Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPSC Classic Product Chat / TextEase - The easy way to create on-screen text

Author
Message
xplosys
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jan 2006
Playing: FPSC Multiplayer Games
Posted: 1st Feb 2011 15:10 Edited at: 28th Jan 2014 18:01
This is another GUI made to manipulate the Raw Text (fpgcrawtext) features of FPS Creator. In other words, it lets you create on-screen text without coding or making graphical images. I hope you find it a time saver.



All Downloads are now HERE

This has been tested in FPS Creator V1.17(Final) on Windows XP and Windows 7. Find the program attached or download this and more from ExploSoft.

Edit: Program has been updated to V1.0.3.
Changes in V 1.0.3
------------------
1. All entry boxes can now be cleared before entering data.
2. Allows multiple text entries for adventure type scripts.
3. Added "one time", "repeat" and "destroy" options.
4. Added online help/explanation for all user entries.
5. Added comments to scripts for easier user editing.

Edit: Program has been updated to V1.0.4
Changes in V 1.0.4
------------------
1. Fixed font selection error when selected font not found.
2. Added script animation (Play button) to the preview window.
3. Added checks to ensure text boxes are filled in sequence.

Brian.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Nickydude
Retired Moderator
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Nov 2006
Location: Look outside...
Posted: 1st Feb 2011 15:11 Edited at: 1st Feb 2011 15:14
Wow, this does look interesting...

Errant AI
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Aug 2006
Location:
Posted: 1st Feb 2011 15:26
Very cool and nicely done... I appreciate that it lets you select and copy from the generator preview without saving out the script.
Nickydude
Retired Moderator
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Nov 2006
Location: Look outside...
Posted: 1st Feb 2011 15:30 Edited at: 1st Feb 2011 15:31
This is great! A really easy and simple way to get text into your game. I especially like the 'target' coordinates system.
One personal slight niggle is that you can't completely delete the numbers from the coords boxes, I have a habit of emptying input boxes then putting numbers / text in.

Another excellent piece of ammo added to my arsenal of FPSC tools.

The Storyteller 01
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th May 2009
Location: On a silent hill in dead space
Posted: 1st Feb 2011 15:46
WOW...that looks very useful

Thanks a lot!

In case you find my grammar and spelling weird ---> native German speaker ^^
Conjured Entertainment
AGK Developer
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Sep 2005
Location: Nirvana
Posted: 1st Feb 2011 15:51
Looks nifty, thanks xplosys!

   Conjured Entertainment

 WARNING: Intense Madness
s4real
Valued Member
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jul 2006
Location:
Posted: 1st Feb 2011 16:04
Looks great many thanks for this xplosys, makes text in your games very simple.

Best s4real



Pack ya games with vishnu packer its free.
Soviet176
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Sep 2009
Location: Volgograd
Posted: 1st Feb 2011 16:06
Wow this is amazing Xploys thank you so much! this will cut time having to mod and duplicate scripts all the time! thank you!

Putting fear back into sliced bread since 4th May 2010
The Storyteller 01
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th May 2009
Location: On a silent hill in dead space
Posted: 1st Feb 2011 16:45
I just tried it out and although I find it only straight usable for the simpliest of scripts, it has one BIG usefullness:

For text conversations (I am working on atm) I can immidiately check if a sentence is too long for the screen. That doesn't sound like much - but in fact it's a huge timesaver as every single sentence that has to get changed, affects several others.

Thanks again @xplosys!

In case you find my grammar and spelling weird ---> native German speaker ^^
Sting
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jan 2011
Location:
Posted: 1st Feb 2011 16:52
Good work XP! I'll echo NickyDude's Comment!
xplosys
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jan 2006
Playing: FPSC Multiplayer Games
Posted: 1st Feb 2011 17:24 Edited at: 1st Feb 2011 17:33
@ Errant AI,
Thanks. I thought allowing for edits before saving would make it a little more experienced-user friendly.

@Nickydude,
I know what you mean about the value boxes. I played around with different options - drop-down selection was either too long or limited to intervals of 10 or 5. Emptying the boxes with a small font size selected resulted in the text nearly going off screen and invisible to the upper left. It was the lesser of a few evils and my main concern was to keep it simple. Thanks for the comments.

@The Storyteller 01,
Yes, it is only useful for raw text scripts. No one is going to rewrite FPI EditPad. As for the length of the text on screen, the preview is not an actual FPSC view but a representation of it, using VB with a percentage value to show you the approximate text size. You will probably find that, depending on the font selected, it will not be quite as long in game.

s4, Conjured, Soviet, thanks all for the comments. I appreciate it and it makes the labor worthwhile. I couldn't sleep last night so this is what I did. What a nerd I am!

Brian.


EDIT: If anyone tries this in V1.18(Beta) or with Windows Vista, please post you results here.

... and the band played on.
BlackFox
FPSC Master
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th May 2008
Location: Knight to Queens Bishop 3
Posted: 1st Feb 2011 17:47
Quote: "EDIT: If anyone tries this in V1.18(Beta) or with Windows Vista, please post you results here."


Cathy and I use Vista on our machines. During the install process, it had the "a file being copied is older than your current one. Recommend you keep your newer copy" message. Application works perfect for us. Nice work.

- BlackFox

Scurvy Lobster
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Mar 2006
Location: Denmark
Posted: 1st Feb 2011 17:48
Excellent! Almost to the point that it should be integrated into FPSC directly

xplosys
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jan 2006
Playing: FPSC Multiplayer Games
Posted: 1st Feb 2011 17:56
@BlackFox,
Thanks for the feedback. This was written in VB6 so I assume it was one of the older OCX or DLL files.

@Scurvy Lobster,
And it probably will be, though not this one. That's the way the community works. Forum users and developers see a need and build a fix/application that later gets integrated. I understand that the latest update includes a kind of HUD/Loading screen GUI but I haven't checked it out yet.

Brian.

... and the band played on.
defiler
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Apr 2009
Location: Canada
Posted: 1st Feb 2011 17:58
Thanks xplosys, this is a great tool that will help greatly.

Current Project: Lost Contact: Chapter 1
Nickydude
Retired Moderator
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Nov 2006
Location: Look outside...
Posted: 1st Feb 2011 18:06 Edited at: 1st Feb 2011 18:07
I use V1.18 Beta 5 on W7 and TextEase works fine.

Quote: "I know what you mean about the value boxes. I played around with different options - drop-down selection was either too long or limited to intervals of 10 or 5. Emptying the boxes with a small font size selected resulted in the text nearly going off screen and invisible to the upper left. It was the lesser of a few evils and my main concern was to keep it simple. Thanks for the comments."


It will disappear for a few moments before a value is put in, if a value isn't put then when focus is pulled perhaps a simple check?

Quote: "As for the length of the text on screen, the preview is not an actual FPSC view but a representation of it, using VB with a percentage value to show you the approximate text size. You will probably find that, depending on the font selected, it will not be quite as long in game."


How about a full screen preview?



Johnski
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Dec 2009
Location: Norfolk, UK
Posted: 1st Feb 2011 18:34
Can you create text chats with NPC's with this?

FPSCapture. The FPSC video Capture Software
xplosys
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jan 2006
Playing: FPSC Multiplayer Games
Posted: 1st Feb 2011 19:17
@Nickydude,
Thanks, I will look at both of those things.

@syko,
It will create the raw text code for an NPC script, but not the script for the NPC itself, so no.

Brian.

... and the band played on.
Johnski
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Dec 2009
Location: Norfolk, UK
Posted: 1st Feb 2011 19:21
OK Thanks

Like the RPG mods chat system


Where you press a key and another line comes up

FPSCapture. The FPSC video Capture Software
Shadowdeath
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st Dec 2010
Location: NYC
Posted: 1st Feb 2011 19:36
This is ingenious.
I love it.
JRH
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jul 2006
Location: Stirling, UK
Posted: 1st Feb 2011 20:08
This... is genius!

C++ is labourless... if your name starts with 'L' and ends with 'ee'.
EGG HEAD OF DOOM
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Sep 2008
Location: The Hacked Hospital Lobby
Posted: 2nd Feb 2011 05:16
Sorry if someone else asked this already or was answered, but can we load our own fonts into it?

Vent
FPSC Master
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Apr 2009
Location: BC
Posted: 2nd Feb 2011 05:22
Excellent, deffinetly will answer a lot of people's questions.

Thanks

JaredxD
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Dec 2009
Location: Australia
Posted: 2nd Feb 2011 06:26
Thank you so much mate, this will save so much time for me and every one, im sure

Well done

Boom.
OutdoorGamer
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Dec 2009
Location: everywhere...
Posted: 2nd Feb 2011 13:58
Great app man. Looks interesting.

xplosys
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jan 2006
Playing: FPSC Multiplayer Games
Posted: 2nd Feb 2011 14:34
@EGG HEAD OF DOOM,
No, there's no no feature for loading your own fonts. The way fonts usually work is that they are taken from the users font folder. If you were to use a weird font and that font was not installed on the users system, it would either not display or it would default to a normal font. For that reason, I stuck with the basic fonts.

I could be wrong though.

@All, Thanks for the comments.

Brian.

... and the band played on.
EGG HEAD OF DOOM
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Sep 2008
Location: The Hacked Hospital Lobby
Posted: 3rd Feb 2011 03:07
Thanks for the reply, this will be helpful either way though.

Scene Commander
Support Manager
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd May 2008
Location:
Posted: 3rd Feb 2011 09:54
This is an excellent idea, and I'm sure it'll be very useful.

Thanks

http://jimjamsgames.yolasite.com
Teacher
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Dec 2005
Location:
Posted: 3rd Feb 2011 13:23
xplosys; thanks very much for sharing with the community - looks like a really useful (not to mention time saving) tool.
Many thanks



loler
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Jul 2009
Location:
Posted: 3rd Feb 2011 14:13
wow thank you this programm is awesome
i directly used for my new project

its not a bug its a feature
rolfy
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jun 2006
Location:
Posted: 3rd Feb 2011 15:01
Just what I needed, just when I needed it, many thanks.
xplosys
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jan 2006
Playing: FPSC Multiplayer Games
Posted: 3rd Feb 2011 15:17 Edited at: 3rd Feb 2011 15:36
@All, thanks all for the comments.

Program has been updated to V1.0.3.
Changes in V 1.0.3
------------------
1. All entry boxes can now be cleared before entering data.
2. Allows multiple text entries for adventure type scripts.
3. Added "one time", "repeat" and "destroy" options.
4. Added online help/explanation for all user entries.
5. Added comments to scripts for easier user editing.

The new download is on the first post.

I noticed for some reason that installing over-the-top of the previous version created a second entry in the "Add / Remove Programs" section. While there was no problem uninstalling them, you may want to remove the old version before installing the new one.

Brian.

... and the band played on.
EGG HEAD OF DOOM
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Sep 2008
Location: The Hacked Hospital Lobby
Posted: 3rd Feb 2011 17:17
I got this error when when flipping through the fonts:

pic attached

Attachments

Login to view attachments
xplosys
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jan 2006
Playing: FPSC Multiplayer Games
Posted: 3rd Feb 2011 17:25
@EGG HEAD

Do you have that font in your font folder?
What operating system and version are you using?

I thought I picked some pretty common fonts, but I may have to trap errors there and revert to Arial if the font doesn't exist.

Brian.

... and the band played on.
Doomster
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Nov 2007
Location: Germany
Posted: 3rd Feb 2011 17:33 Edited at: 3rd Feb 2011 17:34
Nice application, especially like the text preview.

Quote: "loading your own fonts"

You could implement that by using the AddFontResourceEx and RemoveFontResourceEx functions which are supported from Windows 2000 Professional and onwards.

-Doomster

BlackFox
FPSC Master
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th May 2008
Location: Knight to Queens Bishop 3
Posted: 3rd Feb 2011 18:06 Edited at: 3rd Feb 2011 18:15
Brian,

V1.03 with the multiple lines. I'm getting this for my script results:



Seems that the three lines are duplicating. Is this correct? In my previous scripts, I've never had to "duplicate" like the layout here. So in theory I would have this line:



But I would not need this line:



Added:

Also, do you want Cathy and I to have both versions for download, or replace the previous with this version?

- BlackFox

xplosys
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jan 2006
Playing: FPSC Multiplayer Games
Posted: 3rd Feb 2011 18:28
@Doomster,
Thanks. I'll look into it, though it's complicated enough for me already.

@BlackFox,
It is correct. They are different states and required to make the options work. If you remove the second one, the text will not continue to show while you are in the zone.

I would keep the latest version up, though you may want to wait for a few bug fixes.

Brian.

... and the band played on.
BlackFox
FPSC Master
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th May 2008
Location: Knight to Queens Bishop 3
Posted: 3rd Feb 2011 18:37
Quote: "It is correct. They are different states and required to make the options work. If you remove the second one, the text will not continue to show while you are in the zone."


We use the fpgcrawtext quite a bit, but our layout looks different and the result script I was showing you just did not look right to me. Might need to increase my coffee amounts in the mornings first before I ask questions LOL. Thanks for clarifying for me.

Quote: "I would keep the latest version up, though you may want to wait for a few bug fixes."


No problem. We'll keep a watch on the thread and keep the download current as you release them.

- BlackFox

xplosys
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jan 2006
Playing: FPSC Multiplayer Games
Posted: 3rd Feb 2011 18:57
@BlackFox,

I can usually make anything work, but sometimes my methods are archaic and don't follow any accepted/recognizable format. It's the rebel in me I guess.

I must admit that I was in a rush to get it out because I'm working on something else (I mean I'm supposed to be working on something else ). If you see a better way to make it work including the options I would be very receptive, but please don't go to any bother. Thanks again for checking it out and hosting for us.

Brian.

... and the band played on.
EGG HEAD OF DOOM
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Sep 2008
Location: The Hacked Hospital Lobby
Posted: 3rd Feb 2011 20:06
Quote: "Do you have that font in your font folder?
What operating system and version are you using?"


I believe i have the font. I have windows 7 home premium, newest version.

xplosys
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jan 2006
Playing: FPSC Multiplayer Games
Posted: 3rd Feb 2011 20:21 Edited at: 3rd Feb 2011 20:28
Quote: "I believe i have the font"


Well, believing is half the battle but could you look in your fonts folder (C:\Windows\Fonts) and let me know if you see "Lucida Sans"?

If you do see it, open the file and then open "Lucida Sans Regular" and make sure the fonts display properly.

... and the band played on.
bruce3371
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Aug 2010
Location: Englishland
Posted: 3rd Feb 2011 20:37
I'll definately try this out for a demo level I'm making for someone

EGG HEAD OF DOOM
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Sep 2008
Location: The Hacked Hospital Lobby
Posted: 3rd Feb 2011 21:30
the lucida fonts i have are:

Lucida Console Regular
Lucida Handwriting Italic
Lucida Sans Enicode Regular

I hope this helps.

xplosys
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jan 2006
Playing: FPSC Multiplayer Games
Posted: 3rd Feb 2011 21:55
@EGG HEAD,

Thanks. That explains the problem. I'm not sure why you don't have the font and I do (Windows 7 Pro and Windows XP Pro) but I'll trap that routine for the error and add it to the next update.

Brian.

... and the band played on.
Sandante
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Sep 2008
Location: Dark World
Posted: 3rd Feb 2011 22:40
I tested this program and i must say this works great. very easy to understand and realy usefull for creating games. thanks alot mate for sharing.


Quote: "No, there's no no feature for loading your own fonts. The way fonts usually work is that they are taken from the users font folder. If you were to use a weird font and that font was not installed on the users system, it would either not display or it would default to a normal font. For that reason, I stuck with the basic fonts."


maybe a stupid idea but i was thinking, if you could make it possible to use your own custom fonts. then and after you have build your game, you make an separate installer with includes the required font. (like some kind of patch)

xplosys
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jan 2006
Playing: FPSC Multiplayer Games
Posted: 3rd Feb 2011 22:46
Quote: "maybe a stupid idea but i was thinking, if you could make it possible to use your own custom fonts. then and after you have build your game, you make an separate installer with includes the required font. (like some kind of patch)"


While anything is possible, I think it may be best to use image fonts in such a case. It seems like it would be much easier.... especially for me.

Brian.

... and the band played on.
BlackFox
FPSC Master
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th May 2008
Location: Knight to Queens Bishop 3
Posted: 3rd Feb 2011 22:55
Quote: "While anything is possible, I think it may be best to use image fonts in such a case. It seems like it would be much easier.... especially for me. "


An image is worth a thousand words

- BlackFox

xplosys
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jan 2006
Playing: FPSC Multiplayer Games
Posted: 5th Feb 2011 14:34
The program has been updated to V1.0.4

Changes in V 1.0.4
------------------
1. Fixed font selection error when selected font not found.
2. Added script animation (Play button) to the preview window.
3. Added checks to ensure text boxes are filled in sequence.

New download is in first post.

Brian.

... and the band played on.
Seth Black
FPSC Reloaded TGC Backer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Feb 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posted: 5th Feb 2011 16:46 Edited at: 6th Apr 2011 16:20
:::::REDACTED BY SETH BLACK:::::

...done.

Conjured Entertainment
AGK Developer
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Sep 2005
Location: Nirvana
Posted: 5th Feb 2011 17:18
Quote: "When are you going to release the companion program, TestEase?"

lol
You don't need a program for that, just remember one thing...if you are unsure about the right answer then pick B.


   Conjured Entertainment

 WARNING: Intense Madness

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2021-04-14 18:17:41
Your offset time is: 2021-04-14 18:17:41