Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Discussion / I have created life mwahahaha!

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 25th Apr 2010 05:16 Edited at: 25th Apr 2010 08:35
I want to make some programs that learn, and here is my first one: an AI rat.
The rat has been placed in a box with three levers inside; one of the levers releases a food pellet when pressed, the other two do nothing. The challenge is to make the rat learn which lever to press.

I will keep a short log of changes made to the program as it becomes more advanced. (I will write it like I am studying the rat, for fun )

Experiment 1.0: The rat has a primitive brain which stores a value for each lever; the higher the value the more likely it is to be chosen. When the correct lever is pressed and the rat receives food it increments that lever's value, when an incorrect lever is pressed the rat decrements that lever's value. The rat quickly learnt which lever to press.

Experiment 2.0: For this experiment I switched the lever that dispenses food pellets after every ten presses (correct or incorrect). The rat did not respond well, he continued to press the old lever many times before giving up on it and trying another.

Experiment 2.1: Continuing with this experiment, the rat has shown much progress. Now when it finds the correct lever it not only increments the value for that lever, it completely disregards the others and resets their values to zero.
When choosing the wrong lever the rat - in addition to finding the chosen lever less desirable - now finds the other two levers more desirable.
Both these advancements are producing faster learning speeds.

If any budding AI psychologists would like to repeat my experiments I have included the code below.