Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPSC Classic Product Chat / Jon Fletcher’s Beretta Elite, Remastered by Dillionaire

Author
Message
Dillionaire
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posted: 5th Jun 2011 09:19 Edited at: 8th Jul 2011 19:28
Hey, everyone!

I was looking at this pistol, modelled and animated by Jon Fletcher circa 2008, and I saw a lot of potential that could be added with a little work. Since I started learning how to write .gunspecs today, I figured I'd start with this one, so I could also learn to use Airmod features.

So, without further ado, I give you the remastered Beretta Elite, by Jon Fletcher. In this YouTube video, I cover all the changes/improvements I made in-game with comparisons between the original and the new gun:



(For Use with FPSC x9 v1.18)
Notes:
-Ironsights
-Recoil From Hip and Ironsights
-Improved Accuracy and Recoil While Using Ironsights
-Improved Reload Sound/Sync
-Better Shader on Gun Model
-LazyGun for Smoother Turning

Flaws(That Cannot Be Corrected):
-Awkward Running Animation
-Bullet Shell Anomaly During Ejection
-All Slide Pulls Appear to "Eject" a Shell

-------------------------------------------------------------------

To install, simply navigate to your FPSC folder, then:

Files/gamecore/guns/JFletcher/Beretta Elite 2

Once you're there, extract the contents of my attached file and overwrite the existing files with the new ones. Run FPSC Cleaner to remove old .dbo files, then [re]start FPSC and give the gun a try.

Don't forget to tell me what you think!

-------------------------------------------------------------------

For those of you that like to tinker with settings, in the .gunspec I have included various options for some settings, which have been commented out. If you want to, say, zoom in further on the gun model when in Ironsights, place a semi-colon ( in front of the "simplezoommod = 7" and remove the semi colon in front of ";simplezoommod = 2." Have fun!

Cheers.

My Computer Specifications: Intel i7 980x OC @ 4.2 GHz |3x GTX 580's in SLI | 12 GB, 2000 MHz RAM (Corsair) |2x 1 TB HDD | 1.2 KW PSU |ASUS Rampage III Extreme Motherboard

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Akanto10
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Apr 2010
Location: Earth
Posted: 5th Jun 2011 09:56
Personally, I like having the hands and wrists exposed, but not much of the arms, kind of like this:



Good work,
Akanto

I believe I should put a smart comment here, but I wouldn't have time to think about it.
ThoughtWire Software
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Aug 2010
Location: Inside your fridge, drinking your milk.
Posted: 5th Jun 2011 12:46
Very nice work Dillionaire, it is a much needed improvement. Well done!

ThoughtWire Software -

www.thoughtwire.co.uk
Michael Thompson
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Aug 2008
Location: Behind you (if not, in australia)
Posted: 5th Jun 2011 18:00
Good work. I have to disagree with Akanto10. It does look alright as it is - but hey, we are all allowed our own opinions, right?

Shadowdeath
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st Dec 2010
Location: NYC
Posted: 5th Jun 2011 18:04
Nice Work.


[href]tophatforums.info[/href] - For all your project and gaming needs
Conjured Entertainment
AGK Developer
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Sep 2005
Location: Nirvana
Posted: 5th Jun 2011 20:05 Edited at: 5th Jun 2011 20:08
Quote: "So, without further ado, I give you the remastered Beretta Elite, by Jon Fletcher. In this YouTube video, I cover all the changes/improvements I made in-game with comparisons between the original and the new gun:"

The gunlag is the best one for me.
That gives it a fluid motion that seems much more realistic.

You did an excellent job on this, and the video is very nice too.
* * * * *

Didn't you have to change his gun's animations?
Is that re-distributeable?

Quote: "Personally, I like having the hands and wrists exposed, but not much of the arms, kind of like this:"

That does look very nice, but only because the hands are done so well.
If I made my own hands for the guns, you might not want to see as much.

Dillionaire
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posted: 5th Jun 2011 23:06 Edited at: 5th Jun 2011 23:30
Thanks for the comments, guys.

I've considered what you all have said, and I've decided to change the .gunspec, so now the gun appears further away in ironsights. You can see the new look in the attached image. However, don't fret if you liked the original look. In the .gunspec, the original setting is still there, but it's commented out. All you have to do is add a semi-colon in front of the current "simplezoommod = 7" and remove the semi-colon in front of "simplezoommod = 2."

@Conjured Entertainment

Thanks for your comment! But, to answer your questions, no, I didn't change his animations. I wish I could rework JFletcher's animations to get rid of the awkward running animation and the stray bullet shell in the reload animation. The only thing I did to his animations was editing the HUD animation frames list to stop the idle animation during ironsights, as well as the walk animation's begin frame. The animations are all still his, but I merely edited their stop and end points in-game. So, that said, I can redistribute the changes I've made freely and legally!

This actually gives me an idea. I think I should contact Jon Fletcher to see if he'll send me the original .3ds max file so I can fix some of the animations. Do any of you know his e-mail address, or at least the one he's currently using?

Until I contact him, I won't release my current changes, because there is now a possibility that I can improve this gun from its core. I'm keeping my fingers crossed!

EDIT: Thanks for acknowledging my spelling correction request, Mods, but it's still misspelled. It's "Beretta." Thanks in advance!

My Computer Specifications: Intel i7 980x OC @ 4.2 GHz |3x GTX 580's in SLI | 12 GB, 2000 MHz RAM (Corsair) |2x 1 TB HDD | 1.2 KW PSU |ASUS Rampage III Extreme Motherboard

Attachments

Login to view attachments
gendestroier
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jun 2010
Location: Brazil
Posted: 5th Jun 2011 23:13
Quote: "Didn't you have to change his gun's animations?"


no need to rewrite animations, he probably done this all with gunspec editing (it's easier than making new animations)

everything he've done is achievable via gunspec editing, with the exeption of the new shader and the reload sound (sounds like more than just a "gunsp" sync)

mods for creating a inteligent game,at least
Bootlicker
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posted: 5th Jun 2011 23:15
Quote: "I wish I could rework JFletcher's animations to get rid of the awkward running animation and the stray bullet shell in the reload animation."


you could always just open up the model in whatever you use and just delete the actual mesh of that stray bullet shell, then its gone to the murky depths of the hole of sparta.


gendestroier
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jun 2010
Location: Brazil
Posted: 5th Jun 2011 23:15
Quote: "I wish I could rework JFletcher's animations to get rid of the awkward running animation"


i can do that for you, just give me the gunspec, put it in code in this same thread.

mods for creating a inteligent game,at least
Dillionaire
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posted: 5th Jun 2011 23:23
@gendestroier

Yes, all of the editing was done with the .gunspec, except for the reload sound. That was done but actually editing the sound itself.

And, I think I know what you're gonna do, by freezing the zoommove animation, right? It looks unnatural, which is why I decided to leave the animation in there. It's just, the same animation is used for hipfire walking and ironsight walking, so it makes the gun bobble in around when walking. This can only be fixed with a new animation. Thanks though!

@Bootlicker

If you can show me how to get the .x file back into 3DSMax, I'll do editing on the animations, and see if I can get JFletcher to allow me to release it.

My Computer Specifications: Intel i7 980x OC @ 4.2 GHz |3x GTX 580's in SLI | 12 GB, 2000 MHz RAM (Corsair) |2x 1 TB HDD | 1.2 KW PSU |ASUS Rampage III Extreme Motherboard
gendestroier
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jun 2010
Location: Brazil
Posted: 5th Jun 2011 23:32
Quote: "zoommove animation, right?"


eheh... no way !! i've tried that long ago, and it looks ridiculous,
i've found another way, but it's been a while and i don't remember quite well, that's why i need the gunspec.

mods for creating a inteligent game,at least
Dillionaire
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posted: 5th Jun 2011 23:35
Can you add more than one animation setting per line?

Like this:

Instead of: idle = 13,30

Do This: idle = 13,18:25,30

My Computer Specifications: Intel i7 980x OC @ 4.2 GHz |3x GTX 580's in SLI | 12 GB, 2000 MHz RAM (Corsair) |2x 1 TB HDD | 1.2 KW PSU |ASUS Rampage III Extreme Motherboard
gendestroier
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jun 2010
Location: Brazil
Posted: 6th Jun 2011 00:13
that not even been through my head, it's highly impossible actualy
i've used fragmotion to view the animations and setted the best intersection between one animation and another, and finalised with some animation cuttings in the gunspec, but i don't remember with frames i used, i can re do everything to find out in 40 minutes, if you give me the gunspec. (the original version's gunspec)

mods for creating a inteligent game,at least
Dillionaire
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posted: 7th Jun 2011 09:15
Just a quick update, I've contacted Jon Fletcher at his last known email address, and I'm eagerly awaiting his reply. In the meantime, I've purchased a licensed copy of 3Ds Max, and I'm soaking up everything I can about animation in anticipation of Jon's reply. Let's hope it was worthwhile investment...Max ain't cheap!



My Computer Specifications: Intel i7 980x OC @ 4.2 GHz |3x GTX 580's in SLI | 12 GB, 2000 MHz RAM (Corsair) |2x 1 TB HDD | 1.2 KW PSU |ASUS Rampage III Extreme Motherboard
gendestroier
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jun 2010
Location: Brazil
Posted: 14th Jun 2011 02:38 Edited at: 14th Jun 2011 19:00
3Ds Max = BIG-butt hole in the wallet.

can i use butt ?

mods for creating a inteligent game,at least
Conjured Entertainment
AGK Developer
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Sep 2005
Location: Nirvana
Posted: 14th Jun 2011 02:51 Edited at: 14th Jun 2011 02:53
@gendestroier
You should edit that statement before a MODerator does.
Masking curse words is against the Acceptable Usage Policy (AUP)

I agree with you though, about the price of 3DS Max being unreasonable. (that's why I never got to use it)

gendestroier
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jun 2010
Location: Brazil
Posted: 14th Jun 2011 19:02
i would get a student liscence instead of buying a copy, of course, you need to prove that you're a student.

mods for creating a inteligent game,at least
Dillionaire
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posted: 23rd Jun 2011 06:03
Okay...so, Jon F. never replied to my e-mail, so...does anyone have any ideas? In the meantime, tomorrow, I'll release the contents of the update I made here on the thread, so download it, give it a try, and tell me what you think!

My Computer Specifications: Intel i7 980x OC @ 4.2 GHz |3x GTX 580's in SLI | 12 GB, 2000 MHz RAM (Corsair) |2x 1 TB HDD | 1.2 KW PSU |ASUS Rampage III Extreme Motherboard
Dillionaire
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posted: 7th Jul 2011 21:02
Well, since I've haven't gotten a reply from JFletcher for a month after the first post of this thread, I'm just going to release the contents of my remaster.

To install, simply navigate to your FPSC folder, then:

Files/gamecore/guns/JFletcher/Beretta Elite 2

Once you're there, extract the contents of my attached file and overwrite the existing files with the new ones. Run FPSC Cleaner to remove old .dbo files, then [re]start FPSC and give the gun a try.

Don't forget to tell me what you think!

-------------------------------------------------------------------

For those of you that like to tinker with settings, in the .gunspec I have included various options for some settings, which have been commented out. If you want to, say, zoom in further on the gun model when in Ironsights, place a semi-colon ( in front of the "simplezoommod = 7" and remove the semi colon in front of ";simplezoommod = 2." Have fun!

My Computer Specifications: Intel i7 980x OC @ 4.2 GHz |3x GTX 580's in SLI | 12 GB, 2000 MHz RAM (Corsair) |2x 1 TB HDD | 1.2 KW PSU |ASUS Rampage III Extreme Motherboard

Attachments

Login to view attachments
raymondlee306
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Oct 2009
Location: Ohio
Posted: 8th Jul 2011 05:34
Quote: "i would get a student liscence instead of buying a copy, of course, you need to prove that you're a student."


Student copies cannot be used for commercial products or used to make things that will be used in commercial products.
Dillionaire
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posted: 8th Jul 2011 19:27
Don't worry, raymondlee306, I have since purchased a licensed copy of Max, with a bit of money I saved up. I hope it's worth it. However, just for reiteration, the modifications I made in this remastering had nothing to do with any programs other than the freeware Audacity. I simply modified the .gunspec and edited the reload sound.

My Computer Specifications: Intel i7 980x OC @ 4.2 GHz |3x GTX 580's in SLI | 12 GB, 2000 MHz RAM (Corsair) |2x 1 TB HDD | 1.2 KW PSU |ASUS Rampage III Extreme Motherboard
gendestroier
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jun 2010
Location: Brazil
Posted: 13th Jul 2011 00:12
Quote: "Student copies cannot be used for commercial products or used to make things that will be used in commercial products."


yeah, it's more like a praticing tool

mods for creating a inteligent game,at least
Legion012
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Jul 2011
Location:
Posted: 9th Aug 2011 21:57
does anyone has the weapon in a link?
sic1ne
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Sep 2010
Location:
Posted: 16th Aug 2011 05:51
you probly should of posted this in the models and media thread you would of got more attention as i am just now finding this awsome gun thanks for moding it!!!

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-10-17 02:39:05
Your offset time is: 2019-10-17 02:39:05