Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DLL Talk / making a dll - what can you put in one?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 7th Jul 2010 03:17
is the dll JUST a list of functions, or can you actually write a full C++ program into a dll?

im new to c++ and have never written a dll before, so im sorry if this is a major noob question

Freedom Fighters
Years of Service
User Offline
in theory i say yes you could but it would take a bit of work.

see, a dll just like a extensions for applications, hence the working for them as application extension.

i haver thought this question and tried but lack the knowledge in WINAPI.

in the theory i think it could be possible.

1 - you would need a source to call the dll twice, one for set-up and one for shut-down, eg clean up

2 - you would need to make a process or thread that the main thread which does everything for the so-posed 'application' and with in that make a GUI and thread to handle input then all the other stuff you want.

so i guess in theory yer you can create a application.

in the attachment is my example of a dll and how to call it.
this was done in Visual Studio c++ 2010

Problem Solution That Never Fails: "Build A Bridge And Get Over It"

Attachments

Login to view attachments
IanM
Retired Moderator
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 7th Jul 2010 15:02
Quote: "or can you actually write a full C++ program into a dll?"

Absolutely.

When my Interface Library was on general release, one of the examples I provided in the download was exactly that. The .DBA file contained a single command from the DLL, and the DLL did everything else.