Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPSC Classic Showcase / Outbreak (Top Down Shooter) Entry - DTO Competition 2011

Author
Message
Kravenwolf
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Apr 2009
Location: Silent Hill
Posted: 8th Dec 2011 07:42 Edited at: 2nd Sep 2012 07:24
Outbreak (Top Down Shooter) Entry - DTO Competition 2011

Developers
Hockeykid
Kravenwolf







Story
Kevin Arkely, established officer and newly assigned member of Task Force 341 is dispatched along with his team to help contain a bioterrorism viral outbreak in an undisclosed city location. Arkelay's team's operation is to secure their assigned grid perimeters within the city by neutralizing all infected with the area. Once the entire city is secure by the various Task Force Teams operating along the island, sterilization teams can move in to contain the virus from reaching outside territories.








Download Updated 06.20.12
[/b]http://www.gamefront.com/files/21872263/Outbreak.rar





Kravenwolf

Joe Staff
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2011
Location: Midsouth, USA
Posted: 8th Dec 2011 09:27
Game crashes immediately upon start up

Video looks great either way. Nearly half a gig in size, that's pretty impressive!
TheK
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Mar 2007
Location: Germany
Posted: 8th Dec 2011 11:16
Email with my review sent.

Greetings,
Jan


Skype name: thek491
The Zoq2
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Nov 2009
Location: Linköping, Sweden
Posted: 8th Dec 2011 21:08
Quote: "Game crashes immediately upon start up"


I have the same problem, I look in my current processes in the task manager and for 5 seconds after startup outbreak.exe is there then it goes away mysteriously I want to play this so badly!!!
Hockeykid
DBPro Tool Maker
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Sep 2007
Location:
Posted: 8th Dec 2011 21:27
Quote: "Game crashes immediately upon start up"


Are you getting any sort of error message?

The Zoq2
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Nov 2009
Location: Linköping, Sweden
Posted: 8th Dec 2011 21:40
No, nothing shows up on the screen the only sign of the game is the Process and Windows asking if I want to run the game...
Joe Staff
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2011
Location: Midsouth, USA
Posted: 8th Dec 2011 23:52
Should mention my setup, I suppose.

Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
AMD Phenom II X4 955 (black edition) (4@3.2ghz)
nVidia GeForce 480 GTX
8GB DDR3-1600 RAM
Brendy boy
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Jul 2005
Location: Croatia
Posted: 9th Dec 2011 05:11
it works for me

great game, rotation of the character is a little to fast though and when i'm close to the building, the building block the view so i don't see where's my character looking at and that got me killed

Hockeykid
DBPro Tool Maker
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Sep 2007
Location:
Posted: 9th Dec 2011 05:59
@ Joe Staff and The Zoq2

Mind downloading the attached .rar, extract its contents and place them into the same folder as the "Outbreak.exe".

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Kravenwolf
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Apr 2009
Location: Silent Hill
Posted: 9th Dec 2011 06:38 Edited at: 9th Dec 2011 06:39
Hi guys. Fixed the V1.1 patch download, as the files for the FILES tab on the main menu were left out in the original download. The new patch can be downloaded here;

Outbreak V1.1 Patch, <4MB from Megaupload


And here is a look at what this patch adds to the main game menu:






Kravenwolf

The Zoq2
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Nov 2009
Location: Linköping, Sweden
Posted: 9th Dec 2011 15:45 Edited at: 9th Dec 2011 19:24
Quote: "Mind downloading the attached .rar, extract its contents and place them into the same folder as the "Outbreak.exe"."


It woorks!

EDIT:

After playing for about an hour, here is a short review

Gameplay: 8/10
The basic gameplay is realy fun, the fact that it is an endless game (I think ) makes the replay value high! And the gameplay is very inovative for FPSC wich makes it awsome to. The 2 things that drag the score down though is that I don't realy like the controlls, they take a while to get used to and even when you are used to them it's hard to aim. The other thing is the lack of guns, the handgun get's boring after a while, and when you finaly get the carepackage with the M4/commando I can't find a whay to replenish it's ammo and after a few minutes youre back with the handgun again. I realy like that you have to stand still when reloading, it adds a new challenge to the gameplay

One way to sovle that would be to add more guns (Wich im guessing you will do for the final release) and make the carepackages more frequent.

Graphics: 9/10
I realy like the graphic style, as I do with most of kravenwofs projects but there are some minor bugs wich drag them dow a bit. For example, when you are far away from the newspapers on the ground they are black but when you get closer they don't fade to white, they turn white Way to fast. It may be the flashlight thoug

An other bug is the lights at a ditance, At the "top" of the map there is a green light, when you get close to it, the intensity jumps up and it changes colore. Over all though, the graphics look amazing!

Sound: 7/10
The sound is realy cool, but the sound at the loadingscreen is REALY hard to hear what they are saying. The tango down sound that plays each time you kill a zombie, you shuld only play it sometimes and not each kill. It's still better than most fpsc projects!


Overall: 8/10

The game is awsome, better than most FPSC games IMO, but like I said it gets repedative. Awsome work kraven and hockeykid

Bugs
There are some minor bugs
1. The second time I played, I got killed and returned to the main menu, but when I restarted, I didn't have any guns or animations.
2. Some lightning bugs
3. You are able to run out of ammo and not get new ammo, If you shoot your bullets to fast, faster than the zombies drop, there is no way to get new.
4. Sometimes dead bodies are in the way of your shots
6. Not a bug but it's hard to see where the bullets hit when you miss a zombie.

Anyway Like I said this is a great game, you make a great team!
Bootlicker
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posted: 9th Dec 2011 17:58
im running on xp and it comes up with the 'outbreak has encountered a problem and needs to close' every single time. with them .dll's in the same folder as the exe. weird. :\



Hockeykid
DBPro Tool Maker
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Sep 2007
Location:
Posted: 9th Dec 2011 20:20 Edited at: 9th Dec 2011 20:21
Quote: "im running on xp and it comes up with the 'outbreak has encountered a problem and needs to close' every single time. with them .dll's in the same folder as the exe. weird. :\"

Have you tried this solution yet?

http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=192161&b=35&msg=2291166#m2291166

Joe Staff
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2011
Location: Midsouth, USA
Posted: 9th Dec 2011 21:30
The.DLLs that HockeyKid provided fixed the problem. I didn't download the v1.1 patch, but based on the pictures, a better word for "files" might be "intel" (just saying)

Fun game, in the full version I would suggest a tutorial like introduction to the game, maybe something like a training ground before the outbreak begins.

I did have an issue with a zombie standing in a corner, couldn't hurt him but he didn't move at all or attack. An 'invisible' zombie was next to him, showed on radar but that was it.


As others mentioned, the aim controls are a little hard to get used to. I would suggest using the mouse cursor for aiming, but the difficulty of the controls might just be something you are more into.
Kravenwolf
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Apr 2009
Location: Silent Hill
Posted: 9th Dec 2011 23:55 Edited at: 10th Dec 2011 00:05
@The Zoq2, thanks a lot for the review, buddy. It really helps a lot. Hockeykid and I just made another quick patch based on some of the issues/concerns you and Joe brought up. You can find the download for the V1.2 patch below.

Quote: "The basic gameplay is realy fun, the fact that it is an endless game (I think ) makes the replay value high!"


After 15 minutes, command will radio in, telling you the extraction chopper is waiting at the extraction point marked on your radar. At that point, you can either move to the extraction to complete the demo, or stay and keep killing zombies till your heart's content

Though, the radar radius is admittingly restricted, so you have to be within range in order for the area to display, but the extraction area is located in the southeast perimeter of your map in area 2;




V1.2 Patch Available here:
Outbreak V1.2 Patch, 10MB from Megaupload


Fixes/Additions:

Included .dlls to fix previous crash error for some users.
Increased audio sound file on loading page by 5 decibles.
Changed/lowered probability of audio play file on enemy death ("Tango Down, etc.").
Added M4 ammo replinishes to probability when killing an enemy.
Added M4 ammo pickup HUD when killing an enemy.
Increased ally's health to 300.
Changed FILES tab name to INTEL on main menu.
Added 'GAME PAUSED' HUD to ESCAPE menu in-game.


@Everyone else, you can adjust the mouse/look speed sensitivity in the setup.ini under the command mousesensitivity = 100. The lower the value, the slower your character will rotate.


Kravenwolf

Bootlicker
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posted: 9th Dec 2011 23:58
Quote: "Have you tried this solution yet?
"


yes.



Joe Staff
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2011
Location: Midsouth, USA
Posted: 10th Dec 2011 02:04 Edited at: 10th Dec 2011 20:11
[QUOTe]Though, the radar radius is admittingly restricted, so you have to be within range in order for the area to display, but the extraction area is located in the southeast perimeter of your map in area 2;[/quote]

Might I suggest a "Primary Objective" marker that always points in the direction if objective is outside of radar's parameter?
Might help confused players.


Love the game so far!
The Zoq2
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Nov 2009
Location: Linköping, Sweden
Posted: 10th Dec 2011 10:45
I like the aditions to the patch!


I just noticed that I have missed "area 4" completley. So i got the TRV now and IMO it's a bit OP, while it was there I allmost didn't manage to get a single kill.

After playing for some time i got this error though
Fuzz
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Nov 2006
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Posted: 11th Dec 2011 05:42
This is really awesome guys but the aiming and movement made it almost unplayable

darimc
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Jan 2007
Location: Canada
Posted: 11th Dec 2011 17:57
No matter what patch I use, when I try to open the game, it just says that it has experienced an error and won't start. I was really looking forward to playing this.

Chazene
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd May 2011
Location: Kansas
Posted: 11th Dec 2011 19:18
when is the full version coming out?

Charlie "Chuckles" "Chazene"
Hockeykid
DBPro Tool Maker
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Sep 2007
Location:
Posted: 12th Dec 2011 02:09
Quote: "No matter what patch I use, when I try to open the game, it just says that it has experienced an error and won't start. I was really looking forward to playing this."


Can you please post the "FPSC-Game" log file that was produced?

Sean

Bootlicker
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posted: 12th Dec 2011 16:07
exact same thing as me.



Soviet176
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Sep 2009
Location: Volgograd
Posted: 12th Dec 2011 20:36
Quote: "No matter what patch I use, when I try to open the game, it just says that it has experienced an error and won't start. I was really looking forward to playing this."


What is the error your getting exactly? Is is during loading? or is it just when you first run the game? Make sure your DX is updated, also make sure your graphics drivers are updated. Run the game as administrator, is it a texture crash? like eai/m249.dds cannot be loaded? Sounds like you don't have sufficient ram available. Even if you have 4GB if 1.5 is being used and the game uses 1.7 then you will crash.

Also make sure to remember that if you have 4GB or more of ram and you are running a 32bit OS you will have problems, as the OS cannot allocate sufficient memory to the program. Also try turning off Anti-Virus systems. As they tend to nomnom on your 0's and 1's


Clonkex
Forum Vice President
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th May 2010
Location: Northern Tablelands, NSW, Australia
Posted: 13th Dec 2011 01:46
@Soviet176:

Talk about techno jargon! Most people that trying this game probably won't understand a lot of what you're saying. Try to explain in lay terms.

@Kravenwolf/hockeykid:

How the heck did you do this with FPSC?! Not that I've played it yet, but FPSC's source code is so complicated and messy that I don't know how anyone ever makes mods of it!

Will play it as soon as I get time to download it

Clonkex

Defy
FPSC BOTB Developer
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Aug 2007
Location:
Posted: 13th Dec 2011 11:22
Following on from what Soviet176 said above. I also ran into a error apon loading the exe. With a windows has stopped error.
After some help from Hockeykid, I did as follows and was able to get it running.

1. Re-update/download Direct X package (9/10 included)
2. Re-update/download .Net Framework 4
3. Re-update/download drivers for gpx card.

(my ATI card drivers were up to date, with catalyst. However after going to the AMD/ATI driver download site, I found a new AMD/ATI Catalyst version update released recently this year for my version of card, the download updated my Catalyst and Driver set. After installing the game ran. This may also be the case for Nvidia users, I suggest check their site, not just software installed driver update).

Hope this helps anyone. First time I have ran into a problem like this with a fpsc game x9 or x10. If nothing works, post your finds here for Kravenwolf and Hockeykid.
Defy.
darimc
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Jan 2007
Location: Canada
Posted: 13th Dec 2011 13:26
Quote: "What is the error your getting exactly? Is is during loading? or is it just when you first run the game? Make sure your DX is updated, also make sure your graphics drivers are updated. Run the game as administrator, is it a texture crash? like eai/m249.dds cannot be loaded? Sounds like you don't have sufficient ram available. Even if you have 4GB if 1.5 is being used and the game uses 1.7 then you will crash.

Also make sure to remember that if you have 4GB or more of ram and you are running a 32bit OS you will have problems, as the OS cannot allocate sufficient memory to the program. Also try turning off Anti-Virus systems. As they tend to nomnom on your 0's and 1's"
It just says that there is an error as soon as I click on the icon, no information. I will see if I can update direct x and my drivers, though. And, I definitely have sufficient ram, and have never experienced this problem before with FPSC games. If updating direct x and the drivers doesn't work, I'm not sure what to do.

Hockeykid
DBPro Tool Maker
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Sep 2007
Location:
Posted: 13th Dec 2011 21:43
Quote: "After installing the game ran."


Good to know you got it working!

Quote: "It just says that there is an error as soon as I click on the icon, no information. I will see if I can update direct x and my drivers, though. And, I definitely have sufficient ram, and have never experienced this problem before with FPSC games. If updating direct x and the drivers doesn't work, I'm not sure what to do."


Update your GPU drivers like Defy did. If that doesn't work then let me know and I'll replace the D3d functions which should allow it to work without any issues.

darimc
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Jan 2007
Location: Canada
Posted: 21st Dec 2011 16:14
I did what you guys suggested, but it's still not working. Which sucks, I was excited for this.

Hockeykid
DBPro Tool Maker
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Sep 2007
Location:
Posted: 21st Dec 2011 21:45
Quote: "I did what you guys suggested, but it's still not working. Which sucks, I was excited for this."


I've removed the D3d functions, which should fix all of the problems people have been having.

Below I've attached the new "Outbreak.exe", replace the one the game comes with. Hopefully this will fix the issue's you've been having, let me know how it goes!

Attachments

Login to view attachments
dxdragon86
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posted: 25th Dec 2011 20:14
Looks extremly Nice!

Downloading right now.

3Bit
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Jul 2010
Location:
Posted: 25th Jan 2012 16:23
Megaupload is down, mind uploading somewhere else?

3Bit
unfamillia
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Jul 2010
Location: Preston, Lancashire
Posted: 25th Jan 2012 18:30
Congrats to you both for you result in the DTO comp. You guys deserved it!

Awesome game!

Unfamillia

[url=www.touchoffear.webs.com][/url]
Desecrated Studios
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jan 2011
Location: Kirtona
Posted: 26th Jan 2012 04:13
Quote: "Megaupload is down, mind uploading somewhere else?"


Agreed! I want to try this game out soo bad! It's looks great

- Josh
ASTECH
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jul 2007
Location:
Posted: 27th Jan 2012 01:30 Edited at: 27th Jan 2012 03:07
I tried playing it even after applying the last patch. It always failed to launch, sadly.

PC Specs: AMD X4 2.7Ghz, 8GB DDR3 RAM, Nvidia 9800GT, Win. 7 Pro 64 Bit
The Zombie Killer
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Mar 2011
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posted: 27th Jan 2012 02:15
Quote: "Megaupload is down, mind uploading somewhere else?"

Quote: "Agreed! I want to try this game out soo bad! It's looks great"

I'll third that!

-TZK

YoYo Games Account
Predator drone for FPSC - Coming soon, maybe
Hockeykid
DBPro Tool Maker
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Sep 2007
Location:
Posted: 27th Jan 2012 05:43
Hey guys, I've uploaded what I have. As far as I can tell, it is the full game, with the latest patch installed.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/5535360/Outbreak.rar

Enjoy

Sean

The Zombie Killer
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Mar 2011
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posted: 27th Jan 2012 10:51
Thanks hockeykid, I'm downloading it now.

-TZK

YoYo Games Account
Predator drone for FPSC - Coming soon, maybe
Badger CGI
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Apr 2012
Location:
Posted: 12th Apr 2012 00:25
Excellent! Once I had the hang of the controls.The mouse panning to aim is a bit "twitchy" or fast, but not bad...kind of adds to the game.

Reminds me of the older table arcade games.

One dislike, is the radar "frame", its looks seem out of place design-wise.


This ranks three thumbs up on a two-handed man. (150%)

System: is Dual xeon 5620's @ 3.4GHz 12GB ram eVGA 460 w/1GB ram
2x 1TB HDD in raid 0...now,let us see how well x10 runs!
Teabone
Valued Member
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jun 2006
Location: Canada
Posted: 19th Jun 2012 11:10
heh links are blocked by the FBI lol boo

rolfy
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jun 2006
Location:
Posted: 20th Jun 2012 00:34
I still cant get used to seeing a topdown view in FPSC, this is very inspiring.

Awesome! Its one of those threads.
Wolf
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Nov 2007
Location: Luxemburg
Posted: 20th Jun 2012 03:56 Edited at: 20th Jun 2012 03:57
Wait...how did I miss this release?

I'm definately on it now and I'll also dedicate a little review to this.

Creativity is allowing yourself to make mistakes, art is knowing which ones to keep.
Kravenwolf
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Apr 2009
Location: Silent Hill
Posted: 20th Jun 2012 10:09 Edited at: 20th Jun 2012 10:09
Quote: "heh links are blocked by the FBI lol boo"


Here's a new download hockeykid had on his computer. Hopefully it includes all of the current up to date patches, and etc;

Game Front Mirror:
http://www.gamefront.com/files/21872263/Outbreak.rar


@rolfy, always glad to inspire.

@Wolf, thanks, looking forward to the review.

Kravenwolf

Wolf
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Nov 2007
Location: Luxemburg
Posted: 12th Jul 2012 15:38
Its not a virtue to take forever to finish things...outside of your bedroom that is.

Full Review here Has minor offensive language and is long.



-Wolf

"This thread has been locked for the following reason: Too much EPIC" - Thraxas
maho76
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st May 2011
Location: universe-hub, playing the flute
Posted: 13th Jul 2012 10:44
nice review, wolf, as ever. as you mentioned, the design is very pure without blingblings (lies within the top-down-idea itself), maybe the main-reason that it doesnt get attention. its not that spectacular as others, but well crafted.

Thraxas
Moderator
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Feb 2006
Location: The Avenging Axe, Turai
Posted: 2nd Sep 2012 07:45 Edited at: 3rd Sep 2012 15:19
After careful consideration by myself, I decided that this game deserves BoTB status. I have awarded Hockeykid and Karvenwolf the badge and will update the BoTB thread in the very near future.

EDIT

Sorry guys you will need to contact Keith directly to be considered for Best of The Best status. He and his team will then assess the game's suitability for BoTB status. Sorry for getting your hopes up but I should have informed Keith before making a decision on BoTB.

Kravenwolf
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Apr 2009
Location: Silent Hill
Posted: 3rd Sep 2012 15:17
Hi Thraxas,

Thanks for the support. I sent an email to Keith for the original submission before forwarding it to you a week later but I didn't get any reply from him on it. I'll give it another go, as I'm sure I've seen him active here within the last few days. Maybe the first one hit his spam folder.


Adendum,

The BOTB guidelines thread seems to be a bit misleading, however, as you are listed as a mod contact for submissions :S


Kravenwolf

KeithC
Senior Moderator
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Oct 2005
Location: Michigan
Posted: 17th Sep 2012 04:19
Just dropped in to let you guys know I haven't forgotten you! I will be with you momentarily.

-Keith

Hockeykid
DBPro Tool Maker
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Sep 2007
Location:
Posted: 21st Sep 2012 00:19
Quote: "Just dropped in to let you guys know I haven't forgotten you! I will be with you momentarily. "


Sounds good, I eagerly await your results!

Sean

Kravenwolf
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Apr 2009
Location: Silent Hill
Posted: 19th Oct 2012 22:37 Edited at: 19th Oct 2012 22:38
Quote: "I will be with you momentarily."


One month later... Was the awesometasticepicness of Outbreak in all it's top-down glory so far beyond awesomeality that it simply couldn't be judged by current botb standards, Keith?

Kravenwolf

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2018-06-20 10:18:57
Your offset time is: 2018-06-20 10:18:57