Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Professional Discussion / [DBP] Space Conflict - Space RTS - 20 Liner Gets An Upgrade, part II

Author
Message
IBOL
Moderator
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Mar 2004
Location: @IBOL17
Posted: 22nd Jul 2010 19:15 Edited at: 7th Aug 2015 05:24
Here is another game i originally write as a 20-liner.
But with the help of mr. David Gervais, it has become a beautiful, fully functioning game!

The actual code is now a little more than twice the length of a '20-Liner' ... it doesn't take much DBP to make a good game!

here is a youtube video of me controlling my fleet and attacking enemy planets:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cPC_LxVlaGU

Here is all the information needed to play the game:






Sharlenwar
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Mar 2009
Location:
Posted: 24th Jul 2010 03:30
You'll be supplying the code and everything once done? I figure you will, as it helps us new people out there to show us how to do a few different things with DBPro.

IBOL
Moderator
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Mar 2004
Location: @IBOL17
Posted: 25th Jul 2010 01:40
i hesitate to post the code of this right away, because all the achievements are right there to be seen.

if you really are just looking to learn something, look at the original thread. it has lots of code to sort thru,
and it contains the core functionality of the game.

Aurum Knight
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Jul 2008
Location: the suburbs of nowhere
Posted: 26th Jul 2010 06:22
Cool, this could be a really good game if you kept going with it Naturally I keep getting pwned by the computer. Maybe you could add varying levels of difficulty for nooblets like myself.

One bug I noticed is that when you select one unit with a selection box, it doesn't show the unit on the side panel or show where the unit is going. Also (I don't know if this is a bug or not) you can't select a building with a selection box. Also, the cursor is drawn under the ships. Another thing, it'd be nice if you displayed the cost of making any given ship on the side panel (when a planet is selected. It'd also be nice if it had an in-game

By the way, I noticed this before on the 20 liner board, and this actually inspired me to start working on an RTS myself

Overall it's a really good game, especially considering the small amount of code it's in, but I think it could be a lot better without too much extra effort (like adding fog of war, and being able to target enemy ships and planets, and maybe adding those little rings that appear around a unit when you hover the cursor over them, like in Warcraft 3).

Cool game
Sharlenwar
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Mar 2009
Location:
Posted: 29th Jul 2010 08:32
True IBOL, I will definitely look at the original code. Only reason I ask about the code is for the graphical parts of the code. But that is fine, I can take GOTG for the graphical.

Thanks for spending the time to create these great examples.

IBOL
Moderator
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Mar 2004
Location: @IBOL17
Posted: 2nd Aug 2010 08:00
@Sharlenwar ,
most of the graphics stuff is the same between versions,
it's just a matter of getting things in the right places,
and having such awesome images to work with.

i used sprites for the ships and planets,
but there's no collision or anything,
it's still just the same math-based system.

i use atanfull() to rotate my ships in the proper directions.

Libervurto
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jun 2006
Location: On Toast
Posted: 2nd Aug 2010 08:42
Woohoo I get in the credits!
It looks great Bob, shame I can't play it now I'm on Linux
Did you ditch the random race and planet names?

IBOL
Moderator
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Mar 2004
Location: @IBOL17
Posted: 2nd Aug 2010 17:17 Edited at: 2nd Aug 2010 17:17
you inspired me to make some changes for the better.
i made my own random planet name generator,
but i never had random race names...
i liked the ones i had
(plus, some of the achievements are race-specific)

leo877
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Mar 2008
Location: san antonio, tx
Posted: 3rd Aug 2010 03:53
ibol. i tried this game. i got to give it a thumbs up.
but i get kill 2 quickly my 1 ship vs 5 or more. don't have time to build a defense and colonize planets to surpport my army.
ai comes to quick. also u graphic are cool looking. David Gervais


leo877
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Mar 2008
Location: san antonio, tx
Posted: 3rd Aug 2010 03:58
ibol. i tried this game. i got to give it a thumbs up.
but i get kill 2 quickly my 1 ship vs 5 or more. don't have time to build a defense and colonize planets to surpport my army.
ai comes to quick. also u graphic are cool looking. David Gervais
also what Aurum Knight metion


IBOL
Moderator
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Mar 2004
Location: @IBOL17
Posted: 3rd Aug 2010 04:47
hi leo,
since many people are saying it's too hard,
i will see if i can add a DIFFICULTY setting.

it shouldnt be hard from a programming standpoint...

i'll adjust the enemy economy...
(but no achievements on easy, like halo 3 (which annoyed me!) )

but then i can also make a HARD setting, with enemy getting maybe +10% stuff, and new achievements for that.

swissolo
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jan 2010
Location:
Posted: 6th Aug 2010 00:06
This was a fun game! But, I might be wrong, I didn't see my own units shooting (I know the Colony Ship shouldn't shoot, but I didn't see the others shooting either). If so that would be a clear explanation for the difficulty.

swis
Aurum Knight
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Jul 2008
Location: the suburbs of nowhere
Posted: 11th Aug 2010 23:31
Okay, once I played it a little more I got the hang of it pretty fast.

I was messing around and decided to see how many units it could handle. Check out my battle cruiser blockade of their last planet


By the way, is there a pause button that I don't know about?
IBOL
Moderator
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Mar 2004
Location: @IBOL17
Posted: 12th Aug 2010 08:39
my god man, you have every planet but one!

as for pause, you can just hit [H] or [F1] ,
and use the 'help' screen as a pause.

glad you got the hang of it.

Quel
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Mar 2009
Location:
Posted: 10th Oct 2010 15:05
This is an awesome core, for an even much cooler game. You should give it a go.
Stormwire
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Sep 2010
Location:
Posted: 12th Oct 2010 00:38
@Aurum Knight: That must have taken forever to accomplish! Ive been playing it for a little while and it just seems that no matter what race I choose I just cant build ships quick enough. Obviously there is a strategy but I am to impatient to continue lol

@IBOL: Great game!! Pity about the difficulty!!!!XD
IBOL
Moderator
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Mar 2004
Location: @IBOL17
Posted: 8th Nov 2010 21:28 Edited at: 8th Nov 2010 21:29
quel,
what do you really think it should have, to make it a "much cooler game" ?

bergice
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jun 2007
Location: Oslo,Norway
Posted: 17th Nov 2010 16:51 Edited at: 17th Nov 2010 16:53
Quote: "what do you really think it should have, to make it a "much cooler game" ?"


- Adding bigger maps, and using the arrowkeys or mouse on the edge of the map to move around.

- More types of ships.

- Planets vary in size and have more resources, thus making them a more important target for colonizing.

- Difficulty factor.

- 2, 4, 6, 8, player mode?
And setting the teams and spawn position for all the teams (spawn randomly, spawn near teammates etc?)

- How about some different gamemodes, like Capture the flag?

Some of these things could make it a cooler game in my opinion

51fa1db0ec7c4af52d93a6f5d0e86bc5

Neco
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Jul 2008
Location: Waterloo, Wisconsin USA
Posted: 17th Nov 2010 20:41
bigger models / larger map?

:p

It really is a neat game though, just the way it is. That is for sure.

IBOL
Moderator
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Mar 2004
Location: @IBOL17
Posted: 25th Nov 2010 16:36 Edited at: 26th Nov 2010 05:20
@ bergice,
those are some good ideas!

i'm thinking about a re-design now... but it will end up a different kind of game if i do.
Space Conquest

here's a new video, showing victory and achievements:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oo_AxtCtY1M

IBOL
Moderator
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Mar 2004
Location: @IBOL17
Posted: 12th Dec 2010 20:46
once i figure out how to produce scores for each player in this game,
i will put up an online scoreboard.

Talairina
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jan 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 5th Jan 2011 05:48 Edited at: 5th Jan 2011 10:15
IBOL any chance of a release of the source code to this project? Would love to see the random code towards it. I also wanted to know how you came up with the random generation for the weapons and items in Random Realms, which by the way I love =).
IBOL
Moderator
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Mar 2004
Location: @IBOL17
Posted: 5th Jan 2011 15:54
talairina, i'll make you a deal.
you keep talking about things you've done with my projects,
but you never show me anything. so...

show me some of the stuff you've done (like with GOTG),
a link, a work-in-progress, or whatever,
and i will release the full source code right here on this thread.

it always sounds like you're making cool stuff, but i never get to see it!

Talairina
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jan 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 6th Jan 2011 10:15
Deal accepted, I'll get the compiled version of GOTG up later today =) Great idea that =) Then every one gets to benefit =)
IBOL
Moderator
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Mar 2004
Location: @IBOL17
Posted: 8th Jan 2011 19:44 Edited at: 7th Aug 2015 05:33
i found it, and i really like the way you did the stats screen.
i just have no flair for designing a HUD ...

it seems like this could go pretty far, and be pretty in-depth.

also, the installer, nice touch! what program is that/ how did you do it/ where can i get that?
(especially with the autorun of dxwebsetup)

one thing, though, i guess you don't have "copperplate gothic light" font , because i do, and the #'s and messages were all in weird places.

perhaps your version of the game should just use whatever font *you* use (ms comic sans? i can't remember what we set it to...)

Talairina
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jan 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 9th Jan 2011 08:54 Edited at: 9th Jan 2011 08:59
Believe it or not, I actually don't have that font. I believe, after checking with the Microsoft Font site, that it's longer bundled with Office 07/10 and I'm using Office 10 (Benefits of my girlfriend working for Currys, she gets free software ). I'm actually changing the the font to a free provided font, depending on permissions from the author, and will install the font on the players system via the installer to make sure the font is there for the program.

The two fonts you have set are "copperplate gothic bold" and the fall back font of "comic sans ms". I'll be using a very similar font of "copperplate gothic bold bt", which is a free, almost identical version to the original ""copperplate gothic bold" and will allow me to redistribute the font with the game.

The installer is a paid for program (Setup Factory) by Indigo Rose (I also have TrueUpdate and VisualPatch by them, which makes for a complete installing, self-patching and updating software. I'm more then happy to make the installers, patchs etc for you if you like if you choose not to purchase the software (http://www.indigorose.com/products/setup-factory/).

Thank you for releasing the code, I know I'll learn something new from it like with GotG =) I'll try to keep you up to date with my progress on my interpretation of GotG. One quick question though, did you take a look at the images folder and notice the new monster/weapons folder?
enderleit
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th May 2007
Location: Denmark
Posted: 9th Jan 2011 16:33
I found it fairly easy to be honest

Victory pic attached!

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Omnomer
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Mar 2011
Location: a goauld mothership
Posted: 24th Mar 2011 02:16
Can you make difficulty levels? Please??

Mwahahahahahahahahahahahahaha

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-02-20 18:46:09
Your offset time is: 2019-02-20 18:46:09