Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Dark GDK maximum Potential ?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
I'm new to this Dark GDK engine
can anyone describe me in simple words what is maximum potential and strength of Dark GDK
i mean i wanna seriously create a FULL SCREEN HIGH GRAPHICAL COMMERCIAL GAME
Is this engine is enough ?
Or any example of popular PC game upto which i can achieve results
using Dark GDK
Hassan
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 6th Apr 2010 17:38 Edited at: 6th Apr 2010 17:41
it is enough i believe, since you can use native directX functions with it, but you shouldn't go like "HEY GUIS, IM MAKIN' TEH NEW GENERATIONS OF WORLD OF WARCRAFT AND GTA IV!!", these games are made by companies, with hundreds of employees, and it also take a year or two to create one by them, so you alone, can make some nice games, with some good graphics if you're a good 3d modeler, and it depends on your C++ experience, better code = better game, but since nobody made such a game in GDK, it's harder than it seems.

ammar26
Years of Service
User Offline
No , im not alone
we are TEAM of 14 C++ well experienced Programmers (undergraduate students) and we have also proper professionals for Graphics
entomophobiac
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 6th Apr 2010 17:49
More like three years or four, these days. Seven, I think, in the case of World of Warcraft. But that's not really important. I agree with your points 100%.
Hassan
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 6th Apr 2010 19:32
14 C++ well experienced? why dont you use directX then, also, you need good modelers and some sound professionals if you will make a "commercial" game, some story writers and such

ammar26
Years of Service
User Offline