Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / From Blitz to here

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
I hold my hands up I code in Blitz3D/Max , I have dabbled with DarkBasic and FPS as well. I am only a hobby coder by the way, dozens of half made games etc.

I have pre-ordered AppGameKit because it looks intresting. After having a quick look at the docs I know I have made the right decision. The docs look good with some nice examples, commands explained etc.

I was wondering if anyone could point out any things to watch out for coming from a Blitz background.
Jimmy 9Toes
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 5th Aug 2011 02:30 Edited at: 5th Aug 2011 02:32
I'm in the same boat. I own all of the brl programming languages, have written TONS of partially written games. I just don't have the time to commit to game dev. I do have some of my games showcased on my partially finished web site.

http://www.coderlaureate.net

Yes THEE Jimmy9Toes
Josk
Years of Service
User Offline
I had a look at your website, it looks like some of your games got further than mine

Cant wait to get my hands on AppGameKit, I'm a bit dissapointed we have to wait for Andoid support, but I prefer them to bring it out on limited platforms first and do it right than try for every platform and it not work.
DVader
Years of Service
User Offline
I have used the original Blitz Basic on the Amiga and also on the Blitz 3D on the PC. I always found them more difficult to get to grips with than rivals, AMOS on the Amiga, and Dark Basic on the PC. Going from blitz to a more DB like environment should be fairly easy.