Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Attaching/glueing objects together

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Currently I am still learning DARK GDK, and as I am developing my program I would like to attach to object together. Right now its just a simple box and a triangle. The box is 1w x 1h x 5t and represents a man. The triangle is 24w and 6deep at its apex and represents a hang glider. How do I attach the cube to the triangle so that it rolls and pitches with the triangle.

Later I will be adding in .x models and I suppose the same will apply if I have a model of a man and a model of some flying thing like a dragon. I want to roll/pitch the flying thing and have the model of the man roll/pitch/move with it.
_Pauli_
AGK Developer
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 11th Mar 2010 20:12
Try this:
(from the DarkGDK documentation)

dbGlueObjectToLimb( int iObject, int iSecondObject, int iLimb )

So in your case that would be:

dbGlueObjectToLimb( trianlge_id, box_id, 0 );

(in case your wonder what the 0 means: this command glues an object to another objects limb (=bone), and limb 0 means the root limb of the model)

Hope this helps.

Now the plot thickens, the fps decreases, and the awesomeness goes through the roof.
Mireben
Years of Service
User Offline
Another way is to do it with coordinates only. For your hang-glider example: set the coordinates and rotation angles of the man to the same values as the glider, then move it below, e.g. with dbMoveObjectDown.
Trullion
Years of Service
User Offline