Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Discussion / My Struggles With Procedural Generation

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 17th May 2012 19:32 Edited at: 17th May 2012 19:40
I am a novice when it comes to procedural generation, but of course I've set myself a ridiculously difficult task of creating a system that can generate several styles of creatures and spaceships (and the names for both) with many variations within each style. The end goal is to have separate "cultures" of generated content which are clearly distinguishable. Since names require the least additional work (no graphics) I will start there.

My first attempt at PG name generation was this short function inspired by Elite:

I've yet to see anything else as short that can produce legible names, but it's a bit of a cheat as really it only generates pairs of characters and concatenates them: if character A is a vowel then B is either "D","L","R","N","S" or "T"; if A is a consonant then B is one of the five vowels. We basically flip between vowels and consonants to ensure that the word remains legible.
This method produces relatively few string combinations: you cannot produce words with three consecutive consonants or vowels, such as "string" or "beauty" for example. If I'm going to create distinguishable cultures that means each culture has to specify in a particular range of character combinations which greatly decreases the possible names within each culture, and with this method that would leave very few words available. I need a more flexible base rule-set that allows for greater number of combinations.