Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Program Announcements / "Which" - Revisited and unlocked

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 28th Sep 2011 14:08 Edited at: 28th Sep 2011 17:41
Let me start by saying I have no experience on this site, or with DarkBASIC in general, but I do know just enough to get into trouble, so I apologize ahead of time to the moderator who will probably move this post into the proper sub-forum or delete it outright. I registered a few hours ago because I've spent a sleepless night hammering out a couple of annoyances I was having with a scary, short adventure called Which.

I know that front-ends can be a boring pain to write and test, and I understand that to most designers, showing off their awesome game as soon as possible is usually the top priority, and though that can be a good thing, I just couldn't play this game at its compulsory 800x600, staring down half each of two different frames the entire time. It's a good looking game, and it was aggravating to be unable to get a good look at it, so I took a hex editor to the executables, and I'm going to share what I figured out. Hopefully, now everyone can [re]play it at resolutions up to, and at the limit of their hardware, without any mandatory screen tearing, and without bothering Which's creator.