Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / Can't compile iOS template, samples with 1054 & XCode 4.2

Author
Message
G T R
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Apr 2005
Location: Dubai, UAE
Posted: 4th Nov 2011 23:25 Edited at: 4th Nov 2011 23:26
whenever I try to compile apps for simulator, I get this error:

I am running Lion, and using XCode 4.2 with iOS 5 SDK
This is only happening with iOS template and samples, while mac works perfectly.



I'm back
G T R
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Apr 2005
Location: Dubai, UAE
Posted: 8th Nov 2011 00:06 Edited at: 8th Nov 2011 04:16
I still can't compile with version 1054 so I went back to the older version (consider this a bump).

And I have another question for the sake of understanding C++ and Objective C, when I add #include "agk.h" in a new header I get tons of errors, I think because its trying to compile ObjC linked code as C++, so I changed the extension of my "cpp" to "mm" (mixed C++ & ObjC) and now it compiles.

The thing is that template.cpp isn't having that problem, so am I missing anything?

I'm back
halley
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Apr 2011
Location: China
Posted: 8th Nov 2011 04:26
Yes , you were missing something.
You should change the format of .cpp file. I met this problem in the past. You don't need to change file extension. just change the file format, in the Identity and Type view .

give my best
LeeBamber
TGC Lead Developer
24
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Jan 2000
Location: England
Posted: 12th Nov 2011 00:02
The 1054 introduced a few nasty little dependencies that you won't be able to get around. The 106 build will solve these and be backed by a considerable amount of internal testing to make sure such a bug does not escape the net again.

I drink tea, and in my spare time I write software.
halley
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Apr 2011
Location: China
Posted: 12th Nov 2011 04:19
I like AppGameKit more.

It's excellent and become more excellent.

give my best
G T R
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Apr 2005
Location: Dubai, UAE
Posted: 13th Nov 2011 00:05 Edited at: 13th Nov 2011 00:44
@Lee:
yup I can imagine how hard it is to maintain deferent platforms and IDEs at the same time, is it fixed in the current windows beta?

@halley:
I think you meant to change the file type to Objective C++ source, its just the same as using .mm extension where Xcode automatically knows that, but thanks for the tip I didn't notice it that!

I didn't understand what you meant by AppGameKit is better ... I do think AppGameKit is better than any engine out there I am sure it will surpass every other engine in popularity like corona when quality games start to pop up.

I'm back
bjadams
AGK Backer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Mar 2008
Location:
Posted: 13th Nov 2011 09:43
Whilst AppGameKit is good at the current status, it's a bit of an overstatement to say that its the best engine already! Most other engines are feature rich and very mature. AppGameKit is still in its beginnings and only has the very basic set of commands.

On the other hand most other engines have a big development team so they can roll out new commands and fixes very fast too.
G T R
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Apr 2005
Location: Dubai, UAE
Posted: 15th Nov 2011 18:54
yup it is an overstatement, but I tried many C++ engines, nothing was straightforward as AppGameKit, its perfect for an ADD person like me, I was able to write a tile map engine in one night, not mentioning that I am very new to C++

its a matter of opinion, I like to jump to logic rather than spending ages trying to figure out how to render a box, and with AppGameKit I don't have to read tons of pages ... everything explains itself ... the C++ commands I used to render maps isn't even documented yet I had no trouble figuring it out.

And playing with the Basic editor for a bit, I don't think there's anything better for prototyping, for example corona comes with no editor and you'll have to buy a 3rd party editor to conveniently write code, also you'll have to buy two licences for iOS and Android and just one of them will costs 199$ while I payed 70$ for AGK.

I am just waiting for C++ support for android, by then it will be complete for me.

I'm back
Sharisu
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Nov 2011
Location: BY, Minsk
Posted: 5th Jan 2012 22:22
Sorry, I just started using XCode and cannot figure out how to solve this problem. Could you explain more?
I have the same error.
Ancient Lady
Valued Member
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 29th Feb 2012 19:39 Edited at: 29th Feb 2012 19:56
First, the 106 build for Windows is out already. When will the 106 build for the Mac come out?

In my 'My Products' page, it shows that 'App Game Kit - Mac - v1054' was built in October.

Are they still working on the 106 build? Or is it being sidelined for now?

Next, I am also with XCode 4 on a Mac Mini and have/had the same problem while trying to compile a sample project: {agk}/Projects/Native/iOS/projects/Box2D - Box2D.

({agk} is the path to where I put the AppGameKit Mac stuff.)

Aside from the relative path issues, I'm 99.9999% sure that the issue is the spaces in the names of the directories (and probably some of the files).

A Mac's core OS is basically linux-like. Linux/Unix systems really do NOT like spaces in file/path names.

Here's what I tried:


It looks like something just isn't in the built library, yet.

I hope the 106 build comes soon so that I can build and test in all my platforms.

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
Ancient Lady
Valued Member
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 29th Feb 2012 19:43 Edited at: 29th Feb 2012 21:00
Okay, it was not an issue with spaces in the path at all.

But it is still a link isue for "AGK::agk:latformDestroyGL()".

And the files really should be consistent in the case used for include lines. I found both 'include "AGK.h"' and 'include "agk.h"'.

In theory, if XCode were case sensitive, the first instance would not work.

Cheers,
Ancient Lady

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
bjadams
AGK Backer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Mar 2008
Location:
Posted: 29th Feb 2012 20:54
Ancient lady, download the pc version, and copy the relevant files over to mac.
that's what i do all the time
Ancient Lady
Valued Member
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 29th Feb 2012 21:14
Amazing!

Thank you bjadams!

It never occurred to me that that would work.

Even the smartest programmer can be really dumb! And I've been doing this for about 35 years.

I love learning to work with new stuff.

Cheers and thank you again!

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
Ancient Lady
Valued Member
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 29th Feb 2012 22:25
And I just got the Tier 1 app that I've started on running on my iPod Touch!

Life is sweet right now.

I've been using TGC products for more than 10 years and really do appreciate what they do.

I've been able to test my development on my husbands Vizio Android tablet.

Now I can do it for iOS apps.

Tomorrow I'll get brave and see if I can get the app to work as a straight Mac app.

Have a good midweek everyone!

Cheers,
Ancient Lady

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-11-23 04:55:05
Your offset time is: 2024-11-23 04:55:05