Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPS Creator X10 / Help with waterfall effect

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hey all. I am new to FPS Creator and need some help. I am using FPSC X10 with update v1.11 and having trouble understanding how to get a realistic water effect using the Metro Theater model pack. Whenever I place a waterfall or puddle in my scene and test level or build, the water looks flat and non-animated like in the old Duke Nukem 3D game (if you remember that one, you may be as old as I am). Nonetheless, the water is static, non-moving and cartoonish yet I can still hear the sound effects.

Is there something additional I need to do with the scripting or any other settings that I neglected to modify - or understand?

Thanks for any help.

System
-----------
Windows 7 Enterprise 64Bit, Svc Pack 1
Intel Core 2 Quad 8200 - 2.33GHz
4 GB Ram
Nvidia GeForce 9500GT 512 MB
Le Shorte
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 25th Feb 2011 01:56
The Metro Theater shaders do not work with x10, as it uses PS2.0, while x10 uses PS4.0

I reject your stereotype of Wisconsin and, in fact, live in a city.
morribow
Years of Service
User Offline
Hey le shorte. Thanks for the info. I went to X9 to test out my levels and got the same basic results. Leads me to believe there is something else at play here. Probably a combination of my card on Win7. I might try a different graphics card - although I thought mine was decent. Also may try a different OS (XP or Vista).

If you can think of anything else I could try, let me know.
srealist
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 28th Feb 2011 16:56
Man...I just bought this model pack. Came here to post this thread with the hope that I was crazy.