Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Professional Discussion / Set Window Off problem

Author
Message
zoltar
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Mar 2011
Location:
Posted: 2nd Mar 2011 19:58
Hello. I think to have come across a bug associated with this command. It seems that after switching back to the window mode the z-order property "always-on-top" is not removed for the application window. Here's the code for anyone who wants to test it. I'm working with DBP Compiler 1.07/Editor Build Oct 2 2008 on Windows XP.

CLS
PRINT "At this point the application window moves along the z-order normally."
PRINT "Press any key to switch to fullscreen mode..."
WAIT KEY
SET WINDOW OFF
CLS
PRINT "Press any key to switch back to window mode..."
WAIT KEY
SET WINDOW ON
CLS
PRINT "At this point the application window stays always on top."
PRINT "Press any key to exit..."
WAIT KEY

Is this a bug? Does a fix to this exist? Any help would be appreciated.
SH4773R
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jan 2010
Location: AMERICA!!!
Posted: 2nd Mar 2011 23:36 Edited at: 2nd Mar 2011 23:37
Why not upgrade your software and try again? It works for me on win 7 and latest software
Master Man Of Justice
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Feb 2008
Location: Between Insanity and Intelligence
Posted: 3rd Mar 2011 00:25
It works for me on Windows XP with latest DBpro.

zoltar
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Mar 2011
Location:
Posted: 3rd Mar 2011 02:09
Thanks for your replies. It seems I didn't express my self properly. The program compiles and runs without problem. The issue is that after switching modes, from window to fullscreen and back, the application window stays "always on top." This means the user cannot switch between applications without having the application compiled with DBP at the very front. This is true under XP, Vista and 7.

However, I did upgrade the compiler. Now I have the DBP Compiler 1.076/Editor Build Jun 23 2010. With the following issues.

1. The fullscreen-to-window "always on top" problem still persists on XP, Vista and 7.
2. The editor doesn't parse my code properly. Resulting in an incomplete list of functions. I didn't check types, variables or contants.
3. The editor is not showing properly the tab character and the editor options now enforces the use of space characters instead tabs.
4. The output file, the executable program, doesn't work properly. Some sprites are missing and the first created sprites behaves like it was created last (show at the top of the z-order).

Further help on the window issue would be appreciated. I think is a bug, though. I'd also appreciate if someone directs me to the instructions on how to downgrade the compiler. Thanks again.
SH4773R
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jan 2010
Location: AMERICA!!!
Posted: 3rd Mar 2011 05:43
Quote: "PRINT "At this point the application window stays always on top."
PRINT "Press any key to exit..."
WAIT KEY"


Oh lol I thought you wanted that to happen. That happens for me too.

The solution as i see it is to set the window to the back of the screen.

use this command, it solves it for me:



heres you program with the command:


My software never has bugs. It just develops random features.
baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 3rd Mar 2011 10:50
Using "Window to back" does fix the problem but you probably want to use "Window to front" straight afterwards so the user doesn't have to go looking for it.

It looks like a definite bug to me, post it here:
Bug Reports

It is a bug with a two line workaround so it's unlikely it'll get fixed quickly but there might be other implications which are more serious. If another related bug shows up that is more serious this could point to the cause.

zoltar
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Mar 2011
Location:
Posted: 3rd Mar 2011 18:33
@Commico Inc. Thank you again. I was aware of those commands but I was looking more for the kind of fix you mentioned before (the upgrade). The use of those commands is a good workaround but what I wanted to do was to make sure it was a bug and if so then report it and find a way to fix it.

@baxslash. Thanks for the tip and the link. I will report it immediately.

Abusing from your time. Does any of you know if the sprites are now redrawn based on their image index instead of their own index or creation order? This seems to be happening since I upgraded my compiler from version 1.07 to 1.076.
SH4773R
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jan 2010
Location: AMERICA!!!
Posted: 4th Mar 2011 01:26
No idea sorry

My software never has bugs. It just develops random features.
baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 4th Mar 2011 10:01
Quote: "Abusing from your time. Does any of you know if the sprites are now redrawn based on their image index instead of their own index or creation order? This seems to be happening since I upgraded my compiler from version 1.07 to 1.076."

Could be, I know IanM has been making some changes to how sprites are drawn in recent updates. Ask him maybe? Or search the forum for recent similar questions and then post the question if you can't find an answer.

zoltar
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Mar 2011
Location:
Posted: 8th Mar 2011 23:49
@Commico Inc. Thank you anyway.

@baxslash. Yes, definitively there was a change and I couldn't find any other related topics. I think to have figured it out. I'll post my thoughts on it as soon as I can. Thank you.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2025-05-29 06:10:51
Your offset time is: 2025-05-29 06:10:51