Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark Physics & Dark A.I. & Dark Dynamix / calculating "set rigid linear velocity" parameters

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hi guys, complete noob here so forgive me if this has been answered already but I couldn't find it using the forum search.

I'm trying to use the "linear velocity" function to power a projectile which is fired from a cannon. The canon orientation is variable so I am trying to calculate the values needed for the "linear velocity" command from that.

The following code creates the cannonball (proj) at the base of the cannon (plobturret), makes it a rigid body sphere, then fires it out (for the minute using values 10,10,10 as the parameters). Obviously these are the values I need to calculate based on the cannons position and orientation.

The problem is for the life of me I can't work out how to calculate an x,y,z linear velocity value based on the angles of the cannon.

I'm completely stuck on this and any help would be gratefully recieved.
Better Health Forum
Years of Service
User Offline
hey do a quick search in google...you will definitely got lot's of info about "linear velocity"

petethesparky
Years of Service
User Offline
Hi, thanks for answering.

Yeah I know what I want to achieve and how linear velocity affects an entity, I just don't know how to implement this in DBPro.

I can't just take the angle of the cannon and use that, because that would mean that the projectile would shoot out with more force the higher the cannon was tilted. Obviously this is wrong.

There must be an algorithm that can calculate the required x#,y# and z# paramaters for this command if it's given the x,y & z angles of the cannon.

I just can't work out what it is
HowDo