Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Work in Progress / [LOCKED] [Critical Mass] - RTS Community Aided Game

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 13th Jun 2011 18:02 Edited at: 1st Aug 2011 16:01

INTRODUCTION

Hi everyone,

I've been programming for a good 4/5 years now (not too long I am aware), but I think I am now educated enough to put together a game project of my own. I think one of the biggest reasons for me posting this thread so early on is that it gives me a feel for feedback of the community and helps me keep my game completely organised, well more so that it would have been in my head.

I'd like to quickly explain what I mean by 'it gives me a feel for feedback of the community'. I'd like to make a very unique RTS -modern day- style game, the only issue is that one persons imagination can only take them so far. So what I would love to have, is input from all people who would feel interested in a game such as this, and together we could come up with ideas for a top notch RTS game.

GAME BACKGROUND
Entering this game, there were very broad views of what it could become. This means that we are not dedicated to a specific endgame from the very beginning and we can be inivotive regarding units/levels through out. After a chat with the first person to become a member of the team for this, it became evident that we would like three teams, Soviets, Allied Nations and Rebel Forces. Once again these names are not finalised, but I will talk about the team aspects in a bit of detail later on. The time period which we have focused on is modernday, with one of two units showing a glimse into the future, such as a teleporting and mind control unit.