Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

3 Dimensional Chat / 3AM - 3D Artist's Magazine

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 18th Nov 2002 14:33
Hello,

I want to present an idea here and see how receptive people would be to it.

I currently use another 3D game engine called 3D GameStudio and have been using it for many years. By profession I own my own graphic studio and produce everything from book covers for novels, to web sites to actually creating real time 3D environments for my clients. Most recently I have been contracted to work on a MMPORPG (Massive Multi-Player Online Role Playing Game) creating levels and UI elements. These are my creditials so that you can better evaluate what I am about to explain.

As I have been using 3D GameStudio for years, I have noticed that many people using the suite are mostly in two catagories; hobbiests or progammers. Most are not graphic artists. These people tend to grasp the basic concepts of getting the code together, but get upset when their game "looks" bad (due to poor graphic design), runs slow (due to poor level design) or looks like everyone else's stuff (due to using the same textures off the web everyone else is using).

Because of this I began to envision a magazine from professionals that would explain such things as level design, texture design, UI design, etc. The magazine would be bi-monthly and would cover topics that are beginner, intermediate and advanced.