Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Geek Culture / Java? Total beginner, need direction!

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
I have an interest in learning Java for a few different reasons, the main being developing for Android.

So, I have been searching around online for tutorials and information, but I can't find anything that really goes very in depth in explaining what I'm typing in the example code. For instance, how do I actually know I need to "import java.io" to use keyboard inputs to type strings in my program? What other "imports" are there? What does the public static void main method actually do for me?

I'm just a little lost and it seems I can't find anything that teaches me how to think for myself. I don't want to be a robot and punch in example code.

Any good resources, written or video tutorials out there that anyone can refer me to? Everything I keep finding just seems a little empty, or I'm supposed to have some other programming knowledge of these languages beyond basic, because lets face it, I'm spoiled by DBP.

Also, don't tell me to wait for the AppGameKit I'll check it out when it finally shows it's face, but honestly I really would like to learn how these more advanced languages work!

http://lossofanonymity.wordpress.com
Indicium
Years of Service
User Offline
I found the same problems when I started to learn. The only advise I can offer is the official Java tutorials.

http://download.oracle.com/javase/tutorial/java/index.html

I found it rather useful.
Agent Dink
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 3rd Apr 2011 23:20 Edited at: 3rd Apr 2011 23:37
Glad I'm not the only one who has my issue, lol! Thanks, I'll check those out