Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPSC Classic Product Chat / How to build a multi-level fpsc x9 game. [Tutorial]

Author
Message
Defy
FPSC BOTB Developer
VBOTB Developer '09
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Aug 2007
Location:
Posted: 1st Jun 2010 20:15 Edited at: 5th Jun 2010 08:27
How to build/compile your game using FPSC x9 if error occurs:

*May be possible with x10 version if needed, though not tested.
Additional Info and Thanks to: Errant AI, Chidem and Lee B.

Breakdown:
The method below is an oppitional way of building your games if you incounter problems during the build process, and one I have used with great success.
Build problems occur due to the 2gb memory limit. And unless there is ever a way around it, the following guide will give you that option to seeing your game built.

In alot of cases, variety of media is mixed between levels, however if you are using the same media over and over (that is visible in lvl 1 & 2)
then skip to - section. 2.1 and 4.1


Planning:
1.1
When starting a new game, I suggest to make a written list of every entity and segment used (Guns etc.). Also including the folder directory in your notes. This will help speed the process later.

*Tip 1: check over notes not to include a entity or segment twice, even though it will not matter. It will save building space.

*Tip 2: the greater amount of lights placed in each level and map distance used will use more memory during build process. This is of no concern, however you may need to build levels seperate rather than in groups. Groups only help you complete the task faster.


Build Game Process:
2.1
Build levels seperate or if possible in groups of 2-4.
Using different build names. IE: ???1, ???2 etc.

*Tip 1: The option I used was to list each level number in the build title. RS123, RS45, RS678 etc. (this will help alot, unless you make detailed notes of what levels are in each build folder.)

*Tip 2: if you find you get a Build error with 3 levels in one Build,
then reduce the amount of levels to 2 etc.


2.2
Create a folder in your MapBank folder or on your Desktop titled 'GAMEBUILD' or something you will remember.
Copy each Build folder into this new folder.
I suggest to keep the original build folders seperate in case you make an error during the compile process, you will not need to re-build the level or files in question if a problem occurs.

Tip 1: Make sure to always rename the new build and not copy over a premade one. otherwise you'll have to repeat the process.


2.3
Once you have made all the required build folders, and made copies of these Builds into your new folder. You can start the next process.


ImageBlock File Build:
3.1
Depending if you have made you game levels prior to reading this.
Reload up all you saved maps for your game, 1 by 1. With a pen and paper, copy down all segments and entities used (including guns,characters etc.)
However you do not need to include cutters, lights and place markers.

*Tip 1. Refer to section 1.1 if you have not started your Game yet.

*Tip 2. Keeping a list helps you not forget something which will result in making the ImageBlock Build again or adding a Entity or Segment twice.
Refer to section 5.1 If you find a entity in game without a texture.

*Tip 3. Make everything Static, including Doors, Characters etc.


3.2
Once you have your list of game assets. Start a new fresh map in the editor. And save this as ????IB1 etc.
Not following any form of level design. Start by adding segments first. only need to place 1. making sure that at least one wall/floor is used or shown in the editor.
Then place all your required entities.



*Tip 1: Depending on quanity of your Entities and Segments, you may need to split these up into 2 or more new maps. Making sure not to exceed the 2gb memory etc. for each or the overall map/s Build.
The successful build test for this thread had 7 pages pages of assets broken down into 3 maps and this Built fine with no error.

3.3
Once you have a complete Build, including all the maps with your assets. Copy the ImageBlock Build folder into your New Folder containing
your other Build folders for your maps.


Compile your game:
4.1
Dont touch the ImageBuild folder yet.
Also your first Build folder of your maps (level 1 etc.) is going to be your main folder. The level structure and files keep the same.

*Tip 1, Do not copy/replace any files at any point during this process.

*Tip 2, When asked to Merge folders, Click yes to all. When asked to Replace click skip or no.

In this folder, Open the Setup file (notepad). At the bottom you will see the following.

levelmax=2
levelfpm1=mapbank\Level1.fpm
levelfpi1=languagebank\english\gamebank\mygame\loadingpage1.fpi
levelfpm2=mapbank\Level2.fpm
levelfpi2=languagebank\english\gamebank\mygame\loadingpage2.fpi

Also, click on Files/levelbank: You will see Ziped files.
Level1.zip
Level2.zip


4.2
Open the next (in order) Build folder and go to the following.

Setup File;
Copy and paste the level structure.

levelfpm1=mapbank\Level3.fpm
levelfpi1=languagebank\english\gamebank\mygame\loadingpage1.fpi
levelfpm2=mapbank\Level4.fpm
levelfpi2=languagebank\english\gamebank\mygame\loadingpage2.fpi

and change the number for the LEVEL MAX,FPM,FPI and LOADING PAGE so it looks like the following;

levelmax=4
levelfpm1=mapbank\Level1.fpm
levelfpi1=languagebank\english\gamebank\mygame\loadingpage1.fpi
levelfpm2=mapbank\Level2.fpm
levelfpi2=languagebank\english\gamebank\mygame\loadingpage2.fpi
levelfpm3=mapbank\Level3.fpm
levelfpi3=languagebank\english\gamebank\mygame\loadingpage3.fpi
levelfpm4=mapbank\Level4.fpm
levelfpi4=languagebank\english\gamebank\mygame\loadingpage4.fpi





4.3
Rename each level.zip in the other build folders to there required level numbers or order.

Level3.zip
Level4.zip

Copy the new renamed Level zips into the levelbank folder of the main Build folder.

*Repeat this process, depending on how many levels/Build folders you have.




4.4
Open the Files/LanguageBank/English/Gamebank/MyGame and locate the LoadingPage.fpi files.
Rename these files before you move them, to the required level number.
(example say the Build folder is named - Level456. Then the Loadingpage1.fpi will need to be renamed Loadingpage4.fpi and so on.
Make sure to copy over all of these renamed files into the main Build folder. keeping to the same file structure.



Tip 1: These images are added with your level selection process before you build your game. And create the following .fpi file. If you get it wrong and different image may appear. Refer back to your original Build folder kept in FPSC/MyGames folder in a problem occurs.


4.5
Now as suggested above, to not replace any files. Start to copy over files from the ImageBlock Build folder, into your now compiled game Build folder.

1. AudioBank
2. EffectBank
3. MeshBank
4. ScriptBank
5. SkyBank
6. TextureBank

Open Gamecore, and only copy everything except the backdrops folder.
If it does not copy/paste anything, dont worry.
Open up the Backdrops folder and make sure to copy over the levelloading images and anything that may have been missed. Best to do this one file at a time.

Open LanguageBank, and also do the same as Gamecore, just check files one by one. and see if your missing anything. Make sure to check HUDS if you have added a custom Hud etc. And paste the files needed if so.


4.6
In the main Build folder of your Game. (that you have added all the following files to.) You will see a file; Imageblock file. Located under the Files folder.
Delete this file.
Then open the ImageBlock Build folder and copy and paste the ImageBlock file into your Game Build folder.


Finished Compile:
5.1
Now that everything has been added to your Main Build Folder, everything
should be fine to load, run and play.


*If you find a Entity in game with no texture or a missing gun/AI etc. Then you have not placed it into the ImageBlock Build map somewhere.
This will give you 2 options.
1. Re-Build the ImageBlock build, including the required asset.
2. Re-Edit the Level containing the Asset and just Build that level and extract the Level.zip from that Build and place in you Main Build folder.



If done correctly, you will then have your game complete. I suggest do a small test to try it out first.
Good luck to all, and if there is any questions I will try my best to work it out. Also if something needs more info or I missed something let me know, and I'll adjust it as needed.

*screens posted below for above images.



CHANGING SKYBOX PER LEVEL - BASED ON DAVY B'S GREAT TUT.

Link to Davy B's Tut found here. Dated June '07.
http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=108343&b=23

Below is the following adjustments to work with version v1.15. Due to some code being removed in later versions. Not tested with later versions.
Launguagebank / english / gamebank / mygame and open setuplevel.
At the top you will see the following.




*Note sky= is the selected skybox for the first level. Change the sky if need be for the 1st level.
*Also note, that :state=0:state=1 is no longer present.

Now all you need to do, is copy the above script text and copy into
your LoadingPage___ .fpi. Example below for level 12. LoadingPage12.fpi



Hope that helps, more info in Davy B's thread, which I suggest anyone interested in doing this, reads first. Enjoy.
Defy
FPSC BOTB Developer
VBOTB Developer '09
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Aug 2007
Location:
Posted: 1st Jun 2010 20:24
Placement Example. - shown above.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Defy
FPSC BOTB Developer
VBOTB Developer '09
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Aug 2007
Location:
Posted: 1st Jun 2010 20:28
Level.fpi Example - shown above

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Defy
FPSC BOTB Developer
VBOTB Developer '09
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Aug 2007
Location:
Posted: 1st Jun 2010 20:32
Setup File - shown above.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Defy
FPSC BOTB Developer
VBOTB Developer '09
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Aug 2007
Location:
Posted: 1st Jun 2010 20:37
Loadingpage - shown above

Attachments

Login to view attachments
knxrb
FPSC Tool Maker
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Oct 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 1st Jun 2010 20:46
For the textures, could you not build the games with imageblockmode off and then just merge the individual texturebank folders into one?

Nice tutorial, I think it's going to be very useful

knxrb
Flatlander
FPSC Tool Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jan 2007
Location: The Flatlands
Posted: 1st Jun 2010 20:58
Yes, excellent tutorial. Thanks for all of your work in putting this together!

Flatlander
FPSC Tool Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jan 2007
Location: The Flatlands
Posted: 1st Jun 2010 21:03 Edited at: 1st Jun 2010 21:04
Suggestion to a moderator:

Could you change the subject title FROM How to build fpsc x9 game to

How to build a multi-level fpsc x9 game

Might require a sticky as well.

KeithC
Senior Moderator
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Oct 2005
Location: Michigan
Posted: 2nd Jun 2010 05:34
Temporary Sticky granted.

-Keith
Bugsy
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2008
Location: another place in time
Posted: 2nd Jun 2010 06:48
the problem with this is, with all of the massive entities, and differently named objects, and variations to objects, a level with all of WWC's entities will never build.

imageflock.com/img/1272671763.jpg[/img]
skype = isaacpreston. I want to talk to YOU
Flatlander
FPSC Tool Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jan 2007
Location: The Flatlands
Posted: 2nd Jun 2010 07:14
Thanks Keith. Temporary it should be (better be).

KeithC
Senior Moderator
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Oct 2005
Location: Michigan
Posted: 2nd Jun 2010 07:31
It'll be added to my "special project" later; then this will be unstuck.

-Keith
mgarand
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Dec 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posted: 2nd Jun 2010 08:09
A great tutorial, from a great man, thanks for all the help!

-mgarand



Creativity is inventing, experimenting, growing, taking risks, breaking rules, making mistakes, and having fun.
KeithC
Senior Moderator
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Oct 2005
Location: Michigan
Posted: 3rd Jun 2010 07:50
Unstuck; this is in the main FAQ now!

-Keith
CapnBuzz
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jan 2010
Location:
Posted: 3rd Jun 2010 09:31
Defy, Many thanks for this!
AbdulAhad
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Feb 2010
Location: Karachi, Pakistan
Posted: 3rd Jun 2010 10:53 Edited at: 3rd Jun 2010 10:54
Thanks ever so much!!

EDIT

Nevermind.

Abdul Ahad
Metal Devil123
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Jul 2008
Location: Suomi, Finland
Posted: 3rd Jun 2010 15:47
Thank you defy!


Heimo Vesa ROCKS!!!!!
Decneo
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Dec 2009
Location:
Posted: 5th Jun 2010 06:55
i'm confusing please someone help meeeeeee?



Models and Model packs for your game at my site
Plystire
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Feb 2003
Location: Staring into the digital ether
Posted: 5th Jun 2010 06:56
We might be able to assist if you told us what you don't understand.


The one and only,


Defy
FPSC BOTB Developer
VBOTB Developer '09
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Aug 2007
Location:
Posted: 5th Jun 2010 08:07
Adding, how to have different skybox per level, based on Davy B's tut.


knxrb Thanks.

Not sure on the full results of that option. Lee suggested to me, if I found a model without a texture, just add it to the game folder. However this would not work all the time, the entity needed to be built in the imageblock. However if you can get the idea going, let me know.


F l a t l a n d e r Your welcome.


Bugsy Have you given it a go, I suggest it is worth an option.
When building RS, I divided the assets/imageblock build into 3 levels.
1 of those levels took up the entire grid. However there was no level design involved. Also the amount of entities/segments I recorded = 7 pages. If you need more info how to build the imageblock, I could try a video.


KeithC Thanks.

mgarand Your welcome also.

CapnBuzz, AbdulAhad, Metal Devil123 thanks guys.

Decneo as Plystire has mentioned, let us know what u dont understand.
Bigsnake
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Apr 2009
Location: England
Posted: 5th Jun 2010 14:56
Cool tutorial

May I also add that if you also draw out your maps on paper or in a paint package (Painting Apps) then it may help you alot when making your maps because you have then got something to copy instead of having to think while making

Windows 7, Amd Athlon 7750 Black Editon (64 bit,3ghz + Dual Core), ATI Readon HD 4870 1gb Edition, 4gb Ram.
That Guy John
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Apr 2010
Location: United States
Posted: 5th Jun 2010 15:38 Edited at: 5th Jun 2010 15:39
Here is another tip. (if you don't mind me adding)

If you have a sequence of smaller levels, build the maps for those levels withing one map, use a transporter to seperate each level with a level end / begin video. This can also eliminate "load" times between "levels".

In this technique, build your outdoor level on a higher layer than your in door levels. "Sun light" for your outdoor level of course being above your outdoor level, then if you want sunlight coming into windows on your indoor levels place the sunlight for those levels under the outdoor level. Maybe even place a flat plane under the outdoor level with a "sky" texture so you don't accidently see the under side of your outdoor level.

After seeing so many people make posts about problems while compiling multiple leves this is basicly what I started doing. Hope it helps someone else too.

The Grunge Guy
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th May 2010
Location: Stalking The Mods.....
Posted: 5th Jun 2010 15:52
This version much longer and much more complex... On a couple post i've posted a short solution, but hey, good job for throwing this together, now we we can hope that no asks how to fix this problem again.

I hate this box, but hey it's there.....
..... It's still there.....

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-08-25 16:18:57
Your offset time is: 2019-08-25 16:18:57