Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Game Design Theory / Ronin: GDT & Project

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 18th Apr 2012 18:29 Edited at: 18th Apr 2012 18:39
Back when I was a new to Dark Basic Pro I was but a teenager, one easily distracted and overly ambitious teenager who wanted to pull off a great project but lacked the ability and attention span. The project was called 'Ronin'. In order to embarrass myself you're welcome to look at the thread here.

Anyways, I'm a much better programmer/modeller these days and I have Unity3D on my side to help make it more manageable. Plus a great deal in the design has changed/improved since then. I liked the original concept, hence I want to see it through. It doesn't mean I've stopped doing Abeyance either, this is just suppose to be something I'm doing with a couple of friends (as they won't be much help on Abeyance).

How Will it Be Manageable?

Figure I'd put this up first, because it is a big project and it's only recently I've actually properly considered methods of how to make projects manageable. There's 4 things that will make this managle:

The First: Unity3D. A lot of the work is already done. It's an excellent tool and its scripting isn't that difficult to get used to. Once the major scripting is done, it really is mostly a case of drag & drop and editing different values inside of the editor. In a way, like using FPSC, but customised to my gameplay methods.

The Second: Reusable segments. Rather than model out each area, I'm making various components I can reuse across different areas. People do it a lot already.