Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Work in Progress / [NaGaCreMo'12] - Lightship

Author
Message
TheComet
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Oct 2007
Location: I`m under ur bridge eating ur goatz.
Posted: 30th Dec 2011 23:55 Edited at: 29th Jan 2012 23:31
It's time for the National Game Creation Month 2012 where I have less than 31 days to complete a working game in Dark Basic Professional!! My awesome epic entry is going to be a remake of an arcade game I made a while ago, which was based on a minigame in Mario Party 7 called Light Speed. The new features will be:

-Huge maps!
-Level editor!
-Online play!
-Tons of players! (max 20)
-Awesome graphics!

Download

Lightship Beta_29_Jan_2012

Progress

To do
Working on
Done


Console, debug system
Menu
Level Editor
Level loading
Shaders
Players can host/join a game lobby
Players can move around on map with collision
Respawn
Tile colour changing
In-game chat
Teleporters
Score screen
Speed power up
Size power up
Black hole power up
Boost power up

Latest videos



TheComet

MrValentine
AGK Backer
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 31st Dec 2011 00:03
WOOO the first NaGaCreMo WIP!!!

WLGfx
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Nov 2007
Location: NW United Kingdom
Posted: 31st Dec 2011 14:16
I love them time lapse videos...

I take it the time lapse video show the progress towards the menu screen so far? And that other thing that pops up is a console window you're using too?

I've just got halfway through my level editor so I might actually do a WIP myself after I've added some procedural textures. All I'm using is a trace file in my code in case anything goes toes up.

Can't wait to see some of these now...

Mental arithmetic? Me? (That's for computers) I can't subtract a fart from a plate of beans!
Warning! May contain Nuts!
Seppuku Arts
Moderator
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Aug 2004
Location: Cambridgeshire, England
Posted: 1st Jan 2012 01:16
Seems pretty cool mate. I don't think I could ever do time lapse videos because then people would realise how much I procrastinate.

MrValentine
AGK Backer
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 1st Jan 2012 18:40
Can you link a yt vid of the aforementioned inspiration?

TheComet
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Oct 2007
Location: I`m under ur bridge eating ur goatz.
Posted: 2nd Jan 2012 21:20
@ WLGfx - Thanks Yes, it shows the basic menu screen and the console. I recently made the decision to put a console in every game I make in the future, because it's so darn powerful when it comes to debugging. Especially when you have huge projects that take like a minute to compile... Plus you have the ability to execute scripts as a side effect.

@ Seppuku Arts - Haha lol

@ MrValentine - There is a link already in the first post showing the original game from Mario Party 7.


@ All

This is for you bronies out there, try and find what I mean towards the end of the video

Here I finish the menu and start working on the level editor. The next update I make should be more fun to watch so stay tuned.



TheComet

MrValentine
AGK Backer
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 2nd Jan 2012 21:25 Edited at: 2nd Jan 2012 21:27
Can someone point me in the direction of a console? (looks at TheComet... wink wink nudge nudge)

EDIT

Ahahahahaha Ponies

TheComet
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Oct 2007
Location: I`m under ur bridge eating ur goatz.
Posted: 3rd Jan 2012 18:30 Edited at: 3rd Jan 2012 18:38
Well you could look at my Guide to Structured Programming. I explain the rules by which I program. If you do it that way, it's very easy to create a console because everything has a create, destroy, and set function. I can't give you the code, but that's the path I took.

@ all

I have 2 videos for you today, the first is my usual time-lapse, the second one shows the basic level editor. Enjoy, and please comment





TheComet

MrValentine
AGK Backer
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 3rd Jan 2012 18:58
Will have a read thanks!

Nice vids... can see why you call yourself TheComet now so speedy ahahaha

WLGfx
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Nov 2007
Location: NW United Kingdom
Posted: 7th Jan 2012 23:05
I'm getting addicted to watching time lapse. If I did it here it's still look like it was on pause for most of the time while the missus has me making brews all day.

What software are you using to record the vids? The last one I used gave me 45 seconds limit...

And I should actually get my WIP up soon although I doubt I'll have mine finished before the deadline...

Mental arithmetic? Me? (That's for computers) I can't subtract a fart from a plate of beans!
Warning! May contain Nuts!
Seppuku Arts
Moderator
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Aug 2004
Location: Cambridgeshire, England
Posted: 8th Jan 2012 18:39
I'm liking the level editor mate, can't wait to see it in action - the game play you're going for looks like it could be fun.

TheComet
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Oct 2007
Location: I`m under ur bridge eating ur goatz.
Posted: 15th Jan 2012 17:59 Edited at: 15th Jan 2012 18:00
Game lobby working. The host is also able to send the selected map to the clients (not shown in the video).



TheComet

MrValentine
AGK Backer
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 15th Jan 2012 19:03
Wow... hope I can get that good at my network abilities sorry what networking system did you use... DN?

TheComet
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Oct 2007
Location: I`m under ur bridge eating ur goatz.
Posted: 17th Jan 2012 21:57 Edited at: 17th Jan 2012 22:01
Thanks I'm using multisync.

Update! What do you all think of the lighting/shaders? No collision yet, I'm just working on level loading and now connection between server and clients.



TheComet

Ashingda 27
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2008
Location:
Posted: 18th Jan 2012 01:14
It's kinda funny that if you just follow the other player you can easily beat them, you going to change anything to prevent that cheapness?

Daygamer
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Mar 2010
Location: United States
Posted: 18th Jan 2012 01:34
looking real good, man.

MrValentine
AGK Backer
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 18th Jan 2012 01:53
Hahahaha thats so cute!!!

TheComet
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Oct 2007
Location: I`m under ur bridge eating ur goatz.
Posted: 18th Jan 2012 16:38
Quote: "It's kinda funny that if you just follow the other player you can easily beat them, you going to change anything to prevent that cheapness?"


You watched the original video huh? Don't worry, I have power-ups planned which can easily tip the game into anyone's favour. The game is quite "cheap" if you play only with 2 players. As soon as 3 or more play, it gets a lot more chaotic and fun levels reach maximum parameters (I hope somepony gets that reference).

@ Daygamer & MrValentine - Thanks!

TheComet

Ashingda 27
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2008
Location:
Posted: 18th Jan 2012 19:10
Ohh I didn't imagine there will be more than 2 players, that sure will be chaotic and fun! How about mobs and mini boss will there be any?

MrValentine
AGK Backer
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 18th Jan 2012 19:47
This project reminds me of those corny quirky games they made for the sega dreamcast hehe...

TheComet
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Oct 2007
Location: I`m under ur bridge eating ur goatz.
Posted: 18th Jan 2012 20:54
Quote: "How about mobs and mini boss will there be any?"


Those aren't in my time-plan for NaGaCreMo. If I have some extra time left, I'll certainly add those as that sounds like a load of fun!

TheComet

TheComet
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Oct 2007
Location: I`m under ur bridge eating ur goatz.
Posted: 23rd Jan 2012 23:02
Got online gameplay working. Now I just need to spice the game up with a lot of power ups and that should conclude my entry. Here's a horribly laggy video demonstrating the online play:



TheComet

WLGfx
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Nov 2007
Location: NW United Kingdom
Posted: 24th Jan 2012 00:44
@TheComet - I had a feeling that something was going to look good when I first saw the DBP posts and then the WIP posts. The impression I get now is it reminds me of a very old game called slap dab, only more futuristic and in 3D, oh and multi-player.

I think the route that you should go down with this now is to make it split screen as it seems to be one of those type of games that 3 or 4 people with many tinnies could fight over. Two on joysticks, 2 fighting for a place on the keyboard, all playing the same game. (bomberman type)

Love it...

Mental arithmetic? Me? (That's for computers) I can't subtract a fart from a plate of beans!
Warning! May contain Nuts!
Seppuku Arts
Moderator
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Aug 2004
Location: Cambridgeshire, England
Posted: 24th Jan 2012 02:07
Looking awesome mate.


And so's the game! Nice to see it in action, I can imagine it getting pretty addictive and no doubt competitive.

Ashingda 27
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2008
Location:
Posted: 24th Jan 2012 03:29
Very nice, what decides who wins, is there a time limit?

MrValentine
AGK Backer
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 24th Jan 2012 07:26
Sweet... I agree with the offline multiplayer aspect

omg the portals are the best part of this game can imagine high octane screams pf joy coming out of this one ^^

TheComet
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Oct 2007
Location: I`m under ur bridge eating ur goatz.
Posted: 29th Jan 2012 23:20 Edited at: 29th Jan 2012 23:30
Got a beta version V1.1 finished. Download here : Lightship Beta_29_Jan_2012

I'd love to play with as many people as possible to test it. How's tomorrow (Monday 30 Jan 2012) at 20:00 CET for everyone? You'll need hamachi for it to work.

TheComet

Attachments

Login to view attachments
TheComet
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Oct 2007
Location: I`m under ur bridge eating ur goatz.
Posted: 30th Jan 2012 19:59
For anyone who wants to play tonight, I'm on now and will remain on for about 1 hour. The login details for Hamachi are as follows:

name : TheComet
pass : yeah

TheComet

swissolo
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jan 2010
Location:
Posted: 3rd Feb 2012 18:01
Did anyone else play? I missed the cut off by an hour that day

swis
No, it's not pokemon.
Joined: Tues Dec 16th 2008
Chris Tate
DBPro Master
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Aug 2008
Location: London, England
Posted: 3rd Feb 2012 19:52
I was at work, but am interested in testing this.

TheComet
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Oct 2007
Location: I`m under ur bridge eating ur goatz.
Posted: 3rd Feb 2012 22:57
There are a few bugs that have surfaced during the test at school during lunch brake (12 people played then). I will have to attend to those first.

Next schedule : Sunday, 5th Feb 2012 22:00 CET (this Sunday)

I hope to be able to test it with a few people again as it was a LOT of fun with 12 people. Very chaotic and unpredictable

TheComet

Chris Tate
DBPro Master
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Aug 2008
Location: London, England
Posted: 5th Feb 2012 21:17
Is it ready? Is anyone joining in?

MrValentine
AGK Backer
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 5th Feb 2012 21:24
How can I join in?

TheComet
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Oct 2007
Location: I`m under ur bridge eating ur goatz.
Posted: 5th Feb 2012 22:42
Yep it's ready. We'll have to use the old version (available in the first post). Login info:

name: TheComet
pass: yeah

TheComet

MrValentine
AGK Backer
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 5th Feb 2012 22:57
umm whats the IP?

Chris Tate
DBPro Master
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Aug 2008
Location: London, England
Posted: 5th Feb 2012 23:06
My IP is: 90.218.93.14

Give it a try.

MrValentine
AGK Backer
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 5th Feb 2012 23:38
No use my home internet is pathetic...

TheComet
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Oct 2007
Location: I`m under ur bridge eating ur goatz.
Posted: 5th Feb 2012 23:43
I'm sorry this never works out :/ When would suit you guys best for the next try?

TheComet

Chris Tate
DBPro Master
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Aug 2008
Location: London, England
Posted: 6th Feb 2012 00:14
I should be off most evenings.

I've never played a DBPRO game online before; so I am curious to see how well your game works since I am making a couple of multiplayer games myself.

If it is not difficult, maybe by having someone run it in host mode passively with their IP shown somewhere; or with some kind of auto connect feature so it searches for online users using a web script. At the moment it is not clear who is hosting and who is joining.

But since the others may be off at different times, it may be helpful for people to connect to the host when they are available just to indicate who is online and who is not; while you do what ever you need to do. (Window mode with low cpu usage would be ideal in this temporary situation)

Or has anyone got any better ideas?

TheComet
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Oct 2007
Location: I`m under ur bridge eating ur goatz.
Posted: 6th Feb 2012 00:19 Edited at: 6th Feb 2012 00:21
The game doesn't really have a "central host". Anyone can press the "host" button in the main menu and become a host, allowing other people to join if they know the IP of that computer. That's why we need hamachi for it to work.

I very much like your idea though of having a passive host. I'll do that with the next game I make, it will take too long to apply it to this game

I get home every day at about 20:00 CET (19:00 GMT) and have two hours.

If you ever need help with mutliplayer in DBP, or if you want me to run over your code, you can always contact me; I'll be happy to help you

TheComet

MrValentine
AGK Backer
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 6th Feb 2012 01:55
What is hamachi?

I do not mind running a 24/7 server...

Chris Tate
DBPro Master
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Aug 2008
Location: London, England
Posted: 6th Feb 2012 05:44
Thanks for the offer; I will consider it when I start focusing on the networking aspect of my project. (Maybe in 3 or 4 months time...)

TheComet
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Oct 2007
Location: I`m under ur bridge eating ur goatz.
Posted: 6th Feb 2012 17:36
I'm ready with hamachi now and will be on for about 3 hours (I may be away for ~45 minutes because of dinner. If so then just try again later).

Hamachi : https://secure.logmein.com/products/hamachi/ (get the unlicensed version)

Name: TheComet
Pass: yeah

Download Lightship in the first post.

TheComet

MrValentine
AGK Backer
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 6th Feb 2012 17:54
why do you need hamachi is that why I couldnt connect to you before?

TheComet
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Oct 2007
Location: I`m under ur bridge eating ur goatz.
Posted: 6th Feb 2012 18:41
I'm behind a closed firewall. Hamachi allows a direct VPN connection so we can play a LAN game (multisync is for LAN games, not for internet).

TheComet

MrValentine
AGK Backer
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 6th Feb 2012 18:51
well... then if I hosted the server for you... it would not matter then right?

just curious...

TheComet
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Oct 2007
Location: I`m under ur bridge eating ur goatz.
Posted: 6th Feb 2012 18:53
It's not possible to host and not play the game. The clients could join you, but you have to press the "start" button and choose the map for each game because the clients don't have control over that. Otherwise the clients would just be stuck in the game lobby.

TheComet

MrValentine
AGK Backer
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 6th Feb 2012 18:57
well... I could remote into the computer and we can have an idle player XD
a guaranteed loser >.< then everybody is a winner ^^

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-11-21 12:11:51
Your offset time is: 2019-11-21 12:11:51