Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPSC Classic Product Chat / CorVus Mod Plus - The Reincarnation of CorVus Mod

Author
Message
The Zombie Killer
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Mar 2011
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posted: 8th Feb 2012 09:25 Edited at: 30th Oct 2012 08:17


CorVus Mod Plus
The Re-incarnation of the thought-to-be-dead CorVus Mod

CorVus mod is back in development! Development thread

Sadly, CorVus mod is no longer being developed. Mainly due to lack of motivation. Please don't bother with CorVus mod any more, unless you wish to develop it. Xploid mod may have it's final release next week so go get that when it's out. Absolutely everything works in it except for fullscreen shaders. Of course it cannot be posted here, but I trust that you will be able to find it yourselves.

I've had a good run with CorVus, and it's been a great learning experience developing it, but as the saying goes, all good things must come to an end, and sadly this is CorVus' time.

There will be no further releases of CorVus mod, nor will I fix any more bugs. But hey, I may come back to it and continue one day.

R.I.P CorVus Mod
February 8th - June 23rd 2012



[url=http://source.fpscip.com/compatible.png][/url]

Last update: 12th May 2012

CURRENT CODE: FPSC v119 Final
CURRENT BUILD: FPSC v119 Final

Download Mod
Download Manual
Download OLD Manual
SourceForge Source
SourceForge Page
CorVus Mod Wiki

: Not started
: Done
: Working on
||: Paused
DG: Done by Dark Goblin

DG | Dynamic Shadows
DG | Light Rays
DG | Time-Of-Day System
DG | HD Lightmaps
DG | Depth-of-Field Effect
✔ | Get characters to work (ALPHA RELEASE ONLY)
✔ | Get weapons to work (ALPHA RELEASE ONLY)
✔ | Update to latest EVOLVED shaders (ALPHA RELEASE ONLY)
✔ | Fix "invalid cubemap size" bug (ALPHA RELEASE ONLY)
✔ | Fix enemies shooting you through walls (ALPHA RELEASE ONLY)

ALL CREDITS FOR THE DYNAMIC SHADOWS, LIGHT RAYS, TOD, DOF AND THE
ORIGINAL CORVUS MOD AND ITS SOURCE GOES TO DARK GOBLIN AND EVOLVED


Videos by DJ Almix (from the old v115 version):



Screens (from the old v115 version):



-TZK

007
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Aug 2011
Location:
Posted: 8th Feb 2012 15:04
Hi Bro TZK!

How is going Dynamic Ragdoll MOD?

And by the way, sorry to don`t have the answer you want here, but, what is CorVus MOD?

Does it gives new features to FPSC? What?

Cheers,

007

Goldenye 007 N64
uzi idiot
Valued Member
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Dec 2009
Location: Who Knows?
Posted: 8th Feb 2012 16:42
You could try checking out Xploid Mod (It's just CorVus but it is more stable, still buggy however)
see this

Mr. Flibble is Very cross!
Mental Stability is over-rated!
NIlooc223
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2010
Location: Heaven
Posted: 8th Feb 2012 19:44
weres the download ?!

Your signature has been erased by a mod - no affiliate links thanks
uzi idiot
Valued Member
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Dec 2009
Location: Who Knows?
Posted: 8th Feb 2012 19:48 Edited at: 8th Feb 2012 19:49
Here is the website [href]www.xploid.webs.com[/href]

Mr. Flibble is Very cross!
Mental Stability is over-rated!
NIlooc223
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2010
Location: Heaven
Posted: 8th Feb 2012 20:26 Edited at: 8th Feb 2012 20:36
Thanks uzi idiot!

Edit: It just crashes

Your signature has been erased by a mod - no affiliate links thanks
jmtmew
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Feb 2010
Location: Developer Hell
Posted: 8th Feb 2012 20:48
If we had CorVus mod for V119, that'd be awesomeness to the next level . Hell, it'd be even more awesome if one day it could become an official update

Nothing wrong with dreaming, I guess XD

defiler
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Apr 2009
Location: Canada
Posted: 9th Feb 2012 06:51
Wait... Which mod was it that used a pirated copy of DBP and consequently got banned for it as well as the banned use of the mod?

I only as cause that name sounds familiar...

Current Project: The Underground: Awakening
anayar
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Aug 2009
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posted: 9th Feb 2012 06:58
It wasn't Xploid as far as I remember... I think it was like Xara mod or something (my apologies if it isn't Xara)

Cheers,
Anayar


For KeithC
The Zombie Killer
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Mar 2011
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posted: 9th Feb 2012 07:22 Edited at: 18th Feb 2012 03:21
@007
It's unchanged since the last release, I'm waiting for the limb hiding to be fixed. And CorVus mod is a mod that brings FPSC to a whole new graphical level, by which I mean Doom3 style graphics.

@anayar
Actually, it was Xploid, and it was Xara too, they are the same mod, only it has been renamed multiple times. But I don't think it was DBP that was pirated, I think kill3r7 was caught uploading one of Bond1's packs to a file sharing site, but I'm unsure, I can't remember a lot of what happened.

@NIlooc223
I'll release this updated version AND it's source code once you guys have helped me fix this problem

@jmtmew
You guys CAN have CorVus for v119, I ported it, except this command is causing me trouble. If anyone could help it would be greatly appreciated.

-TZK

NIlooc223
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2010
Location: Heaven
Posted: 9th Feb 2012 23:33
hmm I would help but I don't know any scripting in fpsc

Your signature has been erased by a mod - no affiliate links thanks
The Zombie Killer
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Mar 2011
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posted: 10th Feb 2012 05:35 Edited at: 18th Feb 2012 03:22
@NIlooc223
The thing is, this isn't a script, it's an actual mod of FPSCreator's source code.

-TZK

Nomad Soul
Moderator
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jan 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 10th Feb 2012 12:43
There is little point integrating v119 with Covus mod at the moment as there are several things which are not fixed. For example weapons and enemies do not work with the dynamic shadow system. There are also a lot of collision issues with dynamic entities in general because of the way the universe is built.

Unless there is going to be some work done on Corvus mod itself (which is open source) this mod is not going to be recommended for any serious development.

The Zombie Killer
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Mar 2011
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posted: 10th Feb 2012 12:53 Edited at: 18th Feb 2012 03:22
@Nomad Soul
Yes, I am aware of the guns and characters not working, they have been fixed in Xploid mod though, and I am going to ask the creator later on how he did it. If he lets me know, I will integrate his fix into this version of the source. The thing is, I have no idea why weapons never worked, when I ported it over, I didn't see anything that would mess it up.

-TZK

Scene Commander
Support Manager
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd May 2008
Location:
Posted: 10th Feb 2012 14:01
@TZK

I followed your link from the V119 thread.

In my honest opinion, CorVus mod, and all of the varients aren't really worth pursuing. I beleive I'm correct in saying that all versions were buggy, but the most serious failing is that they all were far too processor intensive, with only top of the range machines being able to run them. While some of the features would be great to include in FPSC, as they stand in the source they would cripple the engine for a large number of users.

I'm afraid I simply don't have time as you asked to help you with this as it would be too much of a time commitement that I couldn't afford, as what little spare time I have is being spent finalising V119.

Good luck though, and I'm sure if you ever manage to create a usable version many people would be interested.
Nomad Soul
Moderator
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jan 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 10th Feb 2012 14:33 Edited at: 10th Feb 2012 14:36
@The Zombie Killer

Don't go chasing waterfalls, please stick to the rivers and lakes that you're used to, I know that you're gonna have it your way or nothing at all, but I think you're moving too fast.

The only thing which really needs to be brought over from Corvus is dynamic shadows but that was attempted by the Corvus creator himself (Dark Goblin) in LRMod and was again unsuccessful.

Its highly unlikely we will see an implementation of dynamic shadows in FPSC without bugs or performance reasonable which is a real shame because its probably the only major graphics feature missing now.

I am impressed with the work bond1 has done to deliver a dynamic shadow shader for enemies which respects the direction of light sources but I don't think a general purpose dynamic shadow system is going to come anytime soon.

Edit - Please note this was not fixed in Xploid mod. I've used the latest version and there are still some show stopping bugs on there.

The Zombie Killer
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Mar 2011
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posted: 11th Feb 2012 04:02
@Nomad Soul
You were right about my way or nothing lol
Anyway, lag wouldn't be as big a problem as it once was due to 119's lag reduction code. It would still be a problem, but not as bad as it originally was. I have found the problem with the compile and everything works now. I am currently uploading the full source to my site now. Note to users: FPSC-MapEditor is required, otherwise if you change settings in the preferences menu, your CorVus settings will be erased, and you'll have to do it all over again.

-TZK

YoYo Games Account
Predator drone for FPSC - Coming soon, maybe
jmtmew
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Feb 2010
Location: Developer Hell
Posted: 11th Feb 2012 11:16
You sir, are a legend Thankyou so much, I've always wanted this mod for the later versions of FPSC

The Zombie Killer
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Mar 2011
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posted: 11th Feb 2012 11:33
@jmtmew
You're welcome
just a question though, do you have a copy of the CorVus manual lying around on your hard drive, I lost my copy of the original build of corvus long ago, and haven't been able to find a download for it since. Well, there was ONE download for it, but that was in a massive pack of pirated FPSC media, and I was NOT going to download that.

-TZK

YoYo Games Account
Predator drone for FPSC - Coming soon, maybe
Beno09
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jun 2011
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina
Posted: 11th Feb 2012 11:50
I get error when I want to test game. It is saying that is " invalid cube map size, must be greater than 0 ". What should I do ?
The Zombie Killer
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Mar 2011
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posted: 11th Feb 2012 11:55
@Ben09
I myself got this with the original corvus as well, I have no idea what it means, which is why I need to corvus manual. Maybe try asking Dark Goblin?
I've been looking through the source and can't find the source of this error.

-TZK

YoYo Games Account
Predator drone for FPSC - Coming soon, maybe
Beno09
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jun 2011
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina
Posted: 11th Feb 2012 12:21
Okay, I will ask Dark Goblin in some time.
Can you please put some pictures with Corvus mod in action ?
The Zombie Killer
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Mar 2011
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posted: 11th Feb 2012 12:38 Edited at: 18th Feb 2012 03:23
@Ben09
Yeah, I'll add them from DG's original post, since I am still encountering the error. There are some videos too, the problem is, I'll have to get a mod to add 56k Warning to the end of the thread name
EDIT: Screens added, no need for 56k warning as they are links.
EDIT2: Source downloadable from googlecode page

-TZK

FPS_UA
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Dec 2011
Location: Ukraine
Posted: 11th Feb 2012 16:04
Please help me with CorVus Mod for V119, When I want to test my game, then I knock here such an error:

what do I do?

sorry for my translation, I am from Ukraine.
Beno09
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jun 2011
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina
Posted: 11th Feb 2012 17:31 Edited at: 11th Feb 2012 17:31
@FPS_UA : I have the same problem, we should ask Dark Goblin
EDIT : TZK thanks for videos.
FPS_UA
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Dec 2011
Location: Ukraine
Posted: 11th Feb 2012 17:34
Beno09, where you can find?
Beno09
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jun 2011
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina
Posted: 11th Feb 2012 18:41
@FPS_UA : I don't know what you mean exactly with this question but I suppose that you are asking were can you find Dark Goblin ? If I am correct, you can find Dark Goblin, or I mean you can contact him through this email : reaping666@gmx.net
NIlooc223
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2010
Location: Heaven
Posted: 11th Feb 2012 19:04 Edited at: 11th Feb 2012 19:05
wait wheres the download? I cant find it anywhere!

EDIT: Wow i'm blind very first post that says DOWNLOAD XD fail

Your signature has been erased by a mod - no affiliate links thanks
NIlooc223
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2010
Location: Heaven
Posted: 11th Feb 2012 19:17
Sorry for double post but I copyed the files over and now fpsc crashes when launched

Your signature has been erased by a mod - no affiliate links thanks
Cross Hair Games
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Jan 2009
Location: Canada Eh\'
Posted: 11th Feb 2012 22:04
Looks like a promising mod! I've been looking for a DoF mod

FPS_UA
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Dec 2011
Location: Ukraine
Posted: 11th Feb 2012 23:04
I looked at the FPSC-Game.DBA via DarkBasicPro, and saw in the settings Setup.ini file, some commands when I dobaviv them they told me not to do that, even such an issue when compiling FPSC-DBA in Game. I have some command line is missing, I realized that I need some library .dll version FPSC 1.19, maybe someone has, I really need it.

sorry for my translation
NIlooc223
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2010
Location: Heaven
Posted: 12th Feb 2012 00:25
Ok I fixed the first launching issue but now loading a game crashes.

Your signature has been erased by a mod - no affiliate links thanks
The Zombie Killer
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Mar 2011
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posted: 12th Feb 2012 00:53
@everyone
I HAD to log in to post this, I went onto FPSC chat and saw that this thread had 666 views! What are the chances of logging on and seeing that!

@NIlooc1, Ben09 & FPS_UA
This has been happening for lots of people, try building a game with the default EXE, then put the mod files over the top of the built game files.

-TZK

FPS_UA
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Dec 2011
Location: Ukraine
Posted: 12th Feb 2012 01:03
The Zombie Killer,I tried it to do across DarkBaciPro and nothing did not go out , does not snatch me something for full compilation.
Beno09
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jun 2011
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina
Posted: 12th Feb 2012 01:11
Tried to first build game and copy mod files over built game files, but again the same problem as before.
The Zombie Killer
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Mar 2011
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posted: 12th Feb 2012 01:13
@Ben09
Well, I guess emailing DG is the way to go, I will also email Kill3r7 through youtube to find the weapon fix and also see if he knows what causes this bug.

-TZK

NIlooc223
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2010
Location: Heaven
Posted: 12th Feb 2012 01:17
Thanks zombie killer tell us when you figure it all out!

Your signature has been erased by a mod - no affiliate links thanks
The Zombie Killer
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Mar 2011
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posted: 12th Feb 2012 01:42 Edited at: 12th Feb 2012 02:41
@FPSC_UA
To compile the fpscreator source, you need:

DarkBASIC Professional with the latest update
DarkLIGHTS (you must buy this)
DarkAI (you must buy this)
DarkBASIC Professional 7.5 Extras (FPSCreator portion of the extras only) installed over the top of DarkAI, DarkLIGHTS and the latest update.
The FPSCreator source code OR CorVus Mod Source

EDIT: Yay! found the corvus manual! you can now get it on the top post or the googlecode page.

-TZK

The Zombie Killer
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Mar 2011
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posted: 12th Feb 2012 06:20 Edited at: 12th Feb 2012 06:27
@everyone
I've fixed the bug in corvus where enemies were able to shoot you through walls, also, it actually does work in build game, just follow what the manual says. I just need some MAJOR optimization code now.
Oh and, there is now an icon for the final EXE (not applied to DBPROs yet)

Also: I need a little help: what is the object number of the static game world when it's created?

-TZK

NIlooc223
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2010
Location: Heaven
Posted: 12th Feb 2012 06:29 Edited at: 12th Feb 2012 06:29
Thanks zombie killer will try

Your signature has been erased by a mod - no affiliate links thanks
The Zombie Killer
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Mar 2011
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posted: 12th Feb 2012 07:07 Edited at: 19th Feb 2012 06:22
POST REMOVED, NO LONGER NEEDED

-TZK

FPS_UA
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Dec 2011
Location: Ukraine
Posted: 12th Feb 2012 10:11
[email]The Zombie Killer[/email] Am excused however a my place no money in order to buy DarkAI and DarkLIGHTS
007
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Aug 2011
Location:
Posted: 12th Feb 2012 11:09
Hello my dear Friend TZK:

I have looked ate the videos, yes, this is a great MOD.

But in what i have seen, the best thing of this MOD is the dynamic shadows.

Because about the shader effects, like bloom, and such, FPSC already has it.

As a great programmer you are, why that you don`t just try to perfect the Dynamic Shadows, fixing all the bugs.

And maybe, why that you don`t try to perfect the light system on FPSC, adding new parameters, maybe adding new types of light (like omni, spotlight, directional light), shadow depth, and such, like in any 3d software.

I think if you come with a dynamic shadows system, also with a new improvement on the light system of FPSC, i am sure that this will be added to official FPSC Source.

I am sure you are skilled enough to do this.

Cheers,

007

Goldenye 007 N64
jmtmew
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Feb 2010
Location: Developer Hell
Posted: 12th Feb 2012 11:28
awesome work TZK! This may be an awful lot of work, but if it's impossible to solve the test game bug, would it be possible to make a new method of testing your games?

Flatlander
FPSC Tool Maker
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jan 2007
Location: The Flatlands
Posted: 12th Feb 2012 16:16 Edited at: 12th Feb 2012 16:26
I downloaded the source code from the first post. There is a gosub routine "gosub Cranox_Init" However, there is no subroutine with that label. ????


Addendum #1:

This label also does not exist:

cranox_deferred_update

nor this label:

cranox_deferred_setup

nor this label:

cranox_load_universe

Addendum #2:

In other words there is a lot of code that seems to be missing.

BlackFox
FPSC Master
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th May 2008
Location: Knight to Queens Bishop 3
Posted: 12th Feb 2012 16:29 Edited at: 12th Feb 2012 16:33
Quote: "There is a gosub routine "gosub Cranox_Init" However, there is no subroutine with that label. ????"


Actually it IS there. They have the files in an \include folder, and the original source release had it with the main fpsc-game.dba file. It is listed in the dbpro file as well.




Twitter: @NFoxMedia
Flatlander
FPSC Tool Maker
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jan 2007
Location: The Flatlands
Posted: 12th Feb 2012 16:41 Edited at: 12th Feb 2012 16:43
Thanks BF. The includes aren't in the source code that I downloaded but looking in google code they do have it available. I would have never known.

http://fpscreator-corvusmod-tzk.googlecode.com/svn/trunk/Include/


Edit

Oh, and I guess the reason why it might not have been included is because I used my "dbpro" project file setup rather than the one that is provided.

BlackFox
FPSC Master
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th May 2008
Location: Knight to Queens Bishop 3
Posted: 12th Feb 2012 16:46 Edited at: 12th Feb 2012 16:47
Quote: "I guess the reason why it might not have been included is because I used my "dbpro" project file setup rather than the one that is provided."


That would do it.

Quote: "The includes aren't in the source code that I downloaded but looking in google code they do have it available"


They were included when it first went to open source. Must have been missed somewhere during the transition when it was posted.


Twitter: @NFoxMedia
Brendy boy
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Jul 2005
Location: Croatia
Posted: 12th Feb 2012 23:48
Quote: "Also: I need a little help: what is the object number of the static game world when it's created?"

Static objects don't have numbers/IDs

Stalker93
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Sep 2008
Location: Italy
Posted: 13th Feb 2012 10:36
I've tried to build a game with the vanilla v1.19.07. Then I've copied all the corvus mod files to the build directory: well, it loads, it shows me the main menu, but when loading it crashes with this error "Runtime Error 7722 - Effect does not exist at line 65821"...

This is the log file:
466301 : Flag to produce log files set in SETUP.INI (producelogfiles=1)
466317 : Time Stamp Activity Started
466332 : Start Fullscreen
466833 : Shaders - Need:0 Got:3
468315 : Game Flow Started..
474565 : MEMUSED:0K [030] Load assets for all AI scripts... (499MB used)
474626 : MEMUSED:12K [060] Initialising decals list... (499MB used)
474656 : MEMUSED:2124K [070] Initialising guns list... (499MB used)
474736 : MEMUSED:3392K [075] Initialising gun system... (499MB used)
474906 : MEMUSED:7668K [120] Deleting player resources... (509MB used)
474916 : MEMUSED:192K [130] Flushing Video Memory... (509MB used)
474926 : MEMUSED:-184K [140] Delete existing elements... (509MB used)
474949 : MEMUSED:-496K [150] Loading waypoint data... (509MB used)
474969 : MEMUSED:-8K [170] Loading entity bank... (509MB used)
475010 : MEMUSED:144K [175] Loading entity bank...1a\7 (arrow.X) (509MB used)
475050 : Loaded 1:_markers\player start.fpe
475110 : Loaded 2:_markers\white light.fpe
475170 : Loaded 3:\user\blue_van.fpe
475740 : Loaded 4:\341\Task Force 341 Characters\Ally (Team 1)\TF341_02A_1 (M203).fpe
475961 : Loaded 5:\Green Nature\tree06.fpe
476058 : Loaded 6:\Green Nature\shrub01.fpe
476144 : Loaded 7:\ww2\furnitureb\cylindera.fpe
476144 : MEMUSED:39184K [180] Loading elements data... (550MB used)
476164 : MEMUSED:0K [185] Loading elements data... (550MB used)
476175 : MEMUSED:0K [190] Initialise AI... (550MB used)
476228 : MEMUSED:0K [200] Loading map data... (552MB used)
476661 : MEMUSED:18920K [201] Updating universe elements from ELE file... (572MB used)
476681 : MEMUSED:-512K [202] Loading infini-lights data... (572MB used)
476721 : MEMUSED:-512K [280] Loading bullet holes... (572MB used)
476761 : MEMUSED:1536K [290] Create scorch buffers for universe... (572MB used)
476771 : MEMUSED:804K [291] Removing static entities... (573MB used)
476792 : MEMUSED:-480K [299] Loading Fragments.. (573MB used)
476943 : MEMUSED:3368K [300] Creating entity elements... (581MB used)
477083 : MEMUSED:-12K [302] Creating entity instances... (581MB used)

Any ideas?

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2022-12-01 14:03:46
Your offset time is: 2022-12-01 14:03:46