Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DLL Talk / I need help in finding, and using a sound recording dll

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 31st May 2011 22:00
I've searched the boards and found one entry about irrklang.dll but I can't get any of the sample code to run.

If you know of a sound recording dll and could give me some direction on how to get it up and running, I would appreciate it.

I am new to dll's so I need some basic instructions, like how to initialize the dll in my application and how to call the dll.

Thanks for any information.
D Ogre
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 1st Jun 2011 02:55 Edited at: 1st Jun 2011 02:58
Exactly what kind of recording are you trying to do?

If your just wanting to record some audio, DBPro has built-in sound recording functions for this? Optionally, you could use something like Windows Sound Recorder or other 3rd party software.

If your trying to record the mixed audio output from a source application, you can look at WASAPI under Vista and Windows 7, or WinMM under XP thru 7. The later only supports 16 bit integer samples. It takes a certain amount of setup to make use of either. I'm currently writing a plugin to capture DBPros mixed audio output using WinMM. It's still in early development.
JRNTexas
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 1st Jun 2011 08:37
Thanks for the information.

I cannot get dbPro to record above 11Khz or below 110Khz (this one puzzles me). I've used two different computers, both with 48Khz capabilities, one with 96Khz capabilities. And I've used both the internal hardware and external hardware, USB and Firewire.