Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Work in Progress / Chess GDK

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 3rd Jun 2010 09:09 Edited at: 4th Jun 2010 08:31
Hey there, I've been working on a chess game for a couple of months now, and I now feel that it’s in a decent of enough state to show to people. I’ve been through a couple of programming classes but I’m still pretty new at this.
The game is essentially complete as far as the rules of chess are concerned. The one exception is that for promotions, I haven’t added the ability to pick your piece; it just automatically gives you a queen. Also the interface could surely be improved. You can rotate the camera up and down, but not left and right as of yet. Currently there’s no AI, but it’s something I would like to attempt in the near future.

As far as features go:
*you can save and load games. (It automatically saves the game when you exit)
*I’ve made the game be able to use both 2D and 3D models.
*I wrote a setup program in VB2008 to allow you to the change graphics settings/file settings and as well as to launch the game from.

I’ve had a couple of issues I could use some advice with though. First, a friend of my mine made the 3D models in 3DS max, and we tried to keep the resolution low but still the game takes a good 15 seconds to load them. It seems a bit long to me, and I’m not sure if there is something easy we could do to reduce that. Secondly, I’ve had a hell of a time trying to get the lighting to work well off of the models. I’ve screwed around a lot with many of the functions including dbSetObjectSpecularPower, which I now have set to around .1, but the chess pieces still look pretty washed out.

A couple of things to note: