Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / How to Increase Sprite Velocity?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hi all,

Newbie here so bear with me Coding in Tier 1.

Does anyone know how to increase the velocity of a sprite by the amount of force from another sprite? Basically I have a paddle (1st sprite) controlled by the player via the mouse that hits a ball (2nd sprite). I want the ball to move faster based on how hard the paddle hits it, so the faster the player moves the mouse the faster the ball will move once contact is made. I have this done to the point where the ball will bounce off the paddle but I can only get it to move by the same amount each time, it doesn't matter how "hard" it gets hit.

I'm using damping to slow it down after it's hit and I have mass values set as well as restitution for both sprites. I've tried SetSpritePhysicsVelocity as well as SetSpritePhysicsForce but I can only get the velocity command to move the ball. Otherwise I just push it around with the paddle.

Any advice at all would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!
baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 3rd Oct 2011 19:14
Quote: "I'm using damping to slow it down after it's hit"

This could be your problem. Since you're using physics sprites anyway you don't need to calculate this kind of stuff. Turn the damping off or right down to nothing and you should see a huge improvement.

Just add forces to the paddle or control its position and angle and let the ball get hit by it, it should react as expected.

That would be my advice

JHA
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 4th Oct 2011 00:02 Edited at: 4th Oct 2011 00:03