Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Work in Progress / Tree IT (tree generator)

Author
Message
EVOLVED
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Feb 2003
Location: unknown
Posted: 24th Mar 2012 03:14 Edited at: 28th May 2012 19:09
I've been working on a tree generator for quite some time now and its now completed.

Tree It Zip
Tree It installer

More info here >
http://www.evolved-software.com/board/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=191&p=689#p689

Purchase registration key from Here http://www.evolved-software.com/treeit/treeit

screenshot 1
screenshot 2
screenshot 3
screenshot 4

Very easy to create high quality trees.
Create any tree, not limited to just one tree type.
Edit trunk and branch joints.
Render To image for leaf creation.
Exports to .dbo.
Kezzla
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2008
Location: Where beer does flow and men chunder
Posted: 24th Mar 2012 04:23
I think theres an issue with the tree it installer, ive tried twice to download it, it shows progress bar and behaves normally, then when completed there is nothing in my download destination folder.
downloading the zip now.

those trees look really nice, cant wait to play with it

Sometimes I like to use words out of contents
MMM
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Jan 2009
Location: NSW, Australia
Posted: 24th Mar 2012 04:28
Amazing. This must be the most versatile tree builder available. Installer works for me. Some of the dropdown-menu options don't seem to activate anything (eg. wireframe, register(?)).

Exporting to .X would be pretty helpful though.

On that note, exporting physics/lighting setup options for program-use would make this program second to none. The setup options appear to be there, like in your other demos... Make available? Pwetty Pweeze?
MrValentine
AGK Backer
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: Playing
Posted: 24th Mar 2012 04:45
Wowza... so this is whats kept you hidden all this time...

It looks amazing...

Whats the finished product plan? (sell... community freeware...?)

how do the textures work? sorry cannot try it out at the moment so asking eitherway...

Kezzla
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2008
Location: Where beer does flow and men chunder
Posted: 24th Mar 2012 04:49
zipped installer works fine, must be firefox not accepting an exe download.

very cool program, in less than a minute I had this pretty nifty tree(attached)
very intuitive and simple to use.
great work.

Sometimes I like to use words out of contents

Attachments

Login to view attachments
EVOLVED
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Feb 2003
Location: unknown
Posted: 24th Mar 2012 05:10
@MMM
Iv made an update that should fix menu issue.

@MrValentine
Wish to make it commercial project.
MrValentine
AGK Backer
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: Playing
Posted: 24th Mar 2012 05:17
Can you make a video showing how easy it is to use and implement into DBPro?... I ask as its a trick importing these and also for 3DWS... how do the textures work?

Maybe you could use .tga format textures instead?

Duffer
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Feb 2003
Location: chair
Posted: 24th Mar 2012 11:50 Edited at: 24th Mar 2012 12:03
@ EVOLVED,

V glad to see you back on the forums - may wish to make good use of this - how do we go about registering it (paying) so we can export etc?

a long time dabbler with DBC and DBPro with no actual talent but lots of enthusiasm...
Irradic
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Jul 2006
Location:
Posted: 24th Mar 2012 16:40
Great to see TreeIT nearing completion ! I'm glad that you followed my suggestion regarding the foliage shader.
How will TreeIT work in conjunction with ALS ? Will the TreeIT shader work with ALS or would I have to use ALS's foliage shader ?
I'm curious since last time you mentioned that TreeIT would export a project.

EVOLVED
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Feb 2003
Location: unknown
Posted: 24th Mar 2012 23:57
@MrValentine
It only exports to .dbo so it won't work with 3DWS, you can use tga (or any other texture that dbp supports).

@Duffer
Not quite sure on price atm but paypal most likely.

@Irradic
Ive made an update to ALS tree/leaf shader that now includes an exported .dbo birch tree form Tree IT.
AdvancedLighting.zip

Also made a separate shader demo here.
Tree.zip
Irradic
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Jul 2006
Location:
Posted: 25th Mar 2012 00:35
That's great ! I'll check it out first thing in the morning !

The Zombie Killer
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Mar 2011
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posted: 13th May 2012 11:47
@EVOLVED
Can I just ask why your Advanced Lighting shader has magically disappeared from your website? I can't find it anywhere.

-TZK

EVOLVED
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Feb 2003
Location: unknown
Posted: 13th May 2012 12:02
The Zombie Killer
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Mar 2011
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posted: 13th May 2012 12:15 Edited at: 13th May 2012 12:16
@EVOLVED
There we go, thanks.

EDIT: Could I get a list of the functions, unless that is still there and has been moved too?

-TZK

haliop
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Sep 2008
Location:
Posted: 13th May 2012 12:17
it crushed when i tried to add a leaf texture
but damn dude, evolved this is pretty awesome!!!!

im not working with trees now but later on if i will
i'll try this!

awesome product.
gwheycs62egydws
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 20th May 2012 04:28
@EVOLVED

I like it ;o)

please keep up the good work ;o)

to move side ways - is to move forward
Since a Strait line gets thin fast
CumQuaT
AGK Master
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Apr 2010
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posted: 20th May 2012 05:34
What would be fantastic would be an object to be able to make trees generate in real time in your DBPro code!


gwheycs62egydws
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 20th May 2012 05:54
@CumQuaT

an interesting idea with a tiny flaw

more cpu usage and ram would be taken up
the only way would linking 2 computers together
the first running the main program the second one doing all the math
for generating the tree's

to move side ways - is to move forward
Since a Strait line gets thin fast
CumQuaT
AGK Master
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Apr 2010
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posted: 20th May 2012 13:30
Not entirely true. It's been done before in games! Nice to think about though!


granada
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 20th May 2012 14:40 Edited at: 20th May 2012 15:50
Hi evolved,great looking trees.But i cant ad leafs,i get this error.



Dave

AMD Phenom(tm)IIx6 1090t Processor 3.20 GHS
8.00 GB memory Windows 7 64 bit
Nvida Geforce GTX 580
gwheycs62egydws
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 20th May 2012 15:23
@CumQuaT

I've played a lot of games over time on a lot of different systems
and tree's was not one of the things I saw grow in real time

well other than than in sim city 2 but it was only like 3 change up's

to move side ways - is to move forward
Since a Strait line gets thin fast
Chris Tate
DBPro Master
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Aug 2008
Location: London, England
Posted: 20th May 2012 19:02 Edited at: 20th May 2012 19:04
Looks very useful. I might consider buying after trying it out.

About the point about making trees grow in real-time; if I ever wanted to make a game where trees grow, knowing me, I would make the tree grow by changing the object scale, or swap the object with different stages of growth. If not that, then use bone animation on the trunks and branches. Either way, not much CPU loss because your CPU is just adjusting a small number of floats, the GPU handles the visuals.

Matty H
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Oct 2008
Location: England
Posted: 20th May 2012 19:28
This looks great.

@Evolved - Have you thought of exporting to obj format? It would be perhaps a days work(give or take) and would open this up to more people.

If my next project uses GDK I will be buying this, if not then I would still buy with obj export option.

Chris Tate
DBPro Master
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Aug 2008
Location: London, England
Posted: 20th May 2012 21:16
It does it.

Quote: "Exports to .dbo. "


gwheycs62egydws
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 25th May 2012 02:19
@EVOLVED

I would like to know

how dose your program compared to other tree generating programs
being sold on TGC web site ?

which I own all of them

the one thing yours has the others did not was "palm tree"

to move side ways - is to move forward
Since a Strait line gets thin fast
gwheycs62egydws
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 27th May 2012 06:58
I put in my purchase order earlier today

I'm just waiting for my full version

to move side ways - is to move forward
Since a Strait line gets thin fast

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2017-10-22 18:24:06
Your offset time is: 2017-10-22 18:24:06