Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Professional Discussion / Serial Port access slow (with code)

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hi All,
I am trying to receive data across the serial port. This is my first attempt and it works ok. I haven't gone down the Cattlerustler route just yet as i've tried to do it using Kernel32 instead. I'm going to try Cattlerustlers DBP_SerialPortMulti_exp.dll plugin in a minute and see if it works better.

Since I couldn't find a suitable answer on the forum I thought I would post this anyway and see if anyone knew the answer.

When I read from the serial port it pauses the program for a period of a second or so - obviously not good since it is supposed to be doing other things as well.

Here is the code - much thanks for any help.

Ben_UK78
Years of Service
User Offline
Sorry, to make it easier I should have added:

It runs with no pauses without the following line:

result = call dll(c_KERNEL32, "ReadFile", r_hPort, char_buf+4, 255, char_buf, 0)

where,
char_buf = alloc zeroed(4+255)
r_hPort = call dll(c_KERNEL32, "CreateFileA", r_CommPort$, 0x80000000, 0, 0, 3, 0x80, 0)

Unfortunately, and obviously, that is the line that reads from the serial port. Hence my problem....
WLGfx
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 2nd Jul 2011 17:08
Did you get any better results using the other method?

I do know that even with your baud rate at 9600 serial ports can be very slow for large amounts of data. Kinda like back in the days of dial up internet. And the pause from what I gather should only be a fraction of that time while it's synchronising.

Warning! May contain Nuts!
Ben_UK78
Years of Service
User Offline
I'm having fun with the other method to be honest. Even simple code is crashing.