
Grenadiac111
Years of Service
User Offline
yes i already tried %d, acctually the code was originally %d but i read a forum that said to change it but either way the error still occurs
dark coder
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 2nd Feb 2010 19:06
Use the amazing debugging features you get in VS? A buffer overrun will halt the execution of the app and if you have the debugger attached then you have the ability to get a stack trace up to the (accessible)erroneous code from which you'll also be able to view all local variables and hopefully see exactly what went wrong. This may not be the case though, depending on what causes the error, you may have to resort to the more cumbersome breakpoint and step-through approach, or the old remove code until it works trick.

Grenadiac111
Years of Service
User Offline
ok but it would helpful if someone could tell me what is the most common ways a sprintf can cause this error when the code exits.
Benjamin
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 2nd Feb 2010 19:36