Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Help making menu

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 17th Feb 2010 03:29
Just to let you know I am a beginner. A super beginner. Haha. Well I'm trying to make a keyboard controlled menu for a game and I can't get it to work right so if anyone could help me out that would be awesome. This is what I have so far...

When you first start the game the arrow, or cursor, will be pointing at 'Start' and if you press the right arrow key, the cursor should point to 'Quit' and if you press the right arrow key it should go back to 'Start' and you should be able to keep going back and forth until you press the enter key.

Check out the first game I made with C++. It's just a simple text based fighting game for now.

http://www.filesend.net/download.php?f=e5e59cad87d18b383262f4917b1714f4
Bran flakes91093
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 17th Feb 2010 06:32
Put a dbSync() in your do-while loop.

Success = Determination * Mood;
gcarlson53
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 17th Feb 2010 07:07
That somewhat made it better. Now it starts off with a blue screen and if I hit the Enter key the menu background flashes and then it goes back to blue. If I hit the left key the cursor flashes on the left and the same thing happens for the right key. Why doesn't my background appear when the program starts? and how do I get my cursor to stay there instead of only appearing when you hold down the arrow key?

Check out the first game I made with C++. It's just a simple text based fighting game for now.

http://www.filesend.net/download.php?f=e5e59cad87d18b383262f4917b1714f4
Mireben
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 17th Feb 2010 14:35 Edited at: 17th Feb 2010 14:40