Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPSC Classic Product Chat / Maptastic - The clickable map creation kit

Author
Message
Ched80
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Sep 2010
Location: Peterborough, UK
Posted: 26th Jul 2011 10:27 Edited at: 13th Oct 2011 08:01

MAPTASTIC - The Clickable Map Creation Kit


Hello! I'd like to introduce you to Maptastic, a tool I have created for FPSC that helps you create a clickable Map HUD for your game so that the player can travel between different levels.

For example: You have built a game with three levels:
- A city (level 1),
- an airport (level 2) and
- a field (level 3).
Maptastic then modifies your final setuplevel.fpi so that the player can show up a map hud (showing the locations of the city, the airport and the field), click on the name of the location and load that level. If you have ever played Fallout3, the HUD works similar to the fast-travel feature within that game.

You will need to build a game with at least three levels for this to work and also create a map background and (optionally) some location marker images. Then open the tool, follow the steps and 'hey presto' your game will now be endowed with a clickable map HUD!

[EDIT 2011.07.31]
Version 1.3beta has the following features:
- Create map locations using HUDText or HUDImages.
- Map locations can have different Images depending on whether the player is currently at the location. Alternatively text can be used to indicate locations.
- More than one location can load the same level number.
- Up to 100 locations can be added to a map.
- Trigger Map display by Custom Variable or Key Code.
- Restrict location HUD visibility via variables.
- Includes 5 Map Backgrounds (Mars and Space image credit to ESA).

FPSC v118 is required.
Download v1.3 BETA
EDIT 2011.10.13
Download User Manual

EDIT 2011.08.21
short video of the end result of using Maptastic


Attachments

Login to view attachments
Leongamerz
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Aug 2010
Location:
Posted: 26th Jul 2011 10:41
Hey thanks.Will test it out

Poloflece,Anayar,PWP,Henry Ham,Cosmic Prophet,Wolf,KeithC,Nickydude,Dark Goblin And Lee Bamber is my icon.

Modern Vision Company
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd May 2011
Location: Ask me, maybe I tell you
Posted: 26th Jul 2011 11:26
Sounds nice, It will be good for Role Playing Games
Shakleford
FPSC Reloaded TGC Backer
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Jun 2010
Location: on the flip side
Posted: 26th Jul 2011 19:27
This is an awesome idea for a program. Very original and extremely useful. Just played around with the program a bit, havent actually tried a build yet, I'll let ya know how it goes when I do

I recently learned to sleep with my eyes open. ..... God am I tired
BlackFox
FPSC Master
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th May 2008
Location: Knight to Queens Bishop 3
Posted: 26th Jul 2011 19:44
Now there is some outside-the-box thinking. Good work.

- BlackFox
xplosys
VIP Member
13
Years of Service
Recently Online
Joined: 5th Jan 2006
Playing: FPSC Multiplayer Games
Posted: 26th Jul 2011 20:04
Excellent idea! I also don't have game to test this on but I was playing around with it and ran into a glitch. I clicked to add an image (it wants a BMP) and selected one. The program then told me that the image was not in the FPSC directory and that it had to be. Now it's stuck in a loop and won't let me cancel. When I click cancel it gives me the message again and when I click OK, it want's me to select an image again. I can't even CTRL/ALT/DELETE! I CAN'T CANCEL!

Your code does not take into account the cancel option. Also, I notice that the title of your OpenFileDialog is "Save As" when it should be "Open file" or a more relevant name. Attention to detail.

I'll be watching this.

Brian.

Ched80
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Sep 2010
Location: Peterborough, UK
Posted: 26th Jul 2011 20:56
Thanks for the kind words!

I'll fix that annoying select file loop - it was something i added last minute this morning (slaps forehead).

I'll post a new version when its fixed and when i've added a new feature that will only display locations if they've been visited before.

I'm also going to pack it with some background map HUDs and a few custom scripts.

Thanks again.

s4real
Valued Member
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jul 2006
Location:
Posted: 26th Jul 2011 22:10
Nice work Ched80 def something diffrent to add to your games.

best s4real



Pack ya games with vishnu packer its free.
2Beastmode4u
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Feb 2011
Location: Loading...
Posted: 27th Jul 2011 01:52
Very nice tool, not that I'd expect less.


Cheers.

God help me, Please.
Wraith Staff
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Apr 2007
Location: Hamilton, OH
Posted: 27th Jul 2011 04:35
Cool

New sig in the process of being made
Desecrated Studios
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jan 2011
Location: Kirtona
Posted: 27th Jul 2011 04:52
Can we see any final builds of this? Like it being used in game? Thanks!

Oh, and great idea by the way! This will help a lot of people!

-Josh
Website is under construction
System Specs: AMD Phenom x3 2.2GHz, 4GB DDR2 RAM, 1TB HD, HD Radeon 5770 1GB, 22in Acer Monitor
Ched80
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Sep 2010
Location: Peterborough, UK
Posted: 27th Jul 2011 08:11
Fixed the annoying image file selection loop and posted the download for the new version in the OP. It's now packed with 5 sample map backgrounds (although I haven't tested these).

I'll try and get some screen shots and maybe a vid of the Map in action and post them this evening.

Ched80
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Sep 2010
Location: Peterborough, UK
Posted: 28th Jul 2011 07:49
Didn't manage to get the screenies as I discovered some additional bugs.

All should be fixed in v1.2 availble now.

nathan 24
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jun 2009
Location:
Posted: 31st Jul 2011 12:49
hi sorry to sound naive, but how do you open the map in game? i selected key code and its default is openmap, i was wondering how you type this in?

sorry if i am sounding stupid,
Many thanks
Nathan
Ched80
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Sep 2010
Location: Peterborough, UK
Posted: 31st Jul 2011 13:36
Hi Nathan,
That's not a silly question, it's something I should have accounted for. When you select "Key" instead of "Variable" you need to define which "Key code" you want to trigger the map to appear. So you'll need to replace "OpenMap" with "50" or whatever key code you want. "50" is the key code for "M" by the way.
In the next version I'll make it so that when you select "Key" it automatically changes "OpenMap" to "50".

If you want to change it manually, open up you setuplevel.fpi, find the line "keypressed=OpenMap 1" and change "OpenMap" to "50".

Wraith Staff
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Apr 2007
Location: Hamilton, OH
Posted: 31st Jul 2011 13:47
Am I to understand that if I'm on level 1 and I pull up the map it won't let me go to, say, level 5, but if I'm on level 5, it will let me go to levels 1-5, but not 6 and onward? Then if I jump back to 1 will it still let me go up to 5 but not past that? I sure hope so

New sig in the process of being made
Ched80
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Sep 2010
Location: Peterborough, UK
Posted: 31st Jul 2011 14:00
@Wraith Staff,
Sadly you cannot do what you want with the current version I've released. Currently, if you are on a particular level it will let you travel to all levels, except the level you are on.

I'm currently working on an update that will let you restrict access to levels so that what you have described is possible.

Ched80
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Sep 2010
Location: Peterborough, UK
Posted: 31st Jul 2011 21:27
Just a bump to announce 1.3.

The number of locations has been reduced from 1,000 to 100 due to the introduction of a new location restriction feature. This new feature allows the developer to prevent locations from being accessed unless a custom variable condition is met.

For example, you can limit access to locations, if the player has not visited them before, or has not completed a specific task. Adjustment of the custom variable must be done via additional scripting within the levels themselves.

Ched80
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Sep 2010
Location: Peterborough, UK
Posted: 21st Aug 2011 14:40
Just a little bump to say i've made a short clip of the end result of using Maptastic.

Enjoy.

srealist
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Dec 2010
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posted: 21st Aug 2011 23:51
Wow...this is incredibly cool! I wonder if this might work in x10 or what it would take to make it work. I'll spend some time with it and see.

Very creative...absolutely love this idea.
The Storyteller 01
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th May 2009
Location: On a silent hill in dead space
Posted: 22nd Aug 2011 00:06
It looks very impressive - but it doesn't allow to "reload" levels the player allready visited, or does it?

In case you find my grammar and spelling weird ---> native German speaker ^^
Northern
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Nov 2010
Location: Brazil
Posted: 22nd Aug 2011 00:41
Hello Ched80,


You have done a very good work and useful as well, congratulations.

Cheers.

Northern
Ched80
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Sep 2010
Location: Peterborough, UK
Posted: 22nd Aug 2011 07:45
@srealist, I do have x10 so I not totally sure of the fpi command set or the setuplevel.fpi. As long as x10 has the following script commands it should work:
"nextlevel=", "levelnotequalto=", "levelequalto=", "hudtext=", "hudsize=", "hudfont=", "varequal="

@The Storeyteller 01, if be 'reload' you mean keeping enemies previously killed, killed, then no, this tool will not do that. Entity management, such as this, would need to be done by additional scripts. All this tool does it allow you to load up any level using a map.

@Northern - cheers.

srealist
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Dec 2010
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posted: 22nd Aug 2011 16:33
@Ched80, I will pass these along to Budo and see if he can implement them in a future beta of Mystic Mod.

Thank you!
angusm3
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Mar 2009
Location: Right behind you...
Posted: 16th Sep 2011 17:36 Edited at: 16th Sep 2011 17:37
this is not working, it does not show the mapback and it does not go to any other levels when I click on them.
Do you know what I am doing wrong?

I appear to have burst into flames...
KeithC
Senior Moderator
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Oct 2005
Location: Michigan
Posted: 16th Sep 2011 19:15
Looks very nice!

-Keith

Ched80
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Sep 2010
Location: Peterborough, UK
Posted: 16th Sep 2011 19:23
@Keith, Cheers.

@angusm3, could you send me your modified setuplevel.fpi so i can check it?

X Games
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th May 2007
Location: World Wide Web
Posted: 16th Sep 2011 21:04
This is a great very useful idea

FPSX Gameshttp://www.fps-x-games.com
FPSCREATOR INFOhttp://fpscreator.info
Win7 Ultimate 64Bit, AMD PhenomII X4 965 3.4GHz, GeForce GTX 280 1GB, 8GB DDR2 RAM
angusm3
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Mar 2009
Location: Right behind you...
Posted: 17th Sep 2011 01:23
okay, here you go ched:


I appear to have burst into flames...
Kilgore
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Feb 2008
Location: Chad Valley
Posted: 17th Sep 2011 18:36
Great idea and opens up more gameplay alternatives.
Ched80
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Sep 2010
Location: Peterborough, UK
Posted: 18th Sep 2011 21:56
@angusm3, it looks like you've got 2 sets of MAP HUDs in your setup file. Try deleting the old set of HUDs.

I'm guessing you tested one build game, then went back to Maptastic and changed somethings? Maptastic currently doesn't check the setup file to see if it's been altered already. I'll work on improving the code so that previously altered setup files doen't cause problems.

Defy
FPSC BOTB Developer
VBOTB Developer '09
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Aug 2007
Location:
Posted: 19th Sep 2011 14:09
Congrats on the nice work. Watched the video and was impressed.
Ched80
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Sep 2010
Location: Peterborough, UK
Posted: 19th Sep 2011 15:09
@X Games, Kilgore and Defy - Thanks.

Bestorio
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Oct 2009
Location:
Posted: 19th Sep 2011 19:10
Looks cool!

btw. what's that song? i can't get it out of my head

Ched80
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Sep 2010
Location: Peterborough, UK
Posted: 19th Sep 2011 21:19
@Bestorio, it's "Over and Over" by "Hot Chip" - glad you like it.

0Alemar0
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2007
Location:
Posted: 20th Sep 2011 00:54
Ched
This is a fantastic tool.Really great job!
Can I use this in my project?
Alemar
Ched80
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Sep 2010
Location: Peterborough, UK
Posted: 20th Sep 2011 07:45
@0Alemar0, thanks and of course you can use it - there are no restrictions for this tool, you can use it on whatever you like.

Johnski
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Dec 2009
Location: Norfolk, UK
Posted: 21st Sep 2011 15:44
This is perfect for my upcoming game!

[img][[/img]
Wicked Blood Gaming
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Jun 2010
Location: Colorado
Posted: 23rd Sep 2011 23:11
Hello Ched! When I try opening maptastic,it says, something along the lines of (looking for roxio creator starter)
Ched80
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Sep 2010
Location: Peterborough, UK
Posted: 25th Sep 2011 12:59
@Wicked Blood Gaming, that's an odd one, the program should be self contained - what OS are you running?

Bestorio
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Oct 2009
Location:
Posted: 25th Sep 2011 13:07 Edited at: 26th Sep 2011 15:50
offtopic

Ched80, i'm from Finland and i think that the singer says "leipää"
Which is "Bread" in finnish -> that is why i was confused...

Actually i think they say "laid back" not sure...

Wicked Blood Gaming
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Jun 2010
Location: Colorado
Posted: 26th Sep 2011 00:13
I'm running Windows 7 64bit
Wicked Blood Gaming
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Jun 2010
Location: Colorado
Posted: 26th Sep 2011 00:14
I'm running widows 7 64bit
Ched80
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Sep 2010
Location: Peterborough, UK
Posted: 29th Sep 2011 09:03
@WBG, that is very strange - I'm running W7-64bit and it works fine - Have you tried re-downloading it? Failing that I can only think that you may need some of the VB files that I have.

KeithC
Senior Moderator
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Oct 2005
Location: Michigan
Posted: 29th Sep 2011 17:13
Added to the 3rd-Party Tools list in the Master Sticky. Nice work!

-Keith

sic1ne
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Sep 2010
Location:
Posted: 10th Oct 2011 06:32
@ ched can u make a small tutorial to help me get started i installed maptastic but kinda dont understand exactly what to do? at the menus that would be so helpfull!!

Ched80
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Sep 2010
Location: Peterborough, UK
Posted: 10th Oct 2011 10:41
@sic1ne, sure a UM would be useful for everyone - I'll get on to it.

sic1ne
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Sep 2010
Location:
Posted: 11th Oct 2011 11:37
@ ched thanks dude this is an awsome app!!!!!!!

Wheatleyy
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Jan 2011
Location: Look to your right...
Posted: 12th Oct 2011 00:55
Yet again great work ched! I presume this took a bit of fpi scripting in fpsc?

TheVoxyn
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Sep 2011
Location:
Posted: 12th Oct 2011 07:32
Ched, this is awesome. I'm going to find a way to work this into a game, somehow. It's too cool to not use! Very, very nice.

THIS IS A SIGNATURE. I swear.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-08-23 15:30:07
Your offset time is: 2019-08-23 15:30:07