Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

3 Dimensional Chat / Programmer trying 3d modeling

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
So I've been using C++ for about 2 years now and I've been playing around with Dark GDk for a couple months. I want to be able to make a game completely myself. So the only thing I'm missing is the modeling and texturing aspect.

I was wondering what 3d modeling programs would be acceptable for a beginner like me to start on. I've looked at unity 3d and it looks great for creating terrains, but i also want to be able to make my own
buildings and have some sort of control over the customization of my characters.
Travis Gatlin
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 24th Oct 2011 16:16
Unity 3D is a full on game engine, a great one at that, but the terrains it produces are only compatible with unity.

But to answer your question:
There are no real "easy" modeling programs, there is a massive challenge to all of them, but for a beginner there are things like

Wings 3D, which i have never used but i heard it's quite suitable for beginners.

Blender 3D, A lot more advanced than Wings, has tons of more features, but is much, much harder to deal with

3DS Max (student edition) More advanced than Blender, no commercial use, harder to obtain, but in my opinion, has a bad interface, but some may disagree.

Truespace, Free, but that's all i really know about it

Anim8or, Free but it may not be worth it.

Google Sketchup, Free, but definitely hard to make more organic shapes with curves.

There's a good list of 3D modeling softwares, but only you can decide which ones fit you most, I personally use Blender 3D but everyone has different preferences.

http://awolthehunted.blogspot.com/