Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / List of AGK changes?

Author
Message
DVader
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Jan 2004
Location:
Posted: 10th Feb 2012 20:42
Hi all, I was wondering if there is a list somewhere of all the changes to AppGameKit since it's release. I am looking at debugging my old shooter project and remember agk changed the way it deals with arrays quite early in develpoment. It has stopped my old code from working and I am unsure now what changed, so I can remedy it. Does AppGameKit treat 0 or 1 as the start of an array now?

baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 10th Feb 2012 20:57
Quote: "Does AppGameKit treat 0 or 1 as the start of an array now?"

0 I use it to store the number of used slots normally so I'm sure.

DVader
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Jan 2004
Location:
Posted: 10th Feb 2012 22:09
Odd, I have been playing about since I posted and seem to have it working using a range of 1 to 15. Using 0 to 14 as it used to be, wouldn't work at all. Although another part of the array still uses 0-1 ok, so not sure what is going on there. The old code used to work on an older version of agk, so they definitely changed something between versions. Either array handling or file handling, I just can't remember off the top of my head. Still I have it working now through trial and error, or at least I hope so!

baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 11th Feb 2012 07:19
That's strange. I definitely use the zero slot though.

I tend to write using 1 to whatever I need and store the used slots value in the first (zero slot) eg.


Hodgey
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Oct 2009
Location: Australia
Posted: 11th Feb 2012 08:26
There's a small text document located in TheGameCreators/AGK which lists a few changes (for me it's back to build 105) but I couldn't find anything about the arrays starting at 1 instead of 0. Maybe using the 0 index of an array is causing the occasional crash as mentioned in the other thread? Food for thought...

baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 11th Feb 2012 10:28
I doubt it. I do it a lot and have never had a crash I haven't been able to track down to my own code or a reproducible bug...

DVader
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Jan 2004
Location:
Posted: 11th Feb 2012 17:43
A friend of mine who does a bit of coding now and then and has done a few projects with me, uses exactly the same method baxslash.
I tend to use 0 a lot in my arrays also, but this game was written back in the old original version of AGK. The highscore save routine stopped working when they released the update to squash the fatal exception error that was common when using lots of commands. I remember on the update notes list they altered how arrays were treated. I fixed the game at the time to work around it but since then have lost all my data in a hard drive crash and so am re making the wheel
I seem to have it fixed by simply moving the array to the ranges I have stated. I would still like to see that list though and confirm my ever failing memory is correct lol! I even remember Mobius mentioning it on a thread around the same time.
@ Hodgey, that crash on the other thread is probably array based, as I have only had bad crashes of late when an array gets called out of bounds. Most times you get an error when compiling, but occasionally it crashes in game causing a windows crash error message. Thankfully I don't see it often and when I do it's normally a silly mistake.

Greenster
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Feb 2005
Location: US ©
Posted: 11th Feb 2012 18:38
No change-log, just abstract changes mentioned in the magazine/newsletter.. This is why they should exist though..
swissolo
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jan 2010
Location:
Posted: 11th Feb 2012 20:17
0, you're sure? When I used the first released build of AppGameKit and started my program I'm sure I had to start from 1...

swis - No, it's not pokemon.
Joined: Tues Dec 16th 2008
Mod = Troll - http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&b=2&t=114323&p=586
DVader
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Jan 2004
Location:
Posted: 11th Feb 2012 20:41
They listed the changes in the latest build thread at the time. However they change that with each release, and I can't see anything about the old releases now. I'm sure they must have a copy somewhere..

Still, I have put up my shooter demo in the showcase thread, as my old WIP thread is dead now.

Marl
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Nov 2011
Location: Bradford, UK
Posted: 18th Feb 2012 16:54 Edited at: 18th Feb 2012 16:57
Quote: "Does AppGameKit treat 0 or 1 as the start of an array now?"

Quote: "0 I use it to store the number of used slots normally so I'm sure."

Quote: "0, you're sure? When I used the first released build of AppGameKit and started my program I'm sure I had to start from 1..."

Definitely Zero Based in the current version.

The quick assign dim format puts the first entry in slot zero;

I use the zero slot a lot less than I used to. I'm trying to standardise my functions to return zero as "no result" and since some of my functions return an array position, these arrays need to start at one.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-11-23 04:30:21
Your offset time is: 2024-11-23 04:30:21