Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / Getting started with AGK

Author
Message
Mike Johnson
TGC Developer
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Sep 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 15th Aug 2011 18:06 Edited at: 15th Aug 2011 18:09
A video made by Ravey:

Nickydude
Retired Moderator
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Nov 2006
Location: Look outside...
Posted: 15th Aug 2011 18:27
Nice.

I reject your reality and substitute my own...
Trisect Development
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2002
Location: Denmark
Posted: 17th Aug 2011 15:57
Some tutorials would be nice.
And maybe even a tutorial section on the forum.

I'm thinking like some getting started tutorials: Show background with menu buttons, how to make a game loop e.t.c.

Just small tutorials to get you started.

Your favorite links anywhere right hereThe Webber Index
Nickydude
Retired Moderator
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Nov 2006
Location: Look outside...
Posted: 17th Aug 2011 16:01
Quote: "Some tutorials would be nice."


http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=188244&b=41.

I reject your reality and substitute my own...
whuang7038
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Aug 2011
Location:
Posted: 30th Aug 2011 02:16
Is there command in AppGameKit for drawing a simple lines, circles boxes or any other geometric shapes. I can't seem to find it. Seems most of the commands are sprite based.
Bursar
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Sep 2008
Location:
Posted: 30th Aug 2011 09:51
No, there's not. You could fake it by creating a 1x1 pixel image, using it as a sprite, and then creating some functions to draw the shapes you need.
Rich Dersheimer
AGK Developer
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Jul 2009
Location: Inside the box
Posted: 30th Aug 2011 10:55
Circles would be hard, but here's a single line drawing function...



Butter fingers
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Mar 2006
Location: Mecca
Posted: 30th Aug 2011 14:57
"Sprites are always exciting"

LOL

Sleep is over-rated.
Impetus73
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Aug 2011
Location: Volda, Norway
Posted: 30th Aug 2011 23:11
Just a thought.

What if you take the 1x1 pixel sprite, and stretch it on the X axis, (if that is possible), then you get a line. Then you rotate the sprite, to get non horisontal or vertical lines. You would have to make a fuction to calculate the x and y pos for the start and end of that line, to make it go from where you want it to start to where you want it to end, and use it to draw lines that takes only 1 sprite each ?

----------------
AGK user - novice
Did Amiga / AMOS programming in the 90's, just started programming again with AGK.
Impetus73
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Aug 2011
Location: Volda, Norway
Posted: 30th Aug 2011 23:17
ops... never mind my last post, haha, I actually suggested the same as Rich, I did not read his Code Snippet, before i posted.. oh well, good to know I were thinking the same way

----------------
AGK user - novice
Did Amiga / AMOS programming in the 90's, just started programming again with AGK.
jonaSoft
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2011
Location:
Posted: 31st Aug 2011 19:34
It might be possible to leave time / Getting started with AppGameKit to Natiuve c + + with Meego, Bada, mac, ios.
halley
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Apr 2011
Location: China
Posted: 8th Sep 2011 13:25
I can't see the movie. what a pit!

give my best
m2design
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Mar 2010
Location: Seattle area
Posted: 9th Sep 2011 08:43
I don't know if this is the right thread for this question but here goes... working on a cribbage game in AppGameKit on computer 1 and every thing is working well - but I can only run the program in the AppGameKit editor. I have tried all three compile commands but do not get a stand alone exe file. I want an exe file that I can drag to my desktop and then be able to run the the program out side of AppGameKit on the same computer 1 with out activating AGK. What am I missing? The qustion boils down to does AppGameKit ever create a stand alone exe file on computer 1 and if so where is it stored?
Thanks for any help!
Josk
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Apr 2008
Location:
Posted: 9th Sep 2011 10:49
One is made and put in your project folder. You can then run the game from there.
m2design
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Mar 2010
Location: Seattle area
Posted: 9th Sep 2011 19:11
This means it can only be run from the folder?
This means I can not run the exe file from my desktop?

Does this mean I can not copy the exe file from computer 1
to computer 2 desktop and run the program on computer 2 which
does not have AppGameKit installed.
Rich Dersheimer
AGK Developer
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Jul 2009
Location: Inside the box
Posted: 9th Sep 2011 21:26
Quote: "This means it can only be run from the folder?
This means I can not run the exe file from my desktop?

Does this mean I can not copy the exe file from computer 1
to computer 2 desktop and run the program on computer 2 which
does not have AppGameKit installed. "


No, that is exactly NOT what it means.

On a Windows computer, you can either compile the AppGameKit BASIC code, or compile your C++ code.

Either way, you can put the .exe file on whatever computer you like.

You just have to remember to put the other files along with your .exe file.

For the BASIC version, you must have the media AND the bytecode file inside the media folder, and the media folder must be in the same location as the .exe file.

For the C++ version, you don't need a bytecode file, just the .exe file, and whatever media your program uses.

I'm not 100% sure, but I don't think the C++ version requires the media folder, just the media.

Bursar
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Sep 2008
Location:
Posted: 9th Sep 2011 21:36
For Tier 1 you'll also need the setup.agc file as well, otherwise your app will run in an odd sized window.
Rich Dersheimer
AGK Developer
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Jul 2009
Location: Inside the box
Posted: 9th Sep 2011 21:42
Bursar - oops, yeah, I forgot about that file. That IS an odd sized window.

xGEKKOx
AGK Master
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2008
Location: Italy
Posted: 18th Sep 2011 20:35
Where i can choose which version to buy and how to install on Mac?
Thx.

The Power System Developer - Street Karate Fighter Developer
Funnell7
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2011
Location: UK, England
Posted: 19th Sep 2011 01:40
@Gekko, ha, so you to have stumbled across this SDK... Its Funnell7 here, was a member of the previous SDK you was with... Have you messed about with the Trial yet? I've successfully ported BoxShot to AppGameKit and its sooo simple, I am amazed how much more advanced AppGameKit is... Hows Street Karate Fighter Going?
MikeHart
AGK Bronze Backer
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jun 2003
Location:
Posted: 19th Sep 2011 06:52
There is only one version and that includes tier1 and tier2. You get tier1 for windows and tier2 for Osx and windows. The installer on osx is self explaining and will give you the xcode libs and templates. There is no tier1 dev environment for osx.
xGEKKOx
AGK Master
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2008
Location: Italy
Posted: 19th Sep 2011 17:37
Thx boys.
Hi Funnell, the game goes good.
I bought a mac mini and wanna buy AGK... With the money from street karate fighter
I'm an old Dark Basic and DGDK in c++ coder but i never used a Mac ahuahua, so i get fear!!!
Thx all for the help.

The Power System Developer - Street Karate Fighter Developer
halley
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Apr 2011
Location: China
Posted: 25th Sep 2011 06:15
In China, I can't see the video.
It's a pity.

give my best
Red Eye
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Oct 2008
Location:
Posted: 4th Oct 2011 11:45
Great video, helped me out!

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-04-19 10:37:34
Your offset time is: 2024-04-19 10:37:34