Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Java Wrapper

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hey!
I am an intermediate Java programmer, and there is something that I have been pondering on for quite some time.
I checked out the Leadwerks Engine sometime back and noticed that they were also supplying a Java wrapper for using the Leadwerks engine with Java.
Could you people do the same with DarkGDK? You could create a JNI wrapper for DarkGDK, which could be used to use the DarkBASIC engine with Java.
As a part of the Java community, I can tell you that there is a SERIOUS lack of Game Engines that can be programmed with Java. Java 3d API is very complex, and not very functional, and JOGL is TOO convoluted for anyone to use.
The only other GOOD option is the JMonkey Engene, and even that is VERY hard to use.
If you could release a Java wrapper for DarkGDK, it would be a BIG breakthrough for game developers that prefer Java, and I'm sure you'd gain a LOT of support from the Java community.

What say?

Democracy is a device that insures we shall be governed no better than we deserve.
Mistrel
Retired Moderator
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 13th Jul 2011 06:33 Edited at: 13th Jul 2011 06:58
DarkGDK is a set of hand coded static libraries which hav been built for the Microsoft Visual Studio 2008 and 2010 compilers. Unfortunately, the amount of effort that would be required to port it to JNI/Java would be immense.