Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

2D All the way! / 2D Animated Sprite Movement - Help with Directional Changes - dbpro

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 11th Mar 2010 21:36
Hi, I'm new at programming & I hope someone can help me solve this problem. I'm going to try to make it as clear as possible.

I have a character and I have created two animated sprites of that character. One facing & walking right, and the other facing & walking left.

I have written some code so that when I hold down the rightkey() to make the sprite walk right, it does so with no problem. However, I when hold down the leftkey() to turn it around and make it walk left - I end up with two sprites on the screen. One of them standing still facing right, while the other is facing(& walking) left. Conversely when I try to turn the sprite around to walk right again - I end up with one sprite standing still facing left, while the other is facing (& walking) right.

I would like only the sprite that is currently walking to be on the screen, and I want the directional change to be instant.

I think some how I need to clear the sprite as I change direction. I have tried clearing the screen, hiding the sprite, deleting the sprite, flipping and mirroring the sprite. No luck.

I hope that was understandable. Any Suggestions would be appreciated.

Luke: "I don't believe it."
Yoda: "That is why you fail."
TDK
Retired Moderator
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 12th Mar 2010 16:34
It's because for some reason you are using 2 sprites - and I see nowhere any Hide Sprite to remove the one you don't want to see.