Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPSC Classic Product Chat / [Free] FPS Creator Setup Public

Author
Message
JRH
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jul 2006
Location: Stirling, UK
Posted: 14th Jan 2011 18:07 Edited at: 4th Mar 2011 21:20

Hello there forum-people!

Over the last few weeks I have developed an application which provides a graphical UI for the setup.ini file. The application can be used to modify many commonly edited settings, for example lightmap quality, shader usage and more!

Graphical UI
A graphical user interface makes it easy to make changes to your setup.ini.

Presets
Automatically set many settings to optimal settings by selecting a preset.

Automatic Backup
Encase anything goes wrong, the app can automatically restore your Setup file from memory!




This application will be provided free of charge.
Download VBETA2

UPDATE: As I no longer have time to support this product I have released the source code, which is available from my post below.

Thanks to all who helped in the development of this!

~JRH

C++ is labourless... if your name starts with 'L' and ends with 'ee'.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Norion
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jun 2010
Location: The Netherlands.
Posted: 14th Jan 2011 18:34
WOW thanks

Nickydude
Moderator
User Offline
Joined: 4th Nov 2006
Location: Look outside...
Posted: 14th Jan 2011 18:49
Can I ask what you wrote this in?



For KeithC
JRH
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jul 2006
Location: Stirling, UK
Posted: 14th Jan 2011 20:11
Quote: "Can I ask what you wrote this in?"

VB 2008 Express Edition

C++ is labourless... if your name starts with 'L' and ends with 'ee'.
defiler
User Offline
Joined: 4th Apr 2009
Location: Canada
Posted: 14th Jan 2011 20:16
Wow, this looks really nice. Will make editing the setup file easier.

Current Project: Lost Contact: Station 7
A dude
User Offline
Joined: 15th Mar 2010
Location: The Solar System
Posted: 14th Jan 2011 22:02
Thank you so much for this!
Vent
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Apr 2009
Location: Chilliwack, BC
Posted: 14th Jan 2011 22:12
Thats pretty cool, and useful, thanks a lot!

-Vent

Leongamerz
User Offline
Joined: 14th Aug 2010
Location:
Posted: 15th Jan 2011 03:12
Wow cool tool JRH.

Have A Good Day

From
Leon

Poloflece,Anayar,PWP,Henry Ham,Cosmic Prophet,Wolf,KeithC,Nickydude And Lee Bamber is my icon.
Akanto10
User Offline
Joined: 24th Apr 2010
Location: Earth
Posted: 15th Jan 2011 05:28 Edited at: 15th Jan 2011 19:00
Wow! I didn't even expect this one.

Thanks,
Akanto

EDIT: It doesn't like the installation (SEE SCREENSHOT).

EDIT #2: Wow, I tried opening that first and it told me that I had an error, but now I did it while running as administrator and it worked. Thank you!!!

Attachments

Login to view attachments
JRH
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jul 2006
Location: Stirling, UK
Posted: 15th Jan 2011 10:11
Quote: "It doesn't like the installation (SEE SCREENSHOT)."

Its not an installer. Just run the '.exe. file.

C++ is labourless... if your name starts with 'L' and ends with 'ee'.
JRH
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jul 2006
Location: Stirling, UK
Posted: 18th Jan 2011 19:06
If anyone can think of any new features, feel free to suggest them.

C++ is labourless... if your name starts with 'L' and ends with 'ee'.
Design Runner
User Offline
Joined: 16th Oct 2010
Location: In my own little world.
Posted: 18th Jan 2011 19:18
Looks great. How about a little display box that shows the image of the skybox selected? Anyways great application that will make my life easier.
JRH
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jul 2006
Location: Stirling, UK
Posted: 18th Jan 2011 19:28
Quote: "How about a little display box that shows the image of the skybox selected?"


That is actually an existing feature. I have disabled it atm so I can expand on things similar to it. Also, it is not part of the setup file.

C++ is labourless... if your name starts with 'L' and ends with 'ee'.
Design Runner
User Offline
Joined: 16th Oct 2010
Location: In my own little world.
Posted: 18th Jan 2011 19:43
Wow, you are ahead of me. Great job.
Norion
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jun 2010
Location: The Netherlands.
Posted: 18th Jan 2011 21:02
does it support fpsc X10 as well ?

thanks




sorry for my english i'm an alien
The Zoq2
User Offline
Joined: 4th Nov 2009
Location: Linköping, Sweden
Posted: 18th Jan 2011 23:26
Awsome program! I just have one question, why is the enable memriy cap recomended, what can happen if i would switch it off??

Srry about my english im from sweeden
JRH
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jul 2006
Location: Stirling, UK
Posted: 18th Jan 2011 23:29
The memory cap on the newer versions of FPSC would be disabled. If you have less than 2GB RAM, a message should appear warning you of the consequences

C++ is labourless... if your name starts with 'L' and ends with 'ee'.
The New Noob
User Banned
Posted: 19th Jan 2011 09:28
Quote: "does it support fpsc X10 as well ?"


Hopefully it should because X10's setup file is pretty much 99% the same as X9's

FPSC has no limits
FPSC 4 Kids: http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=179153&b=21&p=0
Poloflece
User Offline
Joined: 14th May 2010
Location: Australia
Posted: 19th Jan 2011 13:54
Thankyou very much, this was exactly what needed

Poloflece


Rust Pack WIP here http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=178788&b=24
Norion
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jun 2010
Location: The Netherlands.
Posted: 19th Jan 2011 16:07
@ The New Noob

yeah you are right ! thanks dude

cheers




sorry for my english i'm an alien
JRH
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jul 2006
Location: Stirling, UK
Posted: 19th Jan 2011 18:33
Quote: "does it support fpsc X10 as well?"

It has not been tested on X10. If anyone does, make sure to backup your setup files first. This was designed to run on FPSC X9 V1.18 B3.

Also, if someone wishes for compatibility to be added, you could always send me your X10 setup file.

C++ is labourless... if your name starts with 'L' and ends with 'ee'.
xplosys
Valued Member
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jan 2006
Location: Somewhere in Alabama
Posted: 20th Jan 2011 15:15 Edited at: 24th Jan 2011 15:44
JRH,

Nice work on this. I like that you used text descriptions on mouseover for all the settings.

I have some question. (I'm testing this with 1.17 Final so excuse me if there are issues or changes between the versions)

1. Why does Lightmap Texture Size only go up to 512?
2. In Postprocessing mode, is it either/or or can both Bloom and DOF be used at the same time?
3. Could you include more info or a sample ini file for each of the three Presets? I'm not sure how you would integrate that into the program but you have room on the Settings tab for more buttons. Perhaps a text box below the current buttons that populates with the corresponding file?
4. Would you think about creating one of these for a finished game? It should be much less detailed and something we could place in our installers (it could be placed in the game directory) so the end user could make changes to the game setup.

Brian.

... and the band played on.
xplosys
Valued Member
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jan 2006
Location: Somewhere in Alabama
Posted: 24th Jan 2011 15:45
JHR,

I went ahead and made my own setting program for a finished game. Of course it can only adjust what's in the setup.ini of the finished game, but that's texture quality, post processing, dynamic lighting etc. At least the player can turn down some settings if the game is sluggish on their system.

Brian.

... and the band played on.
bond1
User Offline
Joined: 27th Oct 2005
Location:
Posted: 24th Jan 2011 16:45
This looks quite nice! Thanks.

"bond1 - You see this name, you think dirty."
SPECS: Windows7 x64, Intel Core i7 920, Geforce GTX 580, 6GB RAM
JRH
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jul 2006
Location: Stirling, UK
Posted: 24th Jan 2011 18:11
Thanks for the comments guys.

@xplosys
The program has the basis for a much simpler UI, for distribution with a game. I have already considered building a customisable launcher, with most settings adjustable. The norm. Anyway, no rush now that you've made your own

C++ is labourless... if your name starts with 'L' and ends with 'ee'.
Scurvy Lobster
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Mar 2006
Location: Denmark
Posted: 4th Feb 2011 11:36
I can't make this tool run on any of my pc's (Win XP and Vista). I get the same error as seen in Akanto10's screenshot.

JRH
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jul 2006
Location: Stirling, UK
Posted: 4th Feb 2011 11:43
You are opening the wrong file... Open the exe.

C++ is labourless... if your name starts with 'L' and ends with 'ee'.
Scurvy Lobster
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Mar 2006
Location: Denmark
Posted: 4th Feb 2011 12:12
I also tried that but I get an error just after selecting my FPSC folder. It produces a file called ErrorLog.txt that says someting about the value 16 cannot be used (error report is in Danish).

crispex
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jun 2007
Location:
Posted: 4th Feb 2011 12:37
Ok, so here's my single huge problem: You used Microsoft's publishing system. NEVER use Microsoft's publishing system, EVER. Use a real install creator, not something that gives more issues than it does good.

I use InstallShield, but there are also a few other ones such as Smart Install Maker, InnoSetup (free), and of course the oh-so-crappy ClickTeam Install Creator.

If you need an installer made, I'd be more than glad to do it.

On a positive note: Great work on the application.

I just now realized I've had a typo in my signature for the past 3 years.
JRH
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jul 2006
Location: Stirling, UK
Posted: 4th Feb 2011 21:34
Quote: "You used Microsoft's publishing system."


This is a beta. Everything goes in the pot.

C++ is labourless... if your name starts with 'L' and ends with 'ee'.
Doomster
User Offline
Joined: 8th Nov 2007
Location: Germany
Posted: 4th Feb 2011 22:22 Edited at: 4th Feb 2011 22:22
Quote: "It produces a file called ErrorLog.txt that says someting about the value 16 cannot be used."


I'm encountering a similiar error; whenever I'm executing the "FPS Creator Setup.exe" file after I've selected a directory, a messagebox pops up with the following text: "An error has occured whilst loading data." and this text is written to the "ErrorLog.txt":

Quote: "The Value 128 is invalid for Value. Value should be between 'Minimum' and 'Maximum'.
Parametername: Value"


I'm using XP SP3 with .NET Framework 4.0 and the System Language is German.

-Doomster

JRH
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jul 2006
Location: Stirling, UK
Posted: 9th Feb 2011 22:45
Ok, thanks for the feedback. I'll try to get these bugs fixed up and added in with the new features when I find time

C++ is labourless... if your name starts with 'L' and ends with 'ee'.
JRH
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jul 2006
Location: Stirling, UK
Posted: 4th Mar 2011 21:16 Edited at: 4th Mar 2011 21:21
Okay, this is not working for me. I no longer have the time to support this product, and I have received to many requests to support many different mods that is no longer feasible for me to manage.

For this reason I have decided to release the source code (attached to his post).

Here is my license:
Quote: "This is the license for this software.

- You may compile and use this source code for private, personal, non-commercial use only.
- If you wish to distribute the software publicly then you must email me (jonathan@hay4.co.uk) for permission.
- This software must NOT be sold, or exchanged in anyway. It has been written for free public use by myself, and I intendfor it to remain that way.
- Do not attempt to use the 'Global Editor' as it has been purposefully disabled due to lack of development.

Besides that, have fun!
"


It was written using VB 2008 Express Edition, but you should be able to port it to the 2010 version if required.

C++ is labourless... if your name starts with 'L' and ends with 'ee'.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Nomad Soul
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jan 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 4th Mar 2011 21:22 Edited at: 4th Mar 2011 21:46
Thanks. Great work on this.

Please can you do a tutorial to compile the source in VB 2008 express.

How do I load the source code and compile it?

Michael Thompson
User Offline
Joined: 15th Aug 2008
Location: Behind you (if not, in australia)
Posted: 8th Mar 2011 08:59
Awesome, if it is VB 2008, i will look at it right away. I will not use any of this code in my game menu's options (I will soon be releasing a game menu with options and all), but I would be interested to see how you structured this.

Windows 7 ultimate x64, Intel i7, 4 GB RAM, NVIDIA GEFORCE 330m 1GB
Flash Star Game Creations
JRH
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jul 2006
Location: Stirling, UK
Posted: 8th Mar 2011 12:53
Quote: "I would be interested to see how you structured this."

In the simplest way possible... lots of variables

Quote: "Please can you do a tutorial to compile the source in VB 2008 express.

How do I load the source code and compile it?"

As I previously said, I don't have as much time to focus on this type of thing. That is why I released the source code.

C++ is labourless... if your name starts with 'L' and ends with 'ee'.
Michael Thompson
User Offline
Joined: 15th Aug 2008
Location: Behind you (if not, in australia)
Posted: 11th Mar 2011 11:35
Yeah, as I said, I am making my own menu, with options. Right now, I have the key changer working, and mouse sensitivity. That is all and I have loads of functions and variables. I am working in autoit which is extremely similar to visual basic.

Windows 7 ultimate x64, Intel i7, 4 GB RAM, NVIDIA GEFORCE 330m 1GB
Flash Star Game Creations

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2016-08-31 14:22:49
Your offset time is: 2016-08-31 14:22:49