Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / Need help with moving and jumping my sprite

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 12th Sep 2011 19:50 Edited at: 12th Sep 2011 19:51
Hi Guys, I'm very new to programming and I have been working through Daniel TGC's video tutorial for scribble squash and it has helped me understand a lot about program flow, variables and other basic stuff.

I'm doing a few things myself just to see how I get on without help but because I'm very new to programming I have ran into a few things that I need help understanding, I'm not looking for someone to code things for me, just maybe give me an example or two to study or explain how I would go about doing this. I'm trying to move the ball with a joystick in my program (which I have attached to this post)

All I want it to do is move left, right and jump using the controls in the program.

Please understand that I might not have a clue what your talking about but I will be very greatful with any help you can give me as I'm totally lost and the help files don't really explain it that well for me.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Rich Dersheimer
AGK Developer
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 12th Sep 2011 20:55
So, you're using physics. You've got a few different ways to move objects around.

1 - Gravity. Probably not a good choice, since gravity is what makes the ball fall down in the first place.

2 - World Force. Again, not a good choice if you just want to move the ball, and not the other objects.

3 - Set the velocity of the ball. Better, but still not the best. The ball will keep whatever velocity you assign it, minus gravity, friction, and damping.