Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Discussion / Next Menu [beginner]

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
I wanted to make next menu exmample:
Main Menu
Character Menu

but the buttons still works from the main menu to the chracter menu i want it to make it so all functions only works in main menu and all functions in character menu only works in there

Main Menu:

Character Menu:

Remember im a beginner i just downloaded darkbasic pro and its awsome but hard so i hope some1 can help me
BN2 Productions
Years of Service
User Offline
Well to be honest I am a little confused as to what you are exactly trying to do, but here are some beginner structure tips.

Format your main loop as simply a block of subroutine calls like so:

I am using label names (for my subroutines) that give 2 pieces of info. The first part is "S" then a number. The number corresponds to the value that state must be for it to be called. That helps later when reading the code and debugging it. The second piece of data in the name is simply a very clear unambiguous label that shows what it will be doing.

Why this structure is helpful:

With multiple sets of loops (you have what you want looping in the main menu, and a whole different set of commands looping for the second) you really don't have many choices. You can have a LOT of IF->THEN commands and keep everything in one loop (Bad-destroys program readability) or you can break them up with subroutines. This way when someone clicks the "Next" button, all you do is change the value of the State variable and the program will switch gears.

Great Quote:
"Time...LINE??? Time isn't made out of lines...it is made out of circles. That is why clocks are round!" -Caboose
MocroGunz
Years of Service