Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / Android Screen Size

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
What's the best virtual resolution to use when designing a game for the Android? I have a Droid Bionic. The last game I created I used 480x320 and I had some space on the sized. I didn't want to guess. Does anyone know the exact size? Are they different for different Android phones?
DVader
Years of Service
User Offline
I'm no expert, but I imagine there are various resolutions on android devices. Screen size will be one factor for this, and newer versions of the OS will support various resolutions as they emerge. I should imagine you could search the specs of your phone to find out it's exact res.

Mobiius
Valued Member
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 8th Dec 2011 15:49
I'd use the 100x100 virtual resolution, and the setscreenaspect command to ensure it fits correctly. Thats what I do in my 3 released games and it works fine. I also discovered that the iPhone resolution is a great midpoint between the various mobile resolutions and would suggest basing games on that. (Even though I hate iphones. )

So, when developing, set the setup.agc file to run a resolution of 480x320, with a virtual resolution of 100x100 and the setdeviceaspect command to fill the screen. The setup.agc file isn't used on the devices so your app will automatically run fullscreen, and scaled correctly.

My signature is NOT a moderator plaything! Stop changing it!
Marl
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 8th Dec 2011 21:35 Edited at: 8th Dec 2011 21:36
I prefer to take the other approach and work to the resolution of the device.