Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

2D All the way! / Artist's Hello!

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 31st Aug 2010 07:40
Oh hi!

I'm a musician and artists, currently looking into programming and there's something about dB that's very appealing

I've seen a couple of topics with art in it, so I thought I'd post a couple of pics here from a game I'd like to make at some point:

Rhea Jackson and Captain J. Splinter:

JLMoondog
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 1st Sep 2010 10:52
I like the design, very monkey island. So whats your game?

tunners
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 1st Sep 2010 20:46
sort of a platform-shooter with a twist.

you control two characters at once (sort of )

you control Rhea, she's very athletic so can jump high etc, but she has no offensive capabilities whatsoever. she's controlled with WASD.

in terms of weapons, you control a magic picture frame (which was made out of Captain Splinter's pegleg after he died) with the mouse. it can only move in a small circular zone around Rhea but can blast magic in the direction it's facing.

you can also double jump by pointing the frame downwards and firing a blast.

of course, i'm completely new to programming, so that pipe dream is up there with my plan to open a bakery
LBFN
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 2nd Sep 2010 02:38
Looking very cool. May I ask what program you used to draw them? Have you used 2D animation software?

So many games to code.......so little time.
JLMoondog
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 2nd Sep 2010 03:26