Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

3 Dimensional Chat / Animation of a model

Author
Message
3dmasters
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Nov 2009
Location:
Posted: 22nd May 2010 13:17
Hello All,

I need some advice what way should i use an animation in the game engine.

1. I would like to show an monitor move down from the celling in a animation from pressing a button in game.

1A. SHould use the animation methead of from frame 0 to 100 the monitor movies from the celling to a viewing postion. 101 to 150
the monitor goes back up.


Option two,
\
2. Use the limb command and animate the model by hand.


can you used option 1 in a animation for a charater and control a stack model.
Thank you,
Leroy

Here i am!!!
Asteric
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Jan 2008
Location: Geordie Land
Posted: 22nd May 2010 13:58
What engine are you using?

3dmasters
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Nov 2009
Location:
Posted: 22nd May 2010 18:33
Hello,
I am using Dark DGK.

Here i am!!!
Hassan
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th May 2009
Location: <script> alert(1); </script>
Posted: 22nd May 2010 18:38
If you think you can do it with limbs, then go for it; its way better as the file size will be much much smaller, if you cant, then go with animations from the file

3dmasters
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Nov 2009
Location:
Posted: 23rd May 2010 03:54
THank you for the responce,

If i do the animations with limb commands i have animate using programming. Correct? But if do it the 0 to 100 move the monitor down, then from 101 to 150 move the monitor back up the file sign for the .X file is bigger is what you mean?

Leroy

Here i am!!!
Blobby 101
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Jun 2006
Location: England, UK
Posted: 23rd May 2010 15:13
well, if you do it with animations in the .x file (like you said) then the size of the .x file will be larger because it has to store the animation information in it too. It won't be THAT much larger so it really is up to you how you want to do it.

Dia
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jan 2005
Location:
Posted: 23rd May 2010 15:20
I think if the mesh itself is animated, then it is easier to do with an animated .x file. If, on the other hand, you are simply moving a static mesh, then moving it with code is probably the way to go

This is not the Sig you are looking for....
SJHooks
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Aug 2009
Location: Where you least expect me...
Posted: 23rd May 2010 20:06
Well this thread has made me a bit confused. Is the typical platform game animated with animation files or limb animations in the game engine? Or a combo..?

Hassan
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th May 2009
Location: <script> alert(1); </script>
Posted: 23rd May 2010 20:30
i dont think animations are used for games, mostly commercial games use code to animate bones and stuff (not sure, tho)

Your signature has been erased by a mod - Please reduce it to 600x120 maximum size
Isocadia
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jul 2009
Location:
Posted: 23rd May 2010 20:53
I'm pretty sure commercial games use animations for walking, idle etc. At least, WoW does. If I were you I would animate organic models with complex movement in an editor, but just opening a door trough code.

Isocadia

Dia
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jan 2005
Location:
Posted: 24th May 2010 09:44
dunno if you ever did any UT or quake modding, but the moving platforms and stuff like that were all animated using scripts rather than animated mesh files (although the character and vehicles were animated files )

inside the map editor you could record start and end states, and the time taken to move between them, even hook up multiple movements in series to get (kinda) non-linear movements.

This is not the Sig you are looking for....
SJHooks
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Aug 2009
Location: Where you least expect me...
Posted: 25th May 2010 01:41 Edited at: 25th May 2010 01:41
Wait can that limb animation in the engine still be loaded just like if you were to export an animation from an 3D animating program, and then it can be mixed up every now and then? Like, for example, in a typical platform game of today, when you walk, you see the type of animation that's obviously an animated file, but when you turn the camera and such the head follows along, breaking that premade animation... Does that same rule apply to such things as, for example, Assassin's Creed, where there are those typical plain runs, but the character then can start climbing virtually any random object? Like, what I'm saying is, is it a combined version, where by default there are those animated files, but if something happens, the models limb programming kicks in for that moment, and later goes back to that normal animated file?

Dia
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jan 2005
Location:
Posted: 25th May 2010 14:59
Think there are two different scenarios you are talking about.

In the AC one the character changes between two sets of anim frames for running and climbing (I think)

In the head turning example there is nothing stopping you from rotating the head through code while the animated mesh is playing. Provided you export the bones from whatever 3d program you are using, you can rotate the appropriate limb inside your code to get the head turning effect

This is not the Sig you are looking for....
zeroSlave
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Jun 2009
Location: Springfield
Posted: 25th May 2010 20:25 Edited at: 25th May 2010 20:29
Quote: "In the AC one the character changes between two sets of anim frames for running and climbing (I think)"


I am pretty sure there are base animations inside the Altair model for both walking and climbing, but the climbing bit (and possibly the walking and putting his hands on people to get by) is affected by code. To control how the arm grabs a specific brick in the wall or to grab a ledge at a specific height and where the hands, arms, feet, and legs are placed would not be a very efficient use of bones. You would have to make a 1000s (if not more) separate sets of animations just for climbing for:

1. left arm up 30/ right arm down 30/ left foot down 30/ right foot up 30
2. left arm up 31/ right arm down 30/ left foot down 30/ right foot up 30
3. left arm up 32/ right arm down 30/ left foot down 30/ right foot up 30
4. left arm up 30/ right arm down 31/ left foot down 30/ right foot up 30
5. left arm up 31/ right arm down 31/ left foot down 30/ right foot up 30
6. left arm up 32/ right arm down 31/ left foot down 30/ right foot up 30
etc.

It would be much easier to control the limbs by code by making an AI for the arms and legs and such.


Quote: "1. I would like to show an monitor move down from the celling in a animation from pressing a button in game.

1A. SHould use the animation methead of from frame 0 to 100 the monitor movies from the celling to a viewing postion. 101 to 150
the monitor goes back up.

Option two,
2. Use the limb command and animate the model by hand.
"


You could do either. I would find it easier to animate the monitor coming down with 3ds Max, but if you have the limbs binded properly to what they need to be attached to, it would be easy to control them with code as well. It's your cup of tea. You pick how much sugar you want.
Quote: "can you used option 1 in a animation for a charater and control a stack model."


I'm not sure what you mean by this?

My green thumb grew the tree my Trojan War horse was crafted from. With roses in our pockets we rally round the tombstones. Ashes to ashes, we all fall down.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-11-24 12:40:54
Your offset time is: 2024-11-24 12:40:54