Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / Java and agk questions.

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 1st Mar 2012 15:45
Hello, I am a huge java programmer and work on various java 2D/3D game applications. I heard in the newsletter that agk will be coming to java! By putting it in java do you mean having a reference jar file to add in your tier 2 java code? if not then how will it be imported into your java code? Thanks!

sov the game creator!
baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 1st Mar 2012 17:42
I imagine it will be a reference library you can add to your project like the other native languages although no official details are available at the moment. Not sure how else it could work really.

bjadams
AGK Backer
Years of Service
User Offline
Last time this was discussed, TGC said that T2 C++ code will be converted to T1 basic code, then compiled into byetcode, and the java engine will interpret the AppGameKit byetcode
baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 1st Mar 2012 22:01
Really? I must have missed that one!

Converting C++ to T1 sounds difficult. There are a lot of things C++ can do that Basic can't

bjadams
AGK Backer
Years of Service
User Offline
Baxslash if I stumble across the post I will put a link, but it was Lee Bamber saying to use the suggested AppGameKit flow in C++ because it will be easy to convert to T1 for platforms like Java... or something along those lines
Greenster
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 3rd Mar 2012 13:03 Edited at: 3rd Mar 2012 13:04