Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Author
Message
smo
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Feb 2012
Location:
Posted: 29th Feb 2012 22:41
I'm just trying out the trial version of AGK. It looks very interesting so far.

1.
Now I tried to create a game which contains very much text. Whenever a text string is assigned which contains umlauts, then the compiler stops with an error.

Example:
mystring$ = "Hier ein paar Umlaute: öäüß"
--> will lead to the compiler error "Must close speech marks"

mystring$ = "just a normal text without umlauts"
--> will do fine, no error

2.
If I let createtext display a string, then everything but the umlauts is printed on the screen.

Is there a workaround for both problems?
JimHawkins
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Jul 2009
Location: Hull - UK
Posted: 1st Mar 2012 00:39
Unfortunately, currently AppGameKit is not capable of talking anything apart from English. We are assured that this is being fixed for the next release.

-- Jim
baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 1st Mar 2012 10:35
Yes currently the only way to print other languages (or at least those that use unsupported characters) is to use a hand made font set and make your own set of functions for using it.

Red Eye
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Oct 2008
Location:
Posted: 1st Mar 2012 12:53
Altough that is wierd because why would AppGameKit be based off a "language" and not just on the Unicode ASCII. Which makes more sense... supporting all characters.

Cheers,

Paul Johnston
TGC Developer
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Nov 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 1st Mar 2012 16:26
Quote: "why would AppGameKit be based off a "language" and not just on the Unicode ASCII"


Because there is only so much room on the font bitmap the next version will support ASCII characters 128-255
bjadams
AGK Backer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Mar 2008
Location:
Posted: 1st Mar 2012 16:35
when is 107 out Paul?!!!

Paul Johnston
TGC Developer
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Nov 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 1st Mar 2012 16:44
I couldn't possibly comment
bjadams
AGK Backer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Mar 2008
Location:
Posted: 1st Mar 2012 20:06


I am tingling with anticipation for the new 107 commands!

Finally I can do an app in AppGameKit!!!!
baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 1st Mar 2012 21:59
bjadams, what commands in particular are you relying on? I could possibly write an AppGameKit Bitesize tutorial when the commands come out. I am planning on releasing some Bitesize tuts immediately after the release of the update including:

1-Multiplayer split-screen
2-Texture creation
3-Image grabbing
4-Shape drawing

Any further ideas would also be appreciated.

It would be T1 but you could easily translate it I'm sure.

bjadams
AGK Backer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Mar 2008
Location:
Posted: 1st Mar 2012 22:20
Baxslash I want to paste 3-4 sprites on top of each other and create a new sprite.

If I have that option, I can move forward and do 1 project in AGK.
kamac
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Nov 2010
Location: Poland
Posted: 1st Mar 2012 22:37
Quote: "Baxslash I want to paste 3-4 sprites on top of each other and create a new sprite."


There'll be GetImage/GrabImage for that (luckly).

I hope the release's soon.

baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 1st Mar 2012 23:41
Quote: "Baxslash I want to paste 3-4 sprites on top of each other and create a new sprite.

If I have that option, I can move forward and do 1 project in AGK."

That will certainly be possible. I think the only slightly tricky part would be creating the right alpha mask. Send me some example images and an email explaining what you want to do (I think I have an idea already) and I will try to let you know if it will be possible.

bjadams
AGK Backer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Mar 2008
Location:
Posted: 2nd Mar 2012 12:34
Baxslash, it HAS to be possible as I am already doing it in others SDKs, (its possible on darkbasic too) else I am going to start banging my head on the wall!!!!!
baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 2nd Mar 2012 12:42
Are you a little stressed? Have a beer

I'm not questioning if it will be possible as I'm already certain it will be possible. I meant to say "how" it will be possible, I was just hoping to give you some code for how to do it when the update comes out. All those exclamation marks are giving me a headache

kamac
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Nov 2010
Location: Poland
Posted: 2nd Mar 2012 15:59 Edited at: 2nd Mar 2012 16:01
You could place an umlaut instead of, say, ' letter on the font image for now. Then, when typing text and wanting to use umlaut, type something like that (for instance): Here is a umlaut - '

This will show umlaut, instead of '.

This'd be a temporary solution, as the new update should add extended ASCII chars support, and we'll be having space for normal umlauts too.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-11-23 04:55:29
Your offset time is: 2024-11-23 04:55:29