Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Creating Sub Files in C++(Dark GDK)

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 18th Apr 2011 15:54
Hello, I'm rather new to using C++ and Dark GDK. I know the basics, and I've come pretty far on my own, but I'm now stuck... I'm creating an FPS game against zombies. Right now, I only have one zombie chasing me, and I can shoot and kill it. But all the code for the zombie is in my Main.cpp file, which will make it extremely difficult to create multiple zombies. So what I want to do is be able to make a Header File or somthing, that will consist of one zombie, then all I have to do is copy and paist the file, and now I have two zombies. I know there must be a way to do this, but I'm not sure how.
Wikaman1
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 18th Apr 2011 20:04
can you post some code? Then I'll be able to provide some advice on how to handle multiple zombies.

I also happen to be making a zombie game
Hassan
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 18th Apr 2011 20:28
just make a header file like main.h, and use #include "main.h" in the DarkGDK.cpp (or it's main.cpp? can't remember)

anyway - number of files has nothing to do with number of zombies, what you probably want to do is to make a class (usually declared in the header, not methods definitions, and definitions are in a separate .cpp file, e.g. zombies.cpp, you might want to call the .h file zombies.h, not important but it looks more meaningful) that stands for an individual zombie, and make an array (could be in main.cpp) of this class.